This guide connects you to other information agencies. Along with its closely reated siblings, the Finding Aids Guide and the Research & Access Guide, will greatly expand the scope of what is findable through the internet.
Find Books -- and also eBooks. Includes Online Library Catalogs and information on the Japanese publishing industry.
Find Libraries -- in Japan AND North America.
Find Museums, Archives, and Special Collections -- Try these resources for special, narrow topics.
Find Organizations, Reserach Institutes, and Think Tanks -- Discover organizations outside mainstream academia important to Japanese Studies.
Find Everything Else -- For anything not easy to classify into the above categories.
Print or digital, this guide offers a myriad of starting points to locate monographs and approaches searching from multiple angles. There are national bibliographic databases, recommended blogs to follow, rare & special book collections, and book reviews.
The best source for book catalogs, for other libraries and commercial outlets. Annotations explain the scope of different services. There's also an list of important library catalogs. Do not miss the small but useful bibliography section.
Easy to browse list of topics related to Japan. The initial letter & number combinations are almost universally applied throughout academic libraries in the United States and Canada. For example - NA 1550 will mean Japanese Architecture at all academic libraries and in all library catalogs in North America.
-- English language -- LCSH -- Library of Congress Subject Headings
Wealth of information on major libraries in Japan and what distinguishes collections at one institution from another. Searchable by subject are or location of the library. Provides contact information and guidance on getting ready for a research visit.
The largest collections of East Asian Studies materials in North America. Also notes and special collections at each library. The list is based on statistical tracking by the Council of East Asian Libraries.
Summarizes the holdings of major libraries, museums, and repositories based chiefly in Tokyo. Need a letter of introduction to one of these institutions? go to NCC's Research Access Guide for a bilingual template.
Wealth of information on archives and museums in Japan and what distinguishes collections at one institution from another. Searchable by subject are or location of the library. Provides contact information and guidance on getting ready for a research visit.
Includes think tanks in Japan and the US. The list of Japanese think tanks deal with a variety of topics, US think tanks deal primarily with international relations, human rights, politics, and information access.
European research in the field of Japanese Studies is often underrepresented in North America. With the exception of the United Kingdom, covered here are important European organizations, institutions, and individuals contributing to the body of research. Extra attention is given to German contributions.
-- Japanese Studies in Europe -- Japanese Studies in Germany