North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources (NCC): Homepage

NCC Reports from NCC's March 2016 Open Meeting and CJM/NCC Sessions are linked directly below.  Presentations from the Seattle meetings are directly below, and the Background Reports from NCC Committees and Working Groups are contained in the following box.  

• NDL Overview of ILL_DD Services_Matsui.pptx
• NDL_Map.pdf
• Kazuko Hioki Report on NCC Digital Workshop.pdf
• Reading Notes Hioki Report on NCC Workshop.docx
• Ryuta Komaki NCC Open Meeting.pdf
• Komaki 2016 NCC Open Meeting script.docx
• NCC open meeting KREEFT.pptx

6/26/16 1:00 PM: The Culture of English Language Academic Book Publishing (Shikokan L01)

Read NCC Committee and Working Group Reports 2015  

NCC currently receives funding from:

• The Japan-US Friendship Commission



• The Toshiba International Foundation

NCC creates programs and online services to support the research needs of the field of Japanese studies and for users with any interest in Japan, anywhere. This site also provides links to many recommended instructional and topical sites related to Japan. 

Instructional Materials, Training, and Information Literacy Services help users at all levels within Japanese studies through:

• Japanese Research and Bibliographic Methods.  A comprehensive 25-unit course in information literacy for undergraduates in Japanese studies, suitable for students with one year of language study (Look for new online tutorials on YouTube)
• NCC Team-Building Workshops;
• Subject Guides Portal; a cross-referenced list of key online resources created by major in Japanese Studies Libraries;  
• E-Texts Website; using Open Source Japanese language resources for teaching about Japan across the curriculum featuring lesson plans, technology tips, and recommended online reference sources;
• Information Literacy Portal;
• Professional Development Working Group; focused on librarian professional development at all levels
• Webinar Series (New content coming September 1st)

Access Services help users find Japanese resources through:

• The Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery, a network of nearly 280 institutions in Japan, the US, Canada, Austrailia, and New Zealand;
• The Image Use Protocol Website, a guide to best practices for locating and legally using visual images from Japan;
• the Digital Resources Committee, providing assistance with use and navigation of Japanese databases and helping institutions to work more effectively with database creators and vendors who license their products. Newly Updated August 2013
• NCC's Online Guide to Research Access to Japanese Collections and Resources.

Supporting Cooperative Collection Development to leverage our ability to build and maintain comprehensive collections through grants, cooperation, preservation, and resource exchanges:

• The Multi-Volume Sets Grants fund a circulating national collection of over 42,000 items, many not held elsewhere;
• The Cooperative Collections Working Group strives to ensure that periodicals needed for research are held in North America;
• The Japan Art Catalog Project's collections are rare, often privately published materials open to scholars and students on site and through ILL
• The Disaster Preparedness Working Group, an international body developing best practices to help institutions survive disasters and to reclaim their resources;

International Collaborations bridge global networks throughout the field of Japanese studies that strengthen scholarly communication, resource sharing, and promote cultural diplomacy:

• Link Working Groups focused on common issues to better advocate for global needs;
• Advocate for the needs of faculty and students in smaller institutions;
• Offer specialized training to librarians at all levels of professional development; by promoting information literacy at all levels within the field, and by fostering close collaboration and consultation among librarians, the academic community and bi-national funding agencies;
• Develop new strategies for resources sharing;
• A partial list of organizations with which NCC collaborates is here.

The key to the NCC's ability to effectively serve the field of Japanese studies is the devoted group of Japanese studies librarians and faculty who serve on the Council, and provide the intellectual vision for NCC's growing number of services.  None of these programs would be possible without the generous support of our funders, please see links to their Webpages to the left. 

The North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources (NCC) is an independent nonprofit educational organization established in 1991.

The NCC is a tax-exempt 501-C-3 organization and a public charity in the Commonwealth of Massachusetts where NCC's headquarters are located.  NCC programs and services are managed by a small part time staff working with a large group of international professionals who donate their services on a pro bono basis.

NCC programs and services receive funding for US and Japanese foundations and from donations from the users of our services.  Please consider making a fully tax deductible contribution to the NCC. Download Contribution Form.

Victoria Lyon Bestor, Executive Director

617-833-0755 (Telephone)

vbestor at nccjapan dot org

Setsuko Noguchi, NCC Chair

609-258-6159 (Telephone)

snoguchi at princeton dot edu

Webmaster

webmaster at nccjapan dot org