LibGuides: University of British Columbia: Irving K. Barber Learning Centre

General Information

Facility:	University of British Columbia Irving K. Barber Learning Centre
Address:	1961 East Mall, Vancouver, B.C. Canada V6T 1Z2
Phone:	(604) 822-8149
FAX:	N/A
Email:	N/A

About the Learning Centre:

The Irving K. Barber Learning Centre is home to the Chapman Learning Commons; Music, Art and Architecture Library; Rare Books and Special Collections; and the University Archives.

Hours of Operation
For holiday closings and up-to-date information.

Databases

British Columbia History Digitization Program
This database contains the successful digitization projects from the past eight years conducted by the British Columbia History Digitization Program. The purpose of the program is to promote access to the area's historical resources by funding digitization projects that result in open access, online material.
Rare Books and Special Collections Archives
The archives of the Rare Books and Special Collections at the University of British Columbia acquire archival materials relating to the history of British Columbia and Canada at large, and currently holds over 700 collections.
Open Collections
UBC Library's Open Collections include digital photos, books, newspapers, maps, videos, theses and more. These publicly-accessible collections are constantly growing and reflect the research interests of the UBC community and beyond.

Research Collections and Facilities

Vancouver Campus

Okanagan Campus

Okanagan Library

Summary of Collections

Collection size: as of January 2014 their total collection of approximately 1.5 million items included about 46,000 in Japanese. As the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre also contains several other libraries, its collections are comprised primarily of these special libraries' interests, namely music, art, architecture, and the rare books and special collections.

Notable Collections

Music Art and Architecture Library
This library is within the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre, and supports the education and research needs of various music, art, and architecture departments within the university. It also contains mathematics, statistics, computer science, and older humanities materials.
Rare Books and Special Collections
Contained within the Irving K. Barber Learning Centre, these collections include the Archives, books, maps, a digital collection, and the Chung Collection.
University Archives
Serving as the University of British Columbia's corporate memory, the archives contain the University's records while also managing the university's records management program.
Chung Collection
Housed within the Rare Books and Special Collections, the Chung Collection is comprised of over 25,000 rare and unique items.

Online Resources

Archival Material Research Guide
Designed to help in searching for archival material, this guide is intended to help for researchers both at the University of British Columbia or anywhere abroad.
Historical Map Collections Research Guide
This guide is designed specifically to help researchers looking through the University of British Columbia's historical maps and atlases.

Access

View Larger Map

How to Use the Facility

Library Access For Visitors
Guests are welcome to visit any library branch and use the library's physical resources. To use public workstations and electronic resources, please register with the library by using the "Sign Up" button on the login screen at the library or registering ahead of time (link on webpage).
Borrowing Privileges for Visitors
For borrowing and ILL privileges, a guest not affiliated with UBC may obtain a "Community Borrower" card. Please apply in person at either the Koerner Library Circulation Desk or Okanagan Library.

Fees and times may vary, so please visit the site for further details and instructions, as well as a full list of privileges and limitations.
Print, Copy, Scan Services
Self-service photocopying and printing is available with a UBC Guest Card photocopy/printing card, which can be obtained at a card machine at any of the branch libraries or circulation desks.

The price of a photocopy or printed page is 7¢ for black and white, or 40¢ for color. A page is defined by the university as one side of a 8.5" x 11" sheet of paper.

Give Us Your Feedback

For all comments and questions about the Guide, please e-mail us:

mlaguide@nccjapan.net