Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

NCC Archive: LPDC

List of Training Resources available online

JAPAN-RELATED TRAINING RESOURCES & BLOGS

Committee on Japanese Materials, Council on East Asian Libraries
This site http://www.eastasianlib.org/cjm/index.html has links to some useful documents, including:

  • Annotated List of Reference Materials in Japan
  • How to Search Japanese Resources
  • Descriptive Cataloging Guidelines for Pre-Meiji Japanese Books Enlarged and Revised Edition
  • Report and the resources from the 2004 Japan Studies Information Specialist Training Program

Japan Library Association -Librarian Training Committee' Step-by-Step Training Materials [日本図書館協会研修事業委員会]
http://wwwsoc.nii.ac.jp/jla

The Japan Library Association offers a series of training materials contributed from librarians affiliated with various institutions across Japan. Previous presentations have been made available in PDF format, and some of the topics of the 2009 Chuken Shokuin

Step Up Kenshu (1 and 2) [中堅職員ステップアップ研修(1 and 2)] are:

  • Library administration and evaluation (図書館運営の評価と指標)
  • Library services planning (図書館のサービス計画)
  • Libraries and copyright (図書館と著作権)
  • Evaluation of reference tools (レファレンスツールの評価)

The training materials are archived since 2000. Please visit the link above to view the training materials in PDF format.

Japan Library Association Mail Magazine JLAメールマガジン
The Japan Library Association publishes the JLA Mail Magazine on a weekly basis. It is a helpful resource in finding information about what is happening in libraries in and outside of Japan.

Kokuritsu Kokkai Toshokan ni yoru Toshokan'in no Kenshu
[国立国会図書館による図書館員の研修]

Training Opportunities for Librarians offered by the National Diet Library; courses are offered onsite and remotely. The National Diet Library of Japan offers a number of courses on the Internet via their web based training system Learning Station.
http://www.ndl.go.jp/jp/library/training/library_training_rep.html

"Learning Station is a WBT (Web Based Training) system. Upon entering a user name and a password via a WWW browser, you can take the training at any time and from anywhere. Learning Station assesses the learner's understanding and the level of training, and provides each learner with the most suitable training content and questions. Progress of your training is documented by the test results and evaluation reports. Consequently, your training becomes a rewarding experience."

Kokuritsu Kokkai Toshokan Current Awareness Portal = 国立国会図書館カレントアウェアネスポータル
The Current Awareness Portal is a site maintained by the National Diet Library that delivers the latest news related to libraries and library information studies [around the world].
http://current.ndl.go.jp/cae

Ku-Librarians: Toshokan-kei Shokuin Benkyokai [Ku-Librarians:図書館系職員勉強会]
Group of librarians in Japan that meets regularly to discuss various library issues. The minutes of the meetings, as well as related resources, are posted in the blog.
http://kulibrarians.hp.infoseek.co.jp/

National Institute of Informatics (NII) [国立情報学研究所]
Kokuritsu Johogaku Kenkyujo, Kyoiku Kenshu Jigyo [国立情報学研究所・教育研修事業] also offers information on training sessions offered by the NII.
http://www.nii.ac.jp/hrd/index.html

The sections that are readily available are under the self-learning category. In order to be able to use the system, one must complete a form to request a username and password and mail it to edu-SL@nii.ac.jp

Please visit this page for further information:
NACSIS-CAT/ILL セルフラーニング教材
http://www.nii.ac.jp/hrd/ja/product/cat/slcat.html

GENERAL TRAINING RESOURCES

Association for Library Collections and Technical Services (ALCTS) Education & Careers webpage:
http://www.ala.org/alcts/
Provides information about Webinars, Web courses, e-forums, and other training and professional development opportunities in the areas of acquisition, cataloging, collection development and management, preservation and archives, etc.

e-Learning from ACRL (Association of College and Research Libraries):
http://www.ala.org/acrl/conferences/elearning
Provides a list of forthcoming online seminars with brief descriptions and registration information.

OCLC Training Portal:
http://training.oclc.org/training
Provides a list of training sessions grouped into several areas, including cataloging and metadata, reference and discovery, digital collection management, content and collection, resource sharing and delivery, management service and systems.

Residency Interest Group (An Interest Group of the Association of College and Research Libraries)
http://acrl.ala.org/residency/
News and podcasts on a variety of topics of interest to current and former library residents, current library science students, new graduates, and early career librarians.

LPDC: The NCC's Librarian Professional Development Committee

The LPDC is a standing committee of the NCC replacing Junior Librarian Training Advisory Committee, which serves the role of coordinating continuing education and professional development activities for Japanese and East Asian studies librarians who serve faculty, students, and other users in the Japan field.

The following outline the charges of the LPDC, to:

  1. Serve as a point of communication on professional development needs for the NCC
  2. Serve as a screening committee for US applications to the Japanese Studies Information Specialists Training (JSIST) Program funded by the Japan Foundation
  3. Solicit the collective needs in professional development of Japanese and East Asian studies librarians who serve faculty, students, and other users in the Japan field and make recommendations to NCC for developing future projects
  4. Serve as a clearinghouse for professional development in Japanese studies librarianship and respond to individual consultation needs

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
北米日本研究資料調整協議会
Copyright 2017
Contact the Webmaster