Skip to main content

Japanese Digital Resources: Business Resources

This guide is a directory of digital resources vendors and agents in Japan prepared by the Digital Resources Committee of the North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources, the NCC.

EOL, Inc. (Licensed Company Info)

eol AsiaOne

Database publisher: Pronexus

Agent: Kinokuniya Bookstores of America Co., Ltd.; EastView

Trial: Available. Contact information: http://www.pronexus.co.jp/home/eol/html/contact.html

Personal subscription: Not available.

Group subscription: Not available.

Contract: Not available from Pronexus. Contract will be between a subscriber and Kinokuniya. NISO SERU Guideline is not applicable. 

This database includes detailed information on every publicly traded company in Japan, as well as on a large number of unlisted firms. The Japanese government requires all listed companies--and unlisted companies with a sufficient level of capitalization--to file a semi-annual report commonly called a yuho, which is similar to the American 10-K form. The eol archive contains these forms for every publicly traded Japanese company (more than 4,000) and for the roughly 1,000 privately held companies in Japan.

Difference from similar products: Easy to use interface and documents with past data is easily accessible. #1 subscribed database among Japanese universities.

English Help location: FAQs http://www.eoldb.com/e/faq/index.html

Update frequency: Depends on contents. Original data contents are updated daily.

Citation tool compatibility: N/A

Tablet compatibility: N/A (it is not recommended environment,  but works on iPad.)

Usage statistlcs: Available upon request for entire contracted contents.

Updated: 3/24/2014

JapanKnowledge (Licensed Reference Resource)

JapanKnowledge includes business related resources like the following:

For details about JapanKnowledge, check here.

Updated: 5/26/15

The Nikkei Economic Electronic Databank System = NEEDS (Licensed Economics/Finance Data)

The Nikkei Economic Electronic Databank System = NEEDS

Agent: Nikkei America, Inc., em@nikkei.com

The Nikkei Economic Electronic Databank System (NEEDS) provides over 40 years of high quality Corporate Financial, Equity, Fixed Income and Macroeconomic data to over 95% of Japanese financial Institutions. NEEDS is unrivalled in the scale, scope and accuracy of its data, making it the perfect source for a wide range of tasks from front office research to back office processing and from Marketing & PR to quantitative analysis.

NEEDS for Academics
With over 40 years of high quality data, NEEDS has been used extensively by research institutions and universities all over the world.

Nikkei.com (Licensed Newspaper)

About Nikkei.com in Japanese.   Go to Nikkei.com.

Contact: Nikkei America, Inc.,  nikkeius@nikkei.com

Price: http://www.nikkeius.com/htm/beishuguide.html.

Contents: (The Nikkei Asian Review offers content from Nikkei in English.)

  1. Nikkei.com is a full text database which covers latest business and markect information in Japan and Asia. English newspaper including translation of major articles of the Nikkei, and other major newspaper in China, Southeast Asia, and India and more.
  2. Premium options: Nikkei Archives: Nikke's English news archives for the last 10 years.  Nikkei Veritas: articles from Nikkei's&Weekly newspaper for finance and investment professionals.

Update frequency: Daily

Updated: 5/26/15

Nikkei Telecom 21 (Licensed Newspaper)

About Nikkei Telecom 21 in English. For Academic Plans for Academic Institutions.

Contact: Nikkei America, Inc. telecom21@nikkei.com

 

Nikkei Content Plan

Trial: Available.Please contact Nikkei America.

Price: Multiple plans available. Please contact Nikkei America.

Contents: More than 15 Nikkei sources are included in this plan.

  1. The Nikkei (Nihon Keizai Shimbun 日本経済新聞)
  2. The Nikkei Business Daily and The Nikkei MJ. Backfile as early as 1876 (first issue).
  3. Corporate Profiles, People Search and English content are also included.

Update frequency: Daily. 500-2000 added daily.

Tabet compatibility: Available via browser, not suited for school use.

Statistics availability: Monthly usage record downloadable (Japanese)

User guides: Online user's guide in Japanese included in the service, User's guide in English also avaialbe upon request.

 

All Content Plan

Trial: Personal subscription-Available; Institutional subscription-Partial trial available. Please contact Nikkei America.

Price: Multiple plans available. Please contact Nikkei America.

Contents: Resources from more than 500 sources.

  1. 140+ national/regional/specialized newspapers
  2. 140+ national/specialized periodicals
  3. 30+ newswires
  4. 30+ stats, marketing, research information
  5. 40+ International source
  6. Sources include Nikkei newspapers and magazines, Asahi, Yomiuri, Mainichi and Sankei.
  7. Extensive Corporate Profiles, People Search and English sources also available.

Update frequency: Daily. 10,000 added daily.

Tablet campatibility: Personal subscription- Available via app. Institutional subscription- Available via app. 

Statistics availability: Monthly usage record downloadable (Japanese)

Other features: Depends on your subscription plan, you may E-mail the articles to your account.

User guides: Online user's guide in Japanese included in the service.

 

Updated: 7/31/2013

Open Source Business Information

The Japanese Company Histories (Shashi) Wiki project is an initiative of the Shashi Interest Group, a group of librarians who, aware of their rich research potential, have been building library collections of Japanese company histories or shashi, and researchers who are using them.

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
北米日本研究資料調整協議会
Copyright 2017
Contact the Webmaster