LibGuides: Subject Guides Portal: General Guides

Navigation & Introduction

Comprehensive | Research Process | Type of Information Source

Subject Specific Information Source | Other Guides

General guides are divided into one of the five categories above, though all of them share these qualities to some extent. Browsing these guides will uncover the diverse array of resources available. Many have their own subpages cross-referenced throughout the various subject guides.

Comprehensive Guides -- compared to other guides, they are rich in a variety of topics and have a large amount of content.
Research Process -- provides advice for conducting research and is informative on new technology to help the process.
Type of Information Source -- guides that focus on locating information based on its medium: journals, microform, digital formats, etc.
Subject Specific Information Source -- distinguished by content being divided by academic discipline
Other -- guides that don't quite fit into any of the previous categories but that offer helpful, and sometimes unique content.

Guides with comprehensive scope

Japan Studies -- at George Washington University
-- Originally created by Takako Suzuki

Covers major types of information resources, often subdividing them according to Japanese or English language resources. A distinguishing theme of this guide is its emphasis on Japanese government and international relations, particularly with the US.

-- English language
-- International relations
-- Political science
Japanese Bibliography -- at Columbia University
-- Chiefly by Henry Smith
-- by Various Contributors

Perhaps the most extensive and in-depth analysis of Japanese Studies print materials. Each section reads more like narrative prose than a typical bibliography, and are written with the research process in mind. While this guide has not been updated since 2000, it is still one of the best for resources essential to the field.

--English language
Japanese Digital Resources : at University of Pennsylvania
-- by Molly Des Jardin

This guide takes an expansive look at what's available online for Japanese Studies. Many of these resources have only been noted here.

-- unique
Japanese Studies -- at University of Southern California
-- by Tomoko Bialock

Enormous in scope, covering nearly every aspect of research. Takes a multimedia approach with YouTube tutorials on how to use some databases. The Journals section is particularly informative and, like many other parts of the guide, distinguishes between materials in English or Japanese. Also includes comprehensive directories and a thorough breakdown of the Japanese government agencies.

Though each page is densely packed and can be a little overwhelming at first, these is always likely to be something relevant to your research.

-- Databases
-- Directories
-- Government
-- Journals
-- English language
Japanese Studies Wiki -- at The Ohio State University
-- by Various Authors

Uses the wiki format that limits editors to researchers that have a background in Japanese Studies. It Includes an enormous list of Japanese language academic journals divided by discipline. a variety of specialized topics and sources not covered elsewhere. Because of the wiki format it tends to have extensive listings even on specialized topics.

-- Corporate histories
Research Guide for Japanese Studies -- at Harvard University
-- by Kuniko Yamada McVey

Pulls together different formats and subjects together in one guide. Tends to be somewhat more esoteric than what other guides provide. Well worth the time to browse through to identify some of the more unique research resources.

Guides emphasizing the research process

Researching by Subject: Japanese Studies -- at Duke University
-- by Kristina Troost

Points researchers to not only to information sources, but also covers Institutions supporting Japanese Studies in North America and how to conduct research in Japan.
Tips for Beginning Research : at UCLA
-- by Toshie Marra & Joseph Yue

A snapshot of how to start researching with Japanese language resources. Covers research and citation software, classification systems, important information agencies, and more.
NCC's Online Guide to Research Access -- hosted by NCC
-- by Takumi Ohata

Provides information on major information institutions in Japan, including museums, libraries, and archives. Identifies specialties of each institution that would match a researcher's interests.

Most important are the inclusion of bilingual templates for requesting a research visit to another institution. Other essential details like hours of operation (with holidays) are included.

-- Research visit
Online Resources : at University of Michigan
Keiko Yokota-Carter

Provides a diverse overview of all the online resources across many subjects. Whatever research you are doing, this will likely provide a good starting point.
Undergradute Japanese Studies Resources : at University of Pennsylvania
-- by Molly Des Jardin

Explains research in terms more consumable for undergrads.

-- Undergraduates

Guides emphasizing the type of information source

Electronic Resources : at Columbia University
-- by Sachie Noguchi

Clear-cut annotated list of online resources. A good leaping off point for book catalogs and antiquarian books.

-- Antiquarian books
-- Old books
-- Kotenseki, 古典籍
Graduate Guide -- at Princeton University
-- by Setsuko Noguchi

Core set of reference resources that form that foundation of research at the graduate level. Indicates if there is a digital equivalent available.

-- Graduate studies
Japanese Studies Guides -- at University of Colorado Boulder
-- Originally by Kevin McDowell

Distinguishes between electronic and traditional print resources. Similar to the Princeton guide with a better treatment of web and digital resources.
Online Resources : at UCLA
-- Originally by Toshie Marra

Provides helpful annotations on a wide variety of online databases. Some may only be available on the UCLA campus but the annotations will help clarify if the scope of the database will be useful to your research. Also provides subject specific online databases.

-- Online databases

Guides with an emphasis on subject specific information sources

Online Resources -- at the University of Washington
-- by Azuma Tanaka

Actually starts on the main page with a pages for locating materials. Clicking the 'Online Resources' tab opens a new guide covering a diverse range of subjects, several not commonly dealt with.
Reference Tools and Subject Specific Sources -- at Kansas University
-- by Michiko Ito

Easy one-page access to a variety of online sources, especially rich in art & manga resources.

-- Art
-- Manga
Selected Web Resources by Subject -- at Stanford University
-- author unknown

Links are primarily to academic, professional, or government organizations that support a discipline.
Subject Guides -- at Duke University
-- by Kristina Troost

Similar to NCC's own Subject Guides Portal. Covers 11 areas of research, offering a mix of digital and print resources. Annotations are usually thorough and sometimes include detailed statistics about the item/website.
Websites -- at Washington University
-- by Ryuta Komaki

Extensive list of websites, within each subject area the links tend to be more diverse than other research guides that take the 'list of links' approach.

-- History
-- World War II

Other Guides

About Japan: A Teacher's Resource -- hosted by the Japan Society
-- by Various Authors

Aimed at K-12 students, there are still a variety of resources relevant to incoming undergraduates new to Japanese Studies. The 'Resources' section is particularly useful.

-- Bibliographies
-- English Language
-- K-12
Romanization -- hosted by the Library of Congress
-- by the American Library Association and the Library of Congress

The standard rules for how to romanize Japanese into the Latin alphabet in US libraries. To search many catalogs it will be important to know about issues regarding spacing and specific letter combinations. Not romanizing according to these rules may yield few results when searching.

-- Romanization
Japanese Mobile Apps : at University of Pennsylvania
-- by Molly Des Jardin

Need to optimize your digital devices for Japanese and research in Japanese Studies? Follow the advice in this guide.

apps
mobile / cell phones