Skip to main content

University of British Columbia: Law Library

University of British Columbia

General Information

Facility: University of British Columbia Law Library
Address: 1822 East Mall, Vancouver, B.C. Canada V6T 1Z1
Phone: (604) 822-2275
FAX: (604) 822-3531
Email: law.library@ubc.ca
Hours: 8:30am-10:00pm Mon.-Thurs., 8:30am-6:00pm Fri., 10:00am-6:00pm weekends
Reference hours:  11:00am-5:00pm Mon.-Fri.

For up-to-date hours and holiday closings, please visit the Law Library website.

About the Library:

The Law Library takes up three floors of the Faculty of Law complex at the University of British Columbia. The collection, designed to support law students and professionals at the university, is mainly focused on creating and maintaining a comprehensive research collection of primary and secondary legal materials from the major common law jurisdictions, namely Canada, America, the United Kingdom, and selected areas such as the Pacific Rim. There is a specialized Asian law collection focused on China, Japan, and Korea.

Online Resources

A list of all the research guides developed and maintained by the University of British Columbia. These include the research guides developed by Law Library staff, including legal citation, legislation, case law, international law, and more.

Summary of Collections

Collection size: The Law Library collections are primarily focused on English-language materials regarding the common law jurisdictions of Canada, America, and the United Kingdom, as well as the European Community and the Pacific Rim. The Asian law collection focuses on China, Japan, and Korea. Resources for the Asian law collection are primarily in English.  The collection does not presently contain any Japanese materials.

Notable Collections:

  • Asian law collection: the Asian law collection is comprised of resources primarily in English and occasionally in the vernacular. The current focus is the People's Republic of China, Hong Kong, Japan, and Korea.

URL: http://law.library.ubc.ca/

Online catalog: http://search.library.ubc.ca/

Databases

The University of British Columbia Law Library provides acces to over 80 law-related databases from around the world. These include general collections, arbitration law, constitutional law, environmental law, international law, tax law, and more. Many of these databases are accessible only from on campus. Please see the Connect from Home page for information on how current students, faculty, and staff are allowed offsite access.

The University of British Columbia's digital repository, cIRcle is an open access initiative created by the UBC community. It is designed to showcase and preserve the university's intellectual work while keeping it freely available to anyone on the web. For more information, please read the "Getting Started with cIRcle" webpage.

How to Use the Facility

Library cards
The University of British Columbia library system requires a library card for use. A library card can be obtained onsite at the main library. Further directions for obtaining a library card, and its potential cost, can be found here.

Photocopying
Self-service photocopying and printing is available with a UBC Library photocopy/printing card, which can be obtained at a card machine at any of the branch libraries or circulation desks. Cards require a $1 refundable deposit.

The price of a photocopy or printed page is 7¢ for black and white, or 40¢ for color. A page is defined by the university as one side of a 8.5" x 11" sheet of paper.
 
For up-to-date photocopying and printing costs and policies, please visit UBC's Photocopying page.

Give Us Your Feedback

For all comments and questions about the Guide, please e-mail us:

MLAGuide@nccjapan.net

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
北米日本研究資料調整協議会
Copyright 2017
Contact the Webmaster