LibGuides: NCC Historical Projects: 2002 NCC Workbook

Electronic Edition of the Workbook of the Junior Japanese Studies Librarians Professional Training Seminar

Table of Contents To the Electronic Edition of the Workbook of the Junior Japanese Studies Librarians Professional Training Seminar

Collection Development

Principles of Collection Development
Acquisitions of Library Materials on Japanese Studies
Sachie Noguchi, University of Pittsburgh

Collection Development Publisher Catalogs
Kristina Troost, Duke University

Model Collection Development Statement from Princeton University
Yasuko Makino, Princeton University

Sample Budget Analysis Report from Duke University
Kristina Troost, Duke University

Sample Annual Budget Request from Duke University
Kristina Troost, Duke University

Ordering and Acquisition of Materials from Japan:
Overview: Materials in Various Formats, and Issues and Problems with DVDs
Sachie Noguchi, University of Pittsburgh

Japanese Company Histories
Katsuko Murahashi (reproduced with permission of the
author)

Fund Raising for Collection Development:

A Basic Guide to Successful Grant-writing for Japanese Studies Librarians
Victoria Lyon Bestor, NCC

What is a Proposal?
Eric Gangloff, Executive Director, JUSFC (reproduced with
permission of the author)

Useful Web Sites of Funders of Japanese Studies and/or Library and Information Technology
Victoria Lyon Bestor, NCC

Cataloging of Japanese Materials

The Basics of Cataloging Japanese Materials
Selected Basic Reference Sources for Catalogers
Hideyuki Morimoto, New York University

Cataloging Monographs and Material in Different Formats
   Selected Cataloging Documents/Manuals
   Session Syllabus with Exercises
          Hideyuki Morimoto, New York University

Cataloging Serials and Multi-volume Sets
Principles of Serials Cataloging
Eddy Harrison, University of Washington

Cataloging Examples, Serial Issues and Catalog Records
Eddy Harrison, University of Washington

Subject Cataloging
Kio Kanda, Library of Congress

Reference Resources and Services for Japanese Studies

General References for Japanese Studies
Yasuko Makino, Princeton University

Reference Resources for Literature
Kuniko Yamada McVey, Harvard University

Historical Reference Materials
Kristina Troost, Duke University

Reference Materials for Art and Art History
Yasuko Makino, Princeton University

Social Science References Resources
Ellen Hammond, Yale University

Providing Reference Services for Religious Studies
Mihoko Miki, Columbia University

Using Grey Literature
Kazuko Sakaguchi, Documentation Center on Contemporary Japan, Harvard University

Accessing Japanese Government Documents
(reprinted with permission of the author) by
Tokiko Yamamoto Bazzell, American University Library

Electronic Resources and Computing Technology

Key web sites for Japanese Studies
Keiko Higuchi, International House of Japan

New services from the National Diet Library
Noriko Nakamura and Miho Shinohara, National Diet Library

Facilitating Access to Newspaper Information
Ayuko Yokota, Nikkei America, New York
Sharon Domier, University of Massachusetts, Amherst

Accessing commercial databases; MagazinePlus and other databases
Yoko Hirose, Nichigai Associates

Computing and Technology Issues
Eddy Harrison, University of Washington and Kristina Troost, Duke University

Materials for Bibliographic Instruction

Course Syllabus and Schedule for Introduction to Japanese Reference and Bibliography
Stephen Forrest, University of Massachusetts

Recommended Readings for Bibliographic Instruction
Sharon Domier, University of Massachusetts

Princeton University Materials for Bibliographic Instruction
Basic Reference Works for Japanese Studies: Princeton
University compiled by Martin J. Heijdra, Princeton University

Japanese Graduate Guide
Yasuko Makino, Princeton University

Thoughts on Teaching Japanese Bibliography/Research Methods Courses
Ellen Hammond, Yale University

Selected Libraries in Japan
Keiko Higuchi, International House of Japan

Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery

ILL Venues for Japanese Studies in North America
Sachie Noguchi, University of Pennsylvania

Unless otherwise noted all materials contained in this workbook were produced for The Junior Japanese Studies Librarians Professional Training Seminar Organized by the NCC and offered in August 2002 at Harvard University Major funding for the Seminar was provided by the Japan Foundation, the Northeast Asia Council of the AAS, and the Reischauer Institute of Japanese at Harvard University which co-sponsored the Seminar in conjunction with the Harvard-Yenching Library.