NCC Open Meeting Agenda
March 26, 2015
Chicago Sheraton and Towers Hotel, Ohio Room
NCC Open Meeting: Thursday March 26, 2015 9:10 – 10:00 am
Part 1. Brief Updates on NCC programs and services, Q & A (Kuniko Y. McVey and Victoria Bestor)
Part 2. In depth guide to NDL (National Diet Library) online resources, Q & A
Presenters: Masashi Kosaka (Assistant Director, User Service Planning Division, NDL)
Shinichi Tsuchiya (Assistant Director, Library Support Division, NDL)
NDL online resources are constantly growing, which now counts 350,000 titles of books, 70,000 items of rare materials, 15,000 doctoral dissertations, besides tables of contents of 130,000 journals are fully searchable. Many historical contents such as sound recordings, educational films, occupation period documents are joining in NDL digital collection. Meanwhile NDL Search, its discovery tool, is expanding its reach outside of NDL walls and finds great resources scattered in Japan. It is a good time to get a full and update picture of these vast online resources which are now essential tools for librarians and researchers. Our guests from NDL are eager to hear our feedback.
NCC committee and Working Group reports will be uploaded on NCC website http://guides.nccjapan.org/homepage for review by all.
Further Information on Projects Reported on here are found on NCC’s Website in Open Source Format http://guides.nccjapan.org/homepage
Joint Workshop of CJM and NCC Workshop: Tuesday, March 24, 2015 from 7:00 to 10:00 pm
Description: CJM and NCC will jointly host a two-hour pre-conference meeting with and additional one-hour Q&A period. This meeting is divided into two parts.
Session One: E-resources: reviews and discussion. This session includes updates from NII, corpus database demonstrations by Prof. Ogiso, as well as reviews on the variety of Japanese language e-resources. This session is coordinated with NCC’ Digital Resource Committee.
Session Two: Off-line community meeting (a.k.a. “ofukai”). This is a live version of our discussions via JpnLibLiaisons listserv, the default mode of communication among Japanese Studies librarians. The attendants are asked to share their projects and research activities as well as concerns and questions unique to Japanese Studies librarianship. NCC and CJM hope that this “ofukai” will energize our sense of community while stimulating ideas for solving problems collectively.
CEAL Plenary Meetings: Wednesday and Thursday, March 25-26, 2015, Chaired by Ellen Hammond, CEAL President
Please check the CEAL homepage for updates.
NCC Open Meeting: Thursday March 26, 2015 9:10 – 10:00 am, Chaired by Kuniko McVey (Please see details above)
Part 1. Brief Updates on NCC programs and services, Q & A, Kuniko McVey and Victoria Bestor
Part 2. In depth guide to NDL (National Diet Library) online resources, Q & A
Presenters: Masashi Kosaka (Assistant Director, User Service Planning Division, NDL)
Shinichi Tsuchiya (Assistant Director, Library Support Division, NDL)
NCC committee and Working Group reports will be on NCC website http://guides.nccjapan.org/homepage for review by all.
CEAL Committee on Japanese Materials: March 26 (Thursday): 10:00-11:00 AM, Chaired by Michiko Ito
Description: CJM will host a session featuring two researchers actively engaged in digital humanities to learn how digitized/born digital materials can be used for different disciplinary.
Dr. Hoyt Long from University of Chicago will discuss his text-mining project and introduce a method for applying network analysis to the sociological study of literacy history. Professor Ogiso Toshinobu will discuss Japanese language corpora created by National Institute for Japanese Language.
CEAL Committee on Public Service: Thursday March 26th at 3:05 in Room Chicago 8, Chaired by Sharon Domier
Our theme is Connect, Collaborate, Create, and Communicate: The Role of Public Services in the Context of East Asian Studies Librarianship. We have 4 presentations for you that are focused on the theme of collaboration and building connections with an emphasis on serving undergraduates this year.
The agenda is on the CEAL website, and linked here:
All library service is a public service and we all connect, collaborate, create and communicate in whatever position we have in the library. Come and listen to the talks at our session and we can continue the conversation through the eastlib mailing list or the pages of JEAL after the conference.
CJM Rare Books workshop: March 27 (Friday) 10:00 AM-4:00 PM Art Institute of Chicago
Address: 111 S Michigan Ave, Chicago, IL 60603 (PREREGISTRATION REQUIRED)
Instructor: Professor Takahiro Sasaki (Shido Bunko, Keio University)
The workshop will include a tour to Art Institute of Chicago storage area right after lunch.
Target audience: Librarians, curators, scholars of Japanese history, literature and history of books, etc
NCC Meeting October 10-11, 2014
The members of the new NCC Digital Resource Committee (DRC) was initiated on July 1st, 2014 will continue through June 30, 2016. Each member of the committee has been assigned to specific tasks which are essential to DRC’s objectives. The list of the tasks and responsibilities are listed in Appendix 1. Reports below were submitted by the members on activities and planning covering July 1st to October 4th, 2014.
Report on Digital Humanity submitted by Molly Des Jardin
In the past year, Molly Des Jardin at Penn has developed several guides related to electronic (online and mobile) resources for Japanese studies. (http://guides.library.upenn.edu/profile.php?uid=86887)
The guides largely focus on free resources, although some are Penn subscriptions and others are apps for sale for iOS and Android devices. The major guide is “Digital Resources,” which aims to be as comprehensive as possible in listing freely accessible online resources for Japanese studies. It focuses on digital archives and reference sources for topics ranging from literature and history to pop culture and kuzushiji/bungo-specific sites, and of course general archives as well. In addition, Molly has written a guide to mobile apps for Japanese studies (with a particular focus on language learning, dictionaries, and reference), and a basic overview of text analysis resources for digital humanities work. Finally, Molly has also produced a short guide for undergraduates seeking primarily English-language resources on Japan and Asia more generally, and language-learning resources for Japanese.
Report on Database Coordinator submitted by Fabiano Rocha
In the capacity of Database Coordinator, I have been tracking the communication flow related to negotiations of Japanese electronic resources, namely Nikkei Asian Review, Japan Times, Oya Bunko and Prange Database. Efforts have been initiated by individuals interested in subscribing to specific services, which is the case of Nikkei Asian Review negotiations led by Kris Troost at Duke, or have become a collective advocacy issue for wide access to resources led by Kuniko Yamada-McVey at Harvard, such as the case of the Prange Database. Currently, the negotiations are still on-going for all the above named resources. For further details, please refer to the notes provided in Appendix 2.
Report on discovery tools / metadata submitted by Mariko Honshuku
The current statuses of metadata for Japanese resources in four major web-scale discovery tools (Exlibris’ Primo, Proquest’s Summon, EBSCO Discovery Service, and OCLC’s WorldCat Local) have been monitored and compiled below:
JapanKnowledge (NetAdvance Inc.) provides metadata to all of above services. Since each discovery service is customized by local institution, Japanese studies librarians need to communicate to their own library systems department.
Currently KINOKUNIYA provides metadata data for the ebrary titles (Ebsco's EDS) and all titles are available in OCLC WorldCat. However, EBSCO search functions are still limited for the Japanese titles. Over the summer, Mariko communicated with EBSCO and KINOKUNIYA for further enhancement of search capabilities. As of September 30, 2014, it seemed that more headings were searchable for Japanese titles.
Over 300 JAPAN MARC records (MARUZEN eBook Library) were loaded into Columbia University CLIO. Unfortunately, the metadata (author, corporate name, series title, subject headings, etc.) are not in the US
Digital Resource Committee (DRC) report Emory University, Atlanta
standard forms (MARC21 and NACO standards). According to Mr. Sakamoto, MARUZEN is planning to enhance MARC record quality to meet US MARC standard.
Report on Benkyokai /study group submitted by Chiaki Sakai and Shirin Eshghi
The DRC had two closed benkyokai for its members over the last two years. The newly formed benkyokai team (Shirin Eshghi and Chiaki Sakai) started discussing one for a wider audience. The previous ones were both on subscription based databases and focus was mainly on product’s functions and contents. Shirin made a few suggestions to add different meanings to bekyokai such as including free resources and shifting focus on how we conduct research by using those resources. Along with these suggestions, Japanese e-book product discussion is currently going on among Japanese Studies Librarians. We will take all these new ideas and suggestions into consideration and would like to plan a benkyokai. We will solicit questions related to e-resource contents, search functions, display and subscription styles and e-resource platforms for e-books, etc. and ask participants to work on sample research topics. Those questions and findings become the basis for discussions at the benkyokai. It will be a venue for us to learn and compare those products to be better consumers.
Report on over all coordination by Haruko Nakamura
In recent months, many topics related to DRC were discussed through Eastlib and JpnLibLiasions listserves. There were also some requests for DRC to take charge of coordinating specific electronic related issues. For example, recent discussions on Japanese eBooks encompassing various issues such as licensing and pricing models (database coordinator); metadata and appearance of discovery tools (discovery tools) and text mining/manipulating and mobile devices compatibility (digital humanities). I have been discussing with Chiaki and Shirin about the possibility of organizing a workshop/benkyokai with an emphasis on “learning to conduct research using those resources”. The workshop can also be a good place to discuss those other issues. As for the website, NCC staff have been updating the site. Since many of those topics are interrelated to DRC members’ tasks, the overall coordinator has been communicating with some of the committee members to see how DRC can accommodate those requests. In the future, we will be asking for the access to edit the web by the committee members themselves as the content of the site grows. However, the goal of the site will be much simpler contents and easier navigations.
Appendix 1 : The list of the tasks and responsibilities
Follow latest developments related to development of digital humanity in the field Japan studies in Japan, North America as well as other parts of the world. Inform committee members as well as broader librarians. May coordinate with chair of DRC to bring a guest speaker to the workshop below.
Database coordination (Fabiano Rocha)
Keep in close communication with librarians who coordinate e-resource consortiums and negotiation efforts with e-resource vendors and publishers in order to have uniformity among librarians. Provide information related to e- resources for Japan studies including vendor contact information, consortium as well as ongoing negotiations of particular database to Japan studies librarians. DRC is not responsible for negotiating contracts for databases and/or establishing consortia.
Discovery tools / Metadata (Mariko Honshuku)
Monitor communications and gather information from librarians who coordinate the latest developments related discovery tools and metadata supplement. Provide related information to others who may use different tools, yet benefit by the related information. For instance, a couple catalogers are recently working with Mr. Tanaka for enhancing MARC records for all the resources in JapanKnowlege, etc.
Benkyokai /study group (Chiaki Sakai & Shirin Eshghi)
Plan and organize a workshop during either 2015 or (most likely in 2016) AAS/CEAL conference. The workshop will solicit questions related to e-resource contents, search functions, display and subscription styles and e-resource platforms for e-books, etc. Those questions become the basis for discussions at the workshop. Other committee issues such as discovery tool, metadata, digital humanity can be included in this workshop as needed.
Over all coordination (Haruko Nakamura )
Communicate and coordinate with each committee member in order to add, terminate and consolidate each member’s task in order to accomplish DRC objectives. This could be accomplished by a phone conversation with individual member of committee once a month basis. Timely inform about the committee activities to committee members, chair and director of NCC as well as Japan studies librarian in North America via various medium including simple committee website hosted at NCC homepage.
Appendix 2 : notes recorded by by Fabiano Rocha
NIKKEI ASIAN REVIEW (as reported on August 8, 2014)
Nikkei Asian Review has articles about Asians written by Asians in English language
Available through Factiva but perhaps limited to business-related articles and smaller archive
Nikkei Asian Review is available through Nikkei Telecom (to those who subscribe to it)
Nikkei America currently offers a corporate subscription to people residing in USA, Canada and Latin
Kris Troost wrote back to Nikkei America pointing out that:
IP address access is preferable over digital IDs
Willing to pay for simultaneous users; unlimited preferable
Annual subscription instead of 6-month subscription
Nikkei America’s representative has acknowledged the concerns and sent a message to HQ in Tokyo for review.
JAPAN TIMES (notes from Setsuko Noguchi)
Currently available in web version and blu-ray (price is the same for both versions)
Payment in installments is a possibility
You can also pick and choose subsets of data
Princeton conducted a trial of this database.
Access is awful
Response time is bad (click and hang)
Consortium deal is not available due to copyright restrictions
OYA BUNKO (mainly communication from Tokiko Bazzell and Haruko Nakamura )
From Tokiko (2014.7.7)
Tokiko was able to meet with Oya accompanied by Mr. Mitake. They had a productive conversation regarding the provision of document delivery to subscribing libraries
Oya is very willing to provide copy services for the documents, but the biggest problem was the cost associated with handling small number of copies.
It was suggested that an amount of $200 for photocopying services is added to the $2400 annual subscription fee, and that amount is transferred to Oya Bunko from Kinokuniya. Oya will create a photocopy fund pool, and provided that each university library does not exceed the limit of $200 in copy services, the credit is carried forward to the following year upon renewal of subscription
It was also suggested that photocopies are requested by ILL department as opposed to individual users. Copies of the documents may be sent via FAX to the ILL department of the institution
Hawaii is currently in the process of experimenting this system to make an assessment of the quality of the photocopying services
Response from Haruko (2014.7.7)
Great suggestion regarding the invoicing via Kinokuniya
A few questions from Haruko
1. Is it possible to get the articles via email attachment instead of FAX?
2. Request for documents require detailed bibliographic information, which can be a problem for non-Japanese speakers ILL staff; suggestion to have a Japanese Studies Librarian/staff responsible to verify the bib data
3. Is there a plan to create a request form? If so, Haruko offered the help in creating it
4.. Assumption that negotiation will be done via Kinokuniya. How should the requests take place?
Response from Tokiko (2014.7.7)
The document delivery will be conducted via FAX, as the Japanese law prohibits electronic transmission of
documents (i.e., email). They assume it is okay to send documents via FAX, as they are doing so in Japan.
It is Tokiko’s hope to get everything done smoothly on the ILL Dept’s side, but she recognizes that the
situation may be different for other institutions. This issue needs further discussion; the challenge in using
stable URL (permanent links) is that they may not be as reliable source to be used as ID for records.
If 10 institutions will be joining the group, it is best to have a uniform request form
Kinokuniya’s involvement/cooperation also needs further discussion. Oya Bunko seems to believe that
managing the requests and invoicing could be an extension of the current situation
There have been no further significant developments since then (2014.10.1)
PRANGE DATABASE (for further information, see Kuniko Yamada-McVey)
Prange Database was developed by Professor Yamamoto and his team
Bunsei Shoin is the representative
Annual subscription of $2000 to have access for the indexes
Individual subscriptions are available at 5000 YEN per year
They are having a hard time selling the product in Japan , except for Waseda University (Professor Yamamoto is from there)
NDL has been maintaining a firm position and not accepting the current conditions
A consortium deal was offered to each prefecture in Japan but not to overseas
Current subscribers: Waseda, Nichibunken and Maryland
Microform holding libraries: UCLA, Harvard, Yale, Michigan and Maryland; other libraries may have some
Librarians feel strongly that the database should be given wide access, as it was developed with public
Professor Yamamoto wants to utilize the revenue generated from the sales of the database to support his
non-profit research organization
The NCC/GIF Project and News on BORROWING JAPANESE MATERIALS
Interlibrary Loan (ILL) is a key service in the library; without it, a library would have no access to the catalogs of its partner libraries. ILL service allows a library to borrow materials it does not hold from another library. Books, dissertations, journal articles, microfilms, and sometimes even audiovisual materials circulate from library to library in this way. ILL makes libraries around the world accessible to students and researchers via their home library. So it is an important means to increase the values of library materials. Document Delivery is concerned with increasing the accessibility of library materials for patrons. Document Delivery service includes sending books from a main library to a branch library, preparing course materials for electronica access, and delivering scanned journal articles to the requesting library user. Although open access is rapidly changing the way academic research is done, ILL/DD remains a crucial service for scholars, students, and other users who rely on the academic library for their research.
This is why the Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery Committee within the North American Coordinating Council’s (NCC) promotes its Global Interlibrary Loan Framework (GIF) Project. The GIF Project was created to manage ILL services between academic libraries in North America and Japan. The OCLC GIF-J group was born in 2002. It was designed to put the Japanese cataloging database, NACSIS, into communication with the OCLC cataloging system on which North American library ILL systems rely. The GIF Project made this possible with the ISO 10160/10161 connection, which is an international standard-setting agency composed of representatives from various national standard organizations.
Currently, the GIF Project is shifting its focus from promotion and maintenance to a renovation of the system. The major reason is this is that recently a new ISO standard was introduced, but Japan announced that it would not be able to keep using the ISO standard once the current contract expires. Japan expressed the possibility of resuming the ISO connection in the future, but this is unlikely to happen before June 30, 2016, which is the expiration date of OCLC’s current ISO 10160/10161 connection.
In order to maintain the OCLC GIF-J Group connection, Japan suggested an alternative method: designated ILL specialists or “Agents” with working knowledge of OCLC-ILL and NACSIS-ILL assigned to handle the processing of all borrowing/lending requests between these two ILL systems. In the past, South Korea and Japan established an ILL/DD operating agent system and it worked quite well. If possible, Japan would like to try the same system with us via the GIF-J Group after the current ISO connection is finished. Details on this alternative method, the “Agent” system, are forthcoming and will be shared when available. We hope that this new connection can be ready before the current ISO connection expires in June 2016.
On the other hand, we have received good news from the ILL department of the largest library in Japan, the National Diet Library (NDL). NDL’s holding records are openly accessible via OCLC WorldCat. As of this moment, ILL/DD requests must still be submitted through the Japanese-language version of the NDL Online Public Access Catalogue, via fax, or postal mail. But this might be changing soon. The NDL’s ILL/DD service is willing to improve their operations in favor of accommodating overseas borrowers. If your library is not yet registered for the NDL-ILL/DD services, contact your library and urge them to take action immediately because it will take approximately two months to complete the registration. Also, make sure that your library, once registered, keeps its ID and password secured. If it loses the ID and password and wants to retrieve or change them, it will take about two months because NDL uses postal mail to receive and send such information. An individual researcher can receive a photocopy of NDL materials directly, but he/she still has to register. All the information about NDL registration can be found on our NCC-ILL/DD LibGuide. It is also important to note that the GIF’s ILL/DD service should be the last resort. Please make a request for a material in NDL or Japanese academic libraries only if it is unavailable at OCLC-ILL partner libraries in North America. We are currently preparing to update our LibGuide to include tips for researchers and your library access service specialists regarding how to access Japanese materials.
Draft Report – Cooperative Collection Development Working Group (CCDWG) North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources Board Meeting, Chicago, March 26, 2015
Reported by Chair, Keiko Yokota-Carter (University of Michigan) Members: Tokiko Y. Bazzell (University of Hawaii), Shirin Eshghi (University of British Columbia), Toshie Marra (University of California, Berkeley), Kuniko Y. McVey (Harvard University), Hiromi Shimamoto (Library of Congress), Haruko Nakamura (Yale University), Setsuko Noguchi (Princeton University), Azusa Tanaka (University of Washington).
Ms. Hiromi Shimamoto has replaced Dr. Mari Nakahara (Library of Congress)
Current projects: 1.
Local newspaper archives
During the CCDWG meeting on March 26, 2014, during the CEAL meeting in
Philadelphia, a new project idea, “Cooperative collection development of local
newspaper archives among the North American university libraries” was suggested
and supported unanimously by the CCDWG members.
The JPT offered a list of available back issues of local newspaper. The MVS
Committee co-chair consented that we would share the list as potential candidates for
the MVS grant application. The list of the available titles and message to suggest
applying for MVS grant was sent to LibJpn listserv on September 23rd, 2014. The list
should be linked in the NCC homepage – both CCDWG and MVS pages.
The list of holding information of the local newspaper archives in the North America
will be created and linked in the NCC CCDWG homepage. (Harvard University
Library has already offered to collect the back issues of Tokyo Shinbun).
List of academic association journals not indexed in Cinii.
Working group members are preparing for the list of essential academic association
journals without online full-texts in Cinii index. The list will be shared for additional
input from the LibJpn list serve community.
List of the gift materials from the National Diet Library.
Working group members are preparing for the list of the regular institutional gift
Librarian Professional Development Working Group
Report (2014- 2015)
Submitted by Setsuko Noguchi and Fabiano Rocha
1. LPDWG was involved in organizing the NCC’s Technology for Librarians in Japanese Studies held on March 25, 2014 at University of Pennsylvania. Ms. Sayaka Okumura of NDL Digital Library Division gave a presentation entitled “The update of the NDL Digital Collections.” Mr. Ryoichi Minami of NDL Kansaikan gave a talk on Japanese copyright issues. Since Ms. Okumura is in charge of Rekion (Rekishiteki ongen), she emphasized on the usage of Rekion. There were questions and answers about accessibility and she provided us with positive information that Rekion would be available [to subscribers outside of Japan] under certain conditions. Few months later, Maureen Donovan of Ohio State University reported that they were successful in obtaining the access to Rekion.
2. LPDWG has been considering a series of workshops focusing on scholars including librarians. The workshop will be held during the AAS. Our tentative topic in 2015 is bibliographic research on rare books with collaboration of CEAL CJM subcommittee on Japanese Rare Books.
<Ideas for collaboration with NDL>
LPDWG has been discussing ideas that were brought up during the Nihon Senmonka Ikusei Senryaku Kaigi, the planning meeting and symposium in support of Japanese studies organized by the International House of Japan and National Diet Library, which Fabiano Rocha attended in 2013. Ideas included dispatching NDL staff to conduct workshops in North America as part of a distance learning project, and adding subtitles to online training programs for copyright, rare books, etc. in English. Subtitles would be particularly useful for non-native Japan Studies librarians in North America. These ideas are now under consideration at NDL. However, since the personnel changes occurred at NDL in the last April, we have not had any further communication regarding the proposals.
Setsuko joined NCC Chair Kuniko McVey in attending a meeting held at NDL Kansai-kan on December 12, 2014. Setsuko met Mr. Tsuchiya of NDL Kansai-kan Library Support Division and had a brief discussion about the idea of adding subtitles to the NDL’s e-learning materials. According to Mr. Tsuchiya, copyright issues may arise if English subtitles are added to the rare book e-learning course, as the course was actually created by the National Institute of Japanese Literature. In the meantime, adding subtitles to the actual learning video (kenshu fukei) seems to be more practical. We also confirmed that we will collaboratively work on the subtitles.
University of Hawaii at Manoa
University of British Columbia
University of Colorado
Princeton University; co-chair
University of Toronto; co-chair
Columbia University; Advisor
Digital Resources Committee, Haruko Nakamura
Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery, Hiroyuki and Kazuyo Good
Japan Art Catalog Exchange, Reiko Yoshimura
Multi-Volume Sets Grants, Dan McKee
Reports are listed alphabetically below in main column
Cooperative Collection Development, Keiko Yokota-Carter Chair
Image Use Protcol, Fabiano Rocha Chair
Librarian Professional Development, Setsuko Noguchi and Fabiano Rocha Co-Chairs
Principal funding fr 2014-15 has been provided by the Japan-US Friendship Commission (JUSFC) and Toshiba International Foundation (TIFO).
Other programs co-hosted by NCC and the Emory University’s East Asian Studies Program, Russian and East Asian Languages and Cultures Department, and Emory Libraries and Information Technology.