Skip to Main Content

Tohoku University: Institution Main



About Tohoku University:

Founded in 1907, Tohoku University (東北大学 Tōhoku daigaku ) was the third Imperial University.  The university has had an emphasis on an “open door” policy.  In fact, the university was the first national university to become coeducational (3 female students in 1913).  In addition, the university has actively accepted international students and scholars.

Furthermore, Tohoku University has been engaged in research with help from faculty members trained overseas and produced great results in the sciences.  For example, Mr. Koichi Tanaka, a graduate of the class of 1983, shared the Nobel Prize in Chemistry in 2002 for developing a novel method for mass spectrometric analyses of biological macromolecules with John Bennett Fenn and Kurt Wuthrich (the latter for work in NMR spectroscopy).

The University has 5 Campuses: Katahira, Kawauchi, Aobayama, Seiryo, and Amamiya with 10 academic departments and 18 graduate programs.


Tohoku University
National University
Sendai, Miyagi

Other Programs of Interest

Tohoku University was designed as one of Japan's Global 30 institutions.  Created by Japan's Ministry of Education, Culture, Sports, Science and Technology the "Global 30" Project Establishes Core Universities for Internationalization to function as core schools for receiving and educating international students. In 2009, 13 universities were selected. These core universities have established English degree programs and will play a major role in dramatically boosting the number of international students educated in Japan as well as Japanese students studying abroad.

Resources & Facilities

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
Copyright 2017
Contact the Webmaster