Skip to Main Content

Konan University: Institution Main



About Konan University:

Established in 1951, Konan University has engaged excellence with the individual in mind, balancing specialized training with a well-rounded education.

Today,  the university has eight faculties: Letters, Science and Engineering, Economics, Law, Business Administration, Intelligence and Informatics, Frontier of Innovative Research in Science and Technology and the Hirao School of Management.  There are four graduate schools: Humanities, Natural Science, Social Science, and Frontiers of Innovative Research in Science and Technology.

A major program of interest is Konan's International Exchange Centre or KIEC. This program runs from September through May for students from North America, including the Illinois consortium: University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, the University of Arizona, the University of Pittsburgh, and the University of Hawai’i at Mānoa, and for students from institutions in Europe.  From January to December students from Australia and New Zealand are admitted.  The program offers not only Japanese language study but also various classes related Japanese culture, business, and society.  Moreover the university offers a 9 month home-stay program in which the student lives with a Japanese family. 


Konan University
Private University
Kobe, Hyogo

Resources & Facilities

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
Copyright 2017
Contact the Webmaster