Skip to Main Content

Hiroshima University: Institution Main



About Hiroshima University:

Hiroshima University  (広島大学 Hiroshima daigaku) was established 1949 by the merger of a number of national educational institutions: Hiroshima University of Literature and Science, Hiroshima Higher Normal School, Hiroshima Normal School, Hiroshima Women's Higher Normal School, Hiroshima Young Men's Normal School, Hiroshima High School, Hiroshima Higher Technical School, and Hiroshima Municipal Higher Technical School.  In 1953,  the Hiroshima Prefectural Medical University was also added to the University.

Some of these higher educational institutions already had brilliant traditions and histories of their own. For example, Hiroshima Higher Normal School, founded in 1902, was known  for training middle school teachers.  While these institutions all suffered a great deal of damage as a result of the atomic bomb in 1945, they were reconstructed and combined into new Hiroshima University, retaining the strengths of the contituent parts and building a more cohesive infrastructural whole.  Today, Hiroshima university has 11 faculties and 12 graduate schools.


Institution: Hiroshima University
Founded: 1949
Type: National University
Location: Hiroshima, Hiroshima

Resources & Facilities

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
Copyright 2017
Contact the Webmaster