Skip to main content

University of British Columbia: Education Library

University of British Columbia

General Information

Facility: University of British Columbia Education Library
Address: 2125 Main Mall, Vancouver, B.C. Canada V6T 1Z4
Phone: (604) 822-3767
FAX: (640) 822-5378
Email: ed.lib@ubc.ca
Hours: 8:00am-9:00pm Mon.-Thurs., 8:00am-6:00pm Fri., 12:00pm-5:00pm weekends

For up-to-date hours and holiday closings, please see the Education Library website. Please note that the circulation desk closes fifteen minutes before the library.

About the Library:

The Education library focuses on supporting the undergraduate and graduate education students as well as University of British Columbia faculty and staff, providing both physical and online resources for their use.

Online Resources

The Education Library hosts lesson plans geared for Elementary and Secondary schools. These lesson plans include art, biology, business education, drama, English, ESL, French, math, modern language, music, science, and more.

A list of all the research guides developed and maintained by the University of British Columbia. These include the research guides developed by Education Library staff for learning technology, instructional resources, curriculum guides, recommended texts, an APA style guide, and more.

Summary of Collections

Collection size: The Education Library collections focus primarily on education resources and children's books.

URL: http://education.library.ubc.ca/

Online catalog: http://search.library.ubc.ca/

Databases

The Education Library website lists approximately twenty different databases designed for education students and professionals that the University of British Columbia allows access to. It also lists websites and associations that are useful for students and professionals in the field. Listed below are the three major databases the Education Library website lists as "Key Education Databases." For the full list, please visit the Education Databses page.

This database, designed for educators and education students, provides indexing and abstracts, and full text for over four million resources, including journals, monographs, conference papers, and educational tests. For more information and access methods, please look at the Indexes & Databases page for Education Source.

The ERIC database hosts citations, abstracts, and some full text for approximately 1,000 education-related journals, primarily from America, as well as ERIC Documents, including conference proceedings, curricula, research reports, theses, and more. For more information and access methods, please look at the Indexes & Databases page for ERIC.

The Canadian Business and Current Affairs Complete database combines full text and indexed content from the CBCA business, current events, education, and reference databases. For more information and access methods, please look at the Indexes & Databases page for CBCA Complete.

How to Use the Facility

Library cards
The University of British Columbia library system requires a library card for use. A library card can be obtained onsite at the main library. Further directions for obtaining a library card, and its potential cost, can be found here.

Photocopying
Self-service photocopying and printing is available with a UBC Library photocopy/printing card, which can be obtained at a card machine at any of the branch libraries or circulation desks. Cards require a $1 refundable deposit.

The price of a photocopy or printed page is 7¢ for black and white, or 40¢ for color. A page is defined by the university as one side of a 8.5" x 11" sheet of paper.
 
For up-to-date photocopying and printing costs and policies, please visit UBC's Photocopying page.

Give Us Your Feedback

For all comments and questions about the Guide, please e-mail us:

MLAGuide@nccjapan.net

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
北米日本研究資料調整協議会
Copyright 2017
Contact the Webmaster