|Facility:||University of California at Santa Barbara Arts Library|
|Address:||Arts Library, UCSB Library, University of California, Santa Barbara, Santa Barbara, CA 93106|
|Hours:||Hours of operation|
The Arts Library at the University of California Santa Barbara is housed in the main music building, and is separated into two collections on two floors: the arts collection on the first floor and the music collection on the second floor. The library catalog makes no distinction between the collections except in location of the items.
Minimal amounts of Japanese materials are available in several other libraries on the UCSB campus, including the Ethnic & Gender Studies Library and Sciences-Engineering Library.
Collection size: as of January 2014 the arts library housed approximately 314,000 items of which 43,000 items are in Japanese. The Arts Library collection is exclusively interested in art and music, including publications on architecture, sculpture, drawing, painting, prints, decorative arts, photography, and music primarily from the Western tradition. All audio recordings from the East Asian Library are housed in the music collection of the Arts Library.
Online catalog: http://pegasus.library.ucsb.edu/
UC Santa Barbara allows access to hundreds of databases, including seventeen under the Japanese Studies subject heading and 47 under the East Asian Studies subject heading. All databases can be accessed on-campus at UCSB, however nearly all of them are restricted to on-site access only.
University of California Santa Barbara faculty and staff develop subject and course guides that are then hosted on the website (link above) by UCSB. These include research guides, area guides, arts, engineering, language & literature guides, and more.
Those outside the faculty, staff, or student population of the University of California Santa Barbara are free to use materials within the libraries free of charge. Some special collections may require a photo ID to access. To borrow any materials, a library card is required. For Non-UCSB borrowers, a library card is $100 a year. For non-UCSB borrowers who are UCSB affiliates, library cards are $25 a year. For more information, please visit the library card webpage.