Skip to main content

University of British Columbia: Koerner Library

University of British Columbia

General Information

Facility: University of British Columbia Koerner Library
Address: 1958 Main Mall, Vancouver, B.C. Canada V6T 1Z2
Phone: (604) 822-2406 or (604) 822-2725
FAX: N/A
Email: hssd@interchange.ubc.ca
Hours: 7:30am-5:00pm Thurs. and Fri., 10:00am-5:00pm weekends

For holiday closings and up-to-date hours of operation, please visit the Koerner Library website.

About the Library:

The Koerner Library opened in 1997, one of the most recent updates to the University of British Columbia Library system. Construction begain in 1995. It has a collection shelving capacity estimated at 800,000 volumes.

Databases

The University of British Columbia's digital repository, cIRcle is an open access initiative created by the UBC community. It is designed to showcase and preserve the university's intellectual work while keeping it freely available to anyone on the web. For more information, please read the "Getting Started with cIRcle" webpage.

Summary of Collections

Collection size: as of January 2014 its colleciton totaled nearly 1 million volumes of which nearly 2,000 are Japanese. The Koerner Library collections are comprised primarily of humanities, social sciences, government publications, and maps and atlases.

Notable Collections

  • Humanities & Social Sciences Collection: this includes works on anthropology, English, geography, history, political science, psychology, religious studies, social work, theatre, and more. For more information, please visit the Subject Librarians’ page.

  • Government Publications Collection: this collection focuses on government publications relating to the humanities and social sciences. It is based on publications from the United Nations, Statistics Canada, and Canadian Census. For more information, please click here.

  • Maps & Atlases Collection: the collection is organized into several series: topographic maps, thematic maps, charts, regular-sized atlases, and oversized atlases. A large portion of these can be found online, while the remainder can be accessed at the Koerner Library. For more information, please click here.

URL: http://koerner.library.ubc.ca/

Online catalog: http://search.library.ubc.ca/

Online Resources

A list of all the research guides developed and maintained by the University of British Columbia. These include Asian studies.

How to Use the Facility

Library cards
The University of British Columbia library system requires a library card for use. A library card can be obtained onsite at the main library. Further directions for obtaining a library card, and its potential cost, can be found here.

Photocopying
Self-service photocopying and printing is available with a UBC Library photocopy/printing card, which can be obtained at a card machine at any of the branch libraries or circulation desks. Cards require a $1 refundable deposit.

The price of a photocopy or printed page is 7¢ for black and white, or 40¢ for color. A page is defined by the university as one side of a 8.5" x 11" sheet of paper.
 
For up-to-date photocopying and printing costs and policies, please visit UBC's Photocopying page.

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
北米日本研究資料調整協議会
Copyright 2017
Contact the Webmaster