University of Rochester: Rush Rhees Library

About the library:

The iconic Rush Rhees Library was opened in 1930. A substantial addition was dedicated in 1970. Rush Rhees is home to the Art and Music Library; the Digital Humanities Center; the Department of Rare Books, Special Collections & Preservation; the Gleason Library, a flexible, collaborative study space; the Rossell Hope Robbins Library for medieval studies; and the University Archives.

For more information concerning the Japanese collections, please contact Kristen Totleben at (585) 275-9304 or by email.

Japanese Language and Culture Subject Guide

Memorial Art Gallery

Rush Rhees Library

Collection size: as of December 2014

The Japanese collection includes over 100,000 volumes in Japanese and English. It is historically strong in 19th century Japanese intellectual history and early 20th century Japanese literature. Over the past 10 years, collecting has focused on materials that support undergraduate courses and faculty research in language and literature, anthropology, history, religion, and visual arts.

URL: library.rochester.edu/rhees/home

Online catalog: https://www.library.rochester.edu/

A database and interactive website created by Joanne Bernardi with the help of the Digital Humanities Center. Digital objects include approximately 60% of Bernardi's personal collection of items documenting international representations of Japan and its place within a global society in the early-to-mid 20th century.

Directions

Floor plans

Those not directly affiliated with the University of Rochester must obtain a UR ID in order to borrow circulating materials from Rush Rhees Library. Some may be eligible for a Rochester Regional Library Council Access Card. Others may obtain a UR ID by requesting the appropriate form at any Q&i desk on the River Campus. More information is available at the Rush Rhees Circulation for Courtesy Borrowers page. Visitors may also find the River Campus Libraries Visitors page helpful.

For all comments and questions about the Guide, please e-mail us:

mlaguide@nccjapan.net