Skip to Main Content

Aoyama Gakuin University: Institution Main



About Aoyama Gakuin University:

Aoyama Gakuin University (青山学院大学 Aoyama Gakuin daigaku) abbreviated AGU, is a Japanese Christian university in Shibuya near Omotesandō, Tokyo, Japan. AGU was founded in October 1874 by missionaries Dora E. Schoonmaker, Robert Samuel Maclay, and Julius Soper from the Methodist Episcopal Church of the United States.  They founded 3 schools: John Franklin Goucher extended their efforts to establish the university. Canadian Methodist missionary Davidson MacDonald contributed to the establishment of Aoyama Gakuin, and his contribution to the improvement of Japan's educational system is considered an important episode in the early history of Japanese-Canadian relations.

AGU is a part of Aoyama Gakuin, a comprehensive academic institutions from kindergarten through college.  Today AGU has 9 departments and 3 professional graduate schools, offering 26 undergraduate programs, 23 master’s programs, and 21 doctoral programs. Total enrollment at AGU is about 20,000, and AGU is one of the top-ranking private universities in Japan.

The university programs include literature, law, economics, business as well as international politics, economics and communication, science and engineering, cultural and creative studies.   The university also has specialized graduate programs that are designed to train top-notch professionals for International management, law and accounting.

The university is very active in international exchange.  Many of the students and faculty have been sent to universities and research institutes abroad, and AGU accepts foreign students from around the world.

Aoyama Gakuin University has 2 campuses: Aoyama and Sagamihara.


Institution: Aoyama Gakuin University
Founded: 1881
Type: Private University
Location: Chiyoda Tokyo

Other Programs of Interest

Resources & Facilities

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
Copyright 2017
Contact the Webmaster