LibGuides: University of California Santa Barbara: East Asian Collection

General Information

Facility:	University of California at Santa Barbara East Asian Library
Address:	East Asian Library, UCSB Library, University of California, Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA 93117
Phone:	(805) 893-2365
FAX:	N/A
Email:	ask@library.ucsb.edu

About the library:

Founded in 1967, the Henry H. Tai East Asian Collection holds collections in the Chinese, Japanese, and Korean languages. It is located on the 5th floor of UCSB Library.

For more information on the collection, please contact the East Asian Collection librarian by email.

Hours

Databases

UC Santa Barbara Database List
UC Santa Barbara allows access to hundreds of databases, including seventeen under the Japanese Studies subject heading and 47 under the East Asian Studies subject heading. All databases can be accessed on-campus at UCSB, however nearly all of them are restricted to on-site access only.

Resources and Facilities

Minimal amounts of Japanese materials are available in several other libraries on the UCSB campus, including the following:

Summary of Collections

Collection size: as of May 2023 the East Asian Library contained about over 160,000 print items, of which nearly 40% are in Japanese. The East Asian Library collection focuses primarily on Chinese and Japanese resources. It does not include arts, music, or science and engineering materials, as these are contained within their respective libraries.

Online Resources

UC Sant Barbara Library Subject Guides
University of California Santa Barbara faculty and staff develop subject and course guides that are then hosted on the website (link above) by UCSB. These include research guides, area guides, arts, engineering, language & literature guides, and more.

Access

View Larger Map

How to Use the Facility

Borrowing Privileges
Non-UCSB Borrowers can buy a library card at the Services Desk during all hours that it is open. Cards are $100 for one year.
Specific documentation is required before privileges are granted. Call the Services Desk to determine exactly what documentation is required to obtain library privileges.
Special Collection Visit Planning Guide
Research Appointments are required and are available Monday through Friday 9AM to 12PM and 1PM to 4PM. Appointments must be scheduled one week in advance via a request made to [library-special@ucsb.edu]. Out of town researchers are encouraged to contact staff at least two weeks ahead of time to arrange for materials.

Give Us Your Feedback

For all comments and questions about the Guide, please e-mail us:

mlaguide@nccjapan.net