Skip to Main Content

The University of Tokyo: Institution Main



About the University of Tokyo:

The University of Tokyo (東京大学 Tōkyō daigaku, also known as 東大 Tōdai) was chartered by the Meiji government in 1877 and was the first national university in Japan. Todai is the alma mater of many of Japan's leaders in government, business and academia and is considered Japan's premier university and is also the top ranked university in Asia. Todai also takes leading roles in many fields of research.  The university consists of 10 faculties, 15 graduate schools and 11 institutes.

Todai has 5 campuses: Hongō, Komaba, Kashiwa, Shirokane, and Nakano.

University of Tokyo was designed as one of Japan's Global 30 institutions.

A Note about Accessing Individual Libraries at TODAI

As with many Japanese universities some important collections are held in the individual research institutes of faculty and require special procedure for accessing, this is especially true at Todai.  Please consult the lists cross referenced on the University of Tokyo Libraries homepage, both alphabetical and listed by main collections. Beyond the level of the branch library, it is vital to consult the listings for individual collections and/or research institutes to determine special procedures for access and materials request. 


Institution: The University of Tokyo
Founded: 1877
Type: National University
Location: Bunkyō, Tokyo

Other Programs of Interest

The University of Tokyo  was designated as one of Japan's Global 30 institutions.

Resources & Facilities

------------------- Museum------------------

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
Copyright 2017
Contact the Webmaster