Skip to main content

NCC Archive: Year 2000 Conference

Conference Schedule

Year 2000 Conference

Japanese Library Resource Sharing in the Next Decade: Collection Building, Technological Innovation, and International Cooperation

A Conference Organized by the North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources March 6 and 7, 2000, San Diego, California


Session 1: Introduction

9:00 - 9:20 Welcome and Introductions; Kristina K. Troost, NCC Chair
9:20 - 9:40 The NCC: From Hoover to 2000 -- Kristina K. Troost, NCC Chair

Session 2: Reports from the Community

9:40 - 9:50 Japan-United States Friendship Commission -- Eric Gangloff, Executive Director, JUSFC
9:50 - 10:00 Japan Foundation -- Toshiki Ando, Assistant Director, New York Office, Japan Foundation
10:00 - 10:10 National Center for Science Information Systems -- Akira Miyazawa, Professor, NACSIS
10:10 - 10:20 National Diet Library -- Sakae Edamatsu, Director, Institute of Library and Information Science, NDL
10:20 - 10:30 Library of Congress -- Carolyn Brown, Director of Area Studies Collections, LC
10:30 - 10:40 Center for Research Libraries -- James Simon, Program Officer, Area Studies, CRL
10:40 -- 11:00 Break

Session 3: Defining the Needs of the Faculty

11:00 - 11:10 Faculty Panel:Overview -- Patricia Steinhoff, Dept. of Sociology University of Hawaii
11:10 - 11:20 John Campbell, Political Science Dept., University of Michigan
11:20 - 11:30 Julie Davis, Dept. of Art History, Oberlin College
11:30 - 11:40 Stephen Miller, Japanese Language and Literature, University of Colorado at Boulder
11:40 - 12:00 Question & Answer
12:00 – 1:15 Lunch

Session 4: Understanding the Global Potential

1:15 - 1:45 AAU/ARL Global Resources Program -- Mary E. Jackson, Coordinator, AAU/ARL/NCC Japan Journal Access Project and Senior Program Officer for Access Services, ARL

Session 5: Copyright Issues:

Copyright and intellectual property issues; Links,
Copyright Research and Information Center, Japan [CRIC]
Ammendments to the Copyright Law of Japan, June 1999 1:45 - 2:00 Copyright in the U.S. -- Paula T. Kaufman, University Librarian, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2:00 - 2:15 Copyright in Japan -- Takayasu Miyakawa, Advisory Associate, Mitsubishi Research Institute
2:15 - 2:30 Question and Answer
2:30 – 2:45 Break

Session 6: Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery Issues

Access & Technology Program/NAILDD Project
Access & Technology Program/ILL/DD Related Resources
Access & Technology Program/ILL/DD Performance Measures Study
2:45 - 3:00 Interlibrary Loan in the U.S. – Mary E. Jackson, Senior Program Officer for Access Services, ARL
3:00 - 3:15 Waseda Update -- Makoto Nakamoto, Waseda University Library
3:15 - 3:30 ANUL Document Delivery Project -- Ikuo Sasakawa, Tokyo University Library
3:30 - 3:45 Question and Answer

Session 7: Moving into the Digital Future

3:45 - 4:00 Overview of US Digital Initiatives -- Sarah Thomas, Carl A. Kroch University Librarian, Cornell University Library
4:00 - 4:10 CULCON's Digital Culture Resource Project: Exploring the past 50 years of US-Japanese relations -- Bob Hoffman, Prof. of Educational Technology, San Diego State University and Stuart Grossman, Project Manager, San Diego State University
4:10 - 4:25 Overview of Digital Libraries in Japan -- Syun Tutiya, Director General, Chiba University Library
4:25 - 4:35 Kyoto Digital Library -- Midori Nagasaka and Keita Goto, Kyoto University Library
4:35 - 4:45 Social Science Japan Data Archive, Makoto Shimizu, Institute of Social Science, Tokyo University
4:45 - 5:00 Discussion
Tuesday, March 7, 2000

Session 8: Breakout Sessions

09:00 - 09:55    Monographs  Serials  Technical Services
10:00 - 10:55    Monographs  Serials  Underserved Scholars
11:00 - 11:55    Monographs  Serials  Training
Three hour-long concurrent sessions are scheduled to allow participants to attend three breakout sessions.
12:00 – 1:15 Lunch

Session 9: Concluding Session

1:15 - 5:00 Reaching Consensus on Recommendations and Priorities; George Soete, facilitator

Year 2000 Conference

Year 2000 Conference Summary

Japanese Library Resource Sharing in the Next Decade:

Collection Building, Technological Innovation, and International Cooperation

A Conference Organized by the National Coordinating Committee on Japanese Library Resources

March 6 and 7, 2000

Preceding the Annual Meeting of the Association for Asian Studies

Town and Country Inn, San Diego, California

This conference will set the agenda for the National Coordinating Committee on Japanese Library Resources (NCC) for the first decade of the 21st century by developing a consensus on priorities for cooperative projects and activities. New and updated strategies are required for many facets of librarianship, including Collection Development, Access to Serial Literature, Technical Services from Ordering to Cataloging, Recruitment and Training of Librarians, Serving Under-Served Constituencies, and International Cooperation. Resources from Japan are increasingly available through the enabling technology of global networks, necessitating international planning between Japanese librarians and their North American counterparts.

The conference will bring together North American Japanese Studies librarians, representatives from North American organizations and agencies interested in the study of Japan, and colleagues from Japanese libraries and organizations for two full days, Monday, March 6 and Tuesday, March 7.

An opening session on Monday March 6 will begin by reviewing the goals identified at the 1991 Hoover meeting that led to the establishment of the NCC and will survey the subsequent activities to reach those goals taken by the NCC since its establishment in 1992. The NCC's current projects include an art catalog project to exchange current exhibition catalogs, a multi-volume sets project which funds the purchase of expensive multi-volume sets in the Japanese language, and a serials/ILL project to improve access to information in the US and Japan. It also advises the Japan Foundation on its library support program and its librarian training program, and has trained both librarians and faculty in the U.S. in the use of Japanese databases.

Following the opening session, there will be a presentation on funding prospects for the field of Japanese studies, reports from key libraries and organizations, including the National Diet Library, NACSIS, and the Library of Congress and a discussion of changing faculty research and teaching needs.

The afternoon of the first day will begin with an overview of the activities of all the AAU/ARL Global Resources Programs followed by extended discussions of copyright issues, interlibrary loan and document delivery and digital initiatives, in both the United States and Japan.

Tuesday morning will have three rotating break-out sessions which will discuss issues related to monographs, serials, technical services, isolated scholars and librarian training. Then, on Tuesday afternoon, a final plenary session will hear the recommendations from the break-out sessions, prioritize initiatives, and set NCC strategies for the next decade. Both plenary sessions will be facilitated by George Soete, who is an Organizational Development Consultant, Office of Leadership and Management Services, Association of Research Libraries, and served as a facilitator for the 1991 Hoover meeting that led to the establishment of the NCC.

In advance of the conference, the discussion leaders for each session have prepared background papers outlining key issues and identifying possible solutions. These, along with outlines of new initiatives provided by the Japanese participants, are available on NCC's web site.

The Schedule of the Conference is being continually updated, so please check it frequently.

Summary of Breakout Session Issues

1. Defining the Issues for Monographic Collections (Yasuko Makino, Princeton University, and Mihoko Miki, Columbia University)

  • Assessment of information needs
  • Evaluating the Multi-Volume Sets Project
  • Distributing collection responsibilities at the research level cooperative collection development
  • Collecting and providing access to Grey Literature

2. Defining the Issues for Serials and Newspapers (Mary Jackson, Association of Research Libraries, and Maureen Donovan, Ohio State University)

  • Holdings within the US -- union list
  • Diversifying North American periodical collections: Commitment to titles, canceling to add
  • Building systematic and distributed collections of newspaper backfiles
  • Newspaper indexes

3. Technical services (Hideyuki Morimoto, University of California Berkeley, and Scott Edward Harrison, University of Washington at Seattle)

  • Incomplete and poor quality retrospective conversion (recon) of card catalogs
  • Harmonization of US and Japanese cataloging standards
  • Adding serial holdings (including monographic series) to records in OCLC and RLIN
  • Cataloging special and rare titles
  • Making acquisition and in process records available beyond local environment

4. Evaluating the needs of the Japanese Studies Librarian (Sachie Noguchi, University of Pittsburgh, and Amy Heinrich, Columbia University)

  • Recruitment and mentoring of new professionals,
  • Mid-career training needs.

5. Serving the underserved (Sharon Domier, University of Massachusetts, Amherst, and Sally Hastings, Purdue University)

  • Serving the research needs of individuals at institutions without adequate Japanese Studies collections and/or without a Japanese Studies librarian.
  • Cooperative licensing of databases; providing Japanese language databases through online bibliographic utilities.

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
北米日本研究資料調整協議会
Copyright 2017
Contact the Webmaster