Skip to main content

University of British Columbia: Okanagan Library

University of British Columbia

General Information

Facility: University of British Columbia Okanagan Library
Address: 3333 University Way, Kelowna, B.C. Canada V1V 1V7
Phone: (250) 807-9107 or (250) 807-9128
FAX: (250) 807-8057
Email: N/A
Hours: 7:00am-12:00am Mon.-Thurs., 7:00am-10:00pm Fri., 9:00am-10:00pm Sat., 10:00am-10:00pm Sun.
Reference Hours:  10:00am-5:00pm Mon.-Fri., 12:00pm-5:00pm Sat.

For up-to-date hours and holiday closing information, please see the Okanagan Library website.

About the Library:

The Okanagan Library was opened in 2005 as part of the Okanagan campus for the University of British Columbia. Its role is to support the students, faculty, staff, and local community on the campus, located in Kelowna, B.C.

For more information on the Japanese collection, please contact Marjorie Mitchell at 250-807-9147 or by email.

Databases

The University of British Columbia's digital repository, cIRcle is an open access initiative created by the UBC community. It is designed to showcase and preserve the university's intellectual work while keeping it freely available to anyone on the web. For more information, please read the "Getting Started with cIRcle" webpage.

This page contains links to all databases to which access is provided by the University of British Columbia Libraries, browsable by subject or title, and searchable by keyword or title. Many of these databases are only accessible from an on-campus location.

Summary of Collections

Collection size: as of January 2014 the library contained over 190,000 items of which slightly over 300 are in Japanese. The Okanagan Library collection is primarily focused on history and political science. There is a small collection of Japanese dictionaries, grammar books, and magazines, as well as a small collection of audiovisual materials in both English and Japanese.

URL: http://www.ubc.ca/okanagan/library/welcome.html

Online catalog: http://search.library.ubc.ca/

Online Resources

This is a complete list of all research guides developed by the University of British Columbia Libraries staff, browsable by subject or course, and searchable by keyword.

This webpage includes links to popular citation websites, as well as guides for how to cite different information resources according to different styles, including APA, MLA, Chicago, and IEEE.

How to Use the Facility

Library cards
The University of British Columbia library system requires a library card for use. A library card can be obtained onsite at the main library. Further directions for obtaining a library card, and its potential cost, can be found here.

Photocopying
Self-service photocopying and printing is available with a UBC Library photocopy/printing card, which can be obtained at a card machine at any of the branch libraries or circulation desks. Cards require a $1 refundable deposit.

The price of a photocopy or printed page is 7¢ for black and white, or 40¢ for color. A page is defined by the university as one side of a 8.5" x 11" sheet of paper.
 
For up-to-date photocopying and printing costs and policies, please visit UBC's Photocopying page.

Give Us Your Feedback

For all comments and questions about the Guide, please e-mail us:

MLAGuide@nccjapan.net

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
北米日本研究資料調整協議会
Copyright 2017
Contact the Webmaster