Skip to main content

Japanese Digital Resources: Reference Tools

This guide is a directory of digital resources vendors and agents in Japan prepared by the Digital Resources Committee of the North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources, the NCC.

JapanKnowledge (Licensed Reference Resource)

JapanKnowledge Lib

Database publisher: NetAdvance

Agents: Japan Publications Trading Co., Ltd.; Kinokuniya Bookstores of America Co., Ltd.; Yagi Shoten

Trial: Available. Contact information: b2b@japanknowledge.com   or   satoshi_ito@kinokuniya.co.jp.

Personal subscription: Available.

Group subscription: Available for regional and national consortia (minimum from 5 members).

Subscription Options/Packages: JK Select (Kokushi Daijiten web, Nihon Rekishi Chimei Taikei), JKBooks (Nihon Kindai Bungakukan, Fuzoku Gaho)

Contract: Available in English. NISO SERU Guideline is not applicable. 

Contents: Provides access to various reference sources, including dictionaries (Japanese, English and multi-languages), encyclopedias (Encyclopedia Nipponica, Encyclopedia of Japan, Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan, etc.), other Japanese reference works (biographies, maps, chronologies, etc.), full text Tōyō Bunko and Shūkan Ekonomisuto (Weekly Economist), and other visual and sound databases.

Differences from similar product: No other similar products.

English interface: Available. 

Users Guides in English: http://japanknowledge.com/library/materials02.html   Includes tutorial video clips with English subtitles on YouTube.

Update frequency: Updated regularly.

Tablet compatibility: iOS7, Android4

Usage statistics: Available for individual and group subscriptions. JapanKnowledge usage statistics is almost same as COUTNER release 4.

Features turned off for group subscription: JKBooks integration (Scheduled in October 2014)

 

Updated: 3/24/2014

Web-ban Nihon Kindai Bungakukan by Yagi Shoten (JK select series) (Licensed Database)

Web-ban Nihon Kindai Bungakukan by Yagi Shoten (JK Books series) 日本近代文学館

Agents: Japan Publications Trading Co., Ltd.; Kinokuniya Bookstores of America Co., Ltd. Yagi Shoten

Add-on product to JapanKnowledge.

Complete runs of three major journals of modern Japanese literature and culture: Taiyo, Bungei Kurabu: Meiji-hen, and Dai-ichi Koto Gakko Koyukai Zasshi. Available as the JK Books series option of JapanKnowledge (see above). Articles are scanned images in pdf format. Searchable by title, author, keyword, and date across all three titles. Several subscription options available.

Web-ban Fuzoku Gaho (JK select series) (Licensed Full-text Database)

Fuzoku Gaho 風俗画報 (JK Books series)  Add-on product to JapanKnowledge.

Database publishers: Yumani Shobo, NetAdvance

Agents: Japan Publications Trading Co., Ltd.; Kinokuniya Bookstores of America Co., Ltd. Yagi Shoten Additional agents: http://www.jkn21.com/common/member/corp/dairiten.html

Trial: Available. Contact either b2b@japanknowledge.com   or   satoshi_ito@kinokuniya.co.jp.

Group subscription: Not available.

Personal subscription: Not available.

Contract: Available in English. NISO SERU Guideline is not applicable. 

Price plans: http://www.jkn21.com/common/member/corp/fee.html 

Complete run of 518 issues of Fuzoku Gaho which was the first pictorial magazine published in Japan in 1889. The title provides valuable information for researches on life in Meiji era Japan. Detailed informaion is available in Japanese at http://japanknowledge.com/contents/fuzokugaho/index.html?5 and http://japanknowledge.com/contents/fuzokugaho/data04.html?5.

Usage statistics: Available for individual and group subscribers. 

Updated: 5/27/2015

NICHIGAI/WEB Service (Licensed Reference Resource)

NICHIGAI/WEB Service 

Database Publisher: Nichigai Associates, Inc.   Publisher Homepage in Japanese: http://www.nichigai.co.jp/index.html

Agents: Japan Publications Trading Co., Ltd.; Kinokuniya Bookstores of America Co., Ltd.

Trial: Available. Contact via http://www.nichigai.co.jp/cgi-bin/n_web_form1.cgi or satoshi_ito@kinokuniya.co.jp

Types of Available Subscriptions: Individual institutional subscription. Group or consortium subscription is not available.

Personal subscription: Available

Subscription options/packages: Different price plans are set for access with or without remote access for MagazinePlsu, BookPlus, and WhoPlus. WhoPlus also has unlimited download price plan and limited download price plan.

Contract: Available in English. NISO SERU Guideline is not applicable.

Price plans:

MagazinePlus: Annual fee

1 simultaneous access (campus use only) : Yen 139,500  

1 simultaneous access (includes remote access) : Yen 200,700

BookPlus: Annual fee

1 simultaneous access (campus use only) : Yen 64,500  

1 simultaneous access (includes remote access) : Yen 94,500

WhoPlus: Annual fee

1 simultaneous access (campus use only) : Yen 1,020,000  

1 simultaneous access (includes remote access) : Yen 1,200,000  

Up to 1000 downloads : Yen 178,200  

Up to 2000 downloads : Yen 297,000  

Up to 2000 downloads : Yen 408,000

For more information: http://www.nichigai.co.jp/database/who-plus/price.html

For journal article citations, MagazinePlus is an index of scholarly journals published after 1945; popular and general magazines published after 1981; festschrifts; symposia; and speeches. Also includes the National Diet Library's Zasshi Kiji Sakuin.

For biographical information, WHO I (economics, society, and politics), WHO II (academia, literature, and journalism), WHO III (arts, entertainment, and sports), and WHOPLUS (all three WHO databases plus five other biographical reference sources).

For bibliographic information, BOOKPLUS contains entries on books published after 1926, often including tables of contents, abstracts, and/or author information

E-Refarensu/Tsuru is a set of basic reference tools for literature and art history.

Sho no Jiten Fairu is a reference source concerning recipients of Japanese awards and prizes.

Update frequency: Weekly

Citation tool compatibility: Refworks

Usage statistics: Available for individual institutional subscription.

Differences from similar products: Includes materials not included in NDL's Zasshi Kiji Sakuin such as annuals of academic societies, Festschriften, general magazines, local magazines.

Updated: 3/24/2014

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
北米日本研究資料調整協議会
Copyright 2017
Contact the Webmaster