Skip to Main Content

Hokkaido University: Institution Main



About Hokkaido University:

Hokkaido University (北海道大学 Hokkaido daigaku), or 北大 (Hokudai), dates back to 1876 when Sapporo Agricultural College (札幌農學校 Sapporo nōgakkō), the university's predecessor, was founded by William S. Clark with the help of 5 faculty members with the first entering class of 24 students. When he left Sapporo, Clark left the famous quote "Boys be ambitious!" which still influences the university and is an important motto for Japanese youth.

In 1907, Sapporo Agricultural College became part of the Tohoku Imperial University (東北帝國大學 Tōhoku teikoku daigaku) when they established the Agricultural College in Hokkaido.  When the university became Hokkaido Imperial University (北海道帝國大學 Hokkaidō teikoku daigaku) in 1918, the Agricultural College was transferred to the university.

In 1919, the university established the School of Medicine, and at the same time, the Agricultural College became the Faculty of Agriculture. This was followed by the Faculty of Engineering, the Faculty of Science, and finally when the university became Hokkaido University in 1947, the Faculty of Law and Literature were added.

Currently, Hokudai offers a variety of Faculties and Graduate Schools.  The University has two campuses: Sapporo and Hakodate.


Institution: Hokkaido University
Founded: 1876
Type: National University
Location: Sapporo, Hokkaido

Resources & Facilities

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
Copyright 2017
Contact the Webmaster