Skip to main content

Japanese Digital Resources: Newspapers

This guide is a directory of digital resources vendors and agents in Japan prepared by the Digital Resources Committee of the North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources, the NCC.

Full-text Newspaper Databases

 

Database Name Publisher Group Subscription Other Subscription Options Scope
Kikuzo II Visual for Libraries
聞蔵II ビジュアル
The Asahi Shimbun Company
朝日新聞社

Available

(Regional and National. Minimum # of Libraries: 6)

 

Basic: From 1985 plus Aera and Shukan Asahi. 

Premium: Basic package + Meiji, Taisho, early Showa; Who's Who; Historical Photo Archive (ca. 1930-1945); Asahi Graph.

Maisaku 毎索 Mainichi Shinbun
毎日新聞
 Available   Covers from 1872 to the present; Mainichi Yoron (Oct. 1945-), Shukan ekonomisuto (Oct. 1989-); Mainichi shinbun shashi (2002)
Nikkei Telecom 21 日経テレコム 21
(Nikkei Content Plan)
Nikkei Digital Media Inc. Available  Multiple plans available. Includes the Nihon Keizai Shinbun (1975-) and 15 other Nikkei sources some with English content. The backfile of Nihon Keizai Shinbun (1876-1961) can be added as an option.
Nikkei Telecom 21 日経テレコム 21
(All Content Plan)
Nikkei Digital Media Inc.  Not Available  Personal Subscription,  and multiple plans available. Includes more than 500 sources some with English content. All the resources listed for the Nikkei Content Plan is included.
Nikkei.com Nikkei Inc. Details not yet confirmed    
Okinawa Taimusu Kiji Database
沖縄タイムス記事データベース
Okinawa Times
沖縄タイムス
 Not Available  

Includes text (without accompanying visual images) of nearly all articles published since 1997. Extra editions also included.Searchable by heading and keyword.

Yomidas Bunshokan ヨミダス文書 Yomiuri Shinbun
読売新聞
Available   Covers from 1986-; The Daily Yomiuri (1989-); and Gendai jinmeiroku.
Yomidas Rekishikan ヨミダス歴史館 Yomiuri Shinbun
 読売新聞
Available   Bunshokan contents + Meiji, Taisho, Showa (1874-1989).

Kikuzo II Visual for Libraries (Licensed Newspaper)

About Kikuzo II Visual for Libraries  聞蔵II ビジュアル (Asahi shinbun online full-text database) in English and Japanese.

Agent: Japan Publications Trading Co., Ltd., Kinokuniya Bookstores of America Co, Ltd.

Trial: Available. Contact one of the above agents.

Price information: http://database.asahi.com/library2e/main/dnaexplain2.html May differ for North American Users. Contact the DB agents for more accurate quote.

Plans: 1) Basic, 2) Basic plus optional content(s), and 3) Premium Value Pack including all the options

Personal subscription: Not available.

Contract: Available in English. NISO SERU Guideline is not applicable. 

Contents:

  1. Asahi shinbun shukusatsuban 朝日新聞縮刷版 (reduced-size edition) Sengo Shimen 戦後紙面 from 1945 to 1984, searchable by heading, keyword, and category.
  2. Full-text searchable articles from 1985 to present, some of which include scanned pdf images of the article.
  3. AERA from the inaugural issue to the present
  4. Shukan Asahi 週刊朝日 from 2000 to present
  5. The latest issue of Chiezo
  6. Asahi shinbun shukusatsuban 朝日新聞縮刷版 (reduced-size edition) from the Meiji and Taisho period as well as early Showa (1926-1945). (Optional, Premium Plan)
  7. A historical photo archive and newspaper articles from the Meiji and Taisho period. (Optional, Premium Plan)
  8. A biographical database. (Optional, Premium Plan)
  9. Asahi Graph アサヒグラフ from 1923-1945. (Optional, Premium Plan)

Differences from similar products: Morning edition becomes available at 6 am (Japan Time). Includes rich visual databases such as Historical Photo Archive and Asahi Graph.

Update frequency: Daily

Tablet compatibility: Kikuzo tablet version is available (optional service).

Single subscription stats: Available upon request

User guide in English: How to use Kikuzo II Visual

Tutorial video clips with English subtitles: http://www.asahi.com/information/db/movie/

Updated: 3/20/2014

Maisaku (Licensed Newspaper)

About Maisaku 毎索 (Mainichi shinbun online full-text database) in Japanese. English flyer of Maisaku by East View.

Agent: East View Information Services, Japan Publications Trading Co., Ltd., Kinokuniya Bookstores of America Co, Ltd.

Trial: Available. Contact one of the above agents.

Price: http://mainichi.jp/contents/edu/maisaku/index.html#price May differ for North American Users. Contact the DB agents for more accurate quote.

Major Contents:

  1. Mainichi Shinbun 毎日新聞 from its augural issue (1872) to present. 1872-1988: PDF format; 1989-1999: Flash format. Includes extra editions. 
  2. Shukan ekonomisuto 週刊エコノミスト from 1989- . Oct. 1989-: Full text. July 2000-: PDF format.
  3. The public opinion poll, Mainichi Yoron, since Oct. 1945- . New polls added twice a year.
  4. Mainichi Shinbun's company history (published in 2002) is also available.
  5. The Mainichi (English translated news) from July 2008- . 15000 articles. Full text only.

Update frequency: Daily

Tablet compatibility: Flash is used for some contents. PDF materials can be displayed on tablets, but not optimized for tablet use.

Statistics availability: Monthly usage record downloadable (Japanese).

Other features: Fusen (sticky note) function is available for each session using Adobe Flash Player feature. Denshi shukusatsuban includes extra editions. All articles are included in denshi shukusatsuban edition.

Updated: 7/31/2013

Nikkei Telecom 21 (Licensed Newspaper)

About Nikkei Telecom 21 in English. For Academic Plans for Academic Institutions.

Contact: Nikkei America, Inc. telecom21@nikkei.com

 

Nikkei Content Plan

Trial: Available.Please contact Nikkei America.

Price: Multiple plans available. Please contact Nikkei America.

Contents: More than 15 Nikkei sources are included in this plan.

  1. The Nikkei (Nihon Keizai Shimbun 日本経済新聞)
  2. The Nikkei Business Daily and The Nikkei MJ. Backfile as early as 1876 (first issue).
  3. Corporate Profiles, People Search and English content are also included.

Update frequency: Daily. 500-2000 added daily.

Tabet compatibility: Available via browser, not suited for school use.

Statistics availability: Monthly usage record downloadable (Japanese)

User guides: Online user's guide in Japanese included in the service, User's guide in English also avaialbe upon request.

 

All Content Plan

Trial: Personal subscription-Available; Institutional subscription-Partial trial available. Please contact Nikkei America.

Price: Multiple plans available. Please contact Nikkei America.

Contents: Resources from more than 500 sources.

  1. 140+ national/regional/specialized newspapers
  2. 140+ national/specialized periodicals
  3. 30+ newswires
  4. 30+ stats, marketing, research information
  5. 40+ International source
  6. Sources include Nikkei newspapers and magazines, Asahi, Yomiuri, Mainichi and Sankei.
  7. Extensive Corporate Profiles, People Search and English sources also available.

Update frequency: Daily. 10,000 added daily.

Tablet campatibility: Personal subscription- Available via app. Institutional subscription- Available via app. 

Statistics availability: Monthly usage record downloadable (Japanese)

Other features: Depends on your subscription plan, you may E-mail the articles to your account.

User guides: Online user's guide in Japanese included in the service.

 

Updated: 7/31/2013

Nikkei.com (Licensed Newspaper)

About Nikkei.com in Japanese.   Go to Nikkei.com.

Contact: Nikkei America, Inc.,  nikkeius@nikkei.com

Price: http://www.nikkeius.com/htm/beishuguide.html.

Contents: (The Nikkei Asian Review offers content from Nikkei in English.)

  1. Nikkei.com is a full text database which covers latest business and markect information in Japan and Asia. English newspaper including translation of major articles of the Nikkei, and other major newspaper in China, Southeast Asia, and India and more.
  2. Premium options: Nikkei Archives: Nikke's English news archives for the last 10 years.  Nikkei Veritas: articles from Nikkei's&Weekly newspaper for finance and investment professionals.

Update frequency: Daily

Updated: 5/26/15

Okinawa Taimusu kiji deta besu (Licenced Newspaper)

About Okinawa Taimusu kiji deta besu 沖縄タイムス記事データベース in Japanese: At 沖縄タイムス website, scroll down to the bottom and click on 記事データベース link.

Agent: Japan Publications Trading Co., Ltd.

Trial: Available. Contact its agent.

Price: http://www.okinawatimes.co.jp/note/database/ May differ for North American Users. Contact the DB agents for more accurate quote.

Personal subscription: Available.

Contract: Available in English. NISO SERU Guideline is not applicable. 

Contents:

  • Text (without accompanying visual images) of nearly all articles published since 1997 is included. Extra editions also included.Searchable by heading and keyword.

Update frequenct: Daily

Usage statistics: Available for individual subscription.

Updated: 3/20/2014

Yomidasu (Licenced Newspaper)

Yomidas ヨミダス

Direct contact: Ms. Mariko Horikawa,  Deputy Manager, Database Department, Digital Media Bureau, The Yomiuri Shimbun rima0095@yomiuri.com

Agents: East View Information Services (Yomidasu Rekishikan only), Japan Publications Trading Co., Ltd., Kinokuniya Bookstores of America Co., Ltd.; Maruzen International Co. Ltd., Neeleman International

 

About Yomidas Rekishikan ヨミダス歴史館 in Japanese.  About Yomidas Rekishikan ヨミダス歴史館 in English.

Trial: Available. Contact one of the above agents.

Price: http://www.yomiuri.co.jp/database/rekishikan/fee/ May differ for North American Users. Contact the DB agents for more accurate quote.

 Contents:

  1. Yomiuri Shinbun 読売新聞: Meiji, Taisho, Showa (1874-1989)
  2. Yomiuri Shinbun 読売新聞: Heisei (1986-)
  3. The Daily Yomiuri (1989-)
  4. Gendai jinmeiroku 現代人名録 (Who's Who).
  5. The following built-in dictionaries are also available: Daijirin 大辞林 (2nd ed.); Exceed English-Japanese Dictionary; Exceed Japanese-English Dictionary; and the latest edition of Imidas イミダス.

Yomidas Rekishikan includes "Meiji/Taisho/Showa no Yomiuri Shinbun" in addition to the contents of Yomidas Bunshokan.

Differnces betweek different editions:

Shukusatsuban in print CD-ROM Edition Yomidas Online Edition
All contents included All contents included. Clipping Images. Some signed articles and articles with photographs from AP are not available.

 

Update frequency: Daily

Single subscription stats: Available upon request.

Other features: Search screen and help file available in English. My Articles and My Search features are not available for consortium users. Special Award winner, 2010 Asian Digital Media Awards.

User Guide: Guide for Yomidasu Rekishikan created by Setsuko Noguchi.

 

About Yomidas Bunshokan ヨミダス文書館 in Japanese.

 

Trial: Available. Contact one of the above agents.

 

Price: http://www.yomiuri.co.jp/bunshokan/corp.htm May differ for North American Users. Contact the DB agents for more accurate quote.

 

Contents:

 

 

  1. Yomiuri Shinbun 読売新聞: Heisei (1986-)
  2. The Daily Yomiuri (1989-)
  3. Gendai jinmeiroku 現代人名録 (Who's Who).
  4. The following built-in dictionaries are also available: Daijirin 大辞林 (2nd ed.); Exceed English-Japanese Dictionary; Exceed Japanese-English Dictionary; and the latest edition of Imidas イミダス.

 

Full-text search is available. A unique keyword search function, which works in conjunction with a thesaurus, provides highly precise search results.

Update frequency: Daily

Single subscription stats: Available upon request.

Other features: Search screen and help file available in English. My Articles and My Search features are not available for consortium users.

 

Updated: 5/26/15

 

US Databases (Commercial)

Some North American newspaper databases include Japanese newspapers. Check your own library's newspaper subscritions.

  •  Factiva  Icon
  • LexisNexis Academic Icon

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
北米日本研究資料調整協議会
Copyright 2017
Contact the Webmaster