Skip to main content

Doing Digital Scholarship in Japanese Studies

An NCC two-day workshop on digital scholarship and libraries/librarians, at the University of Toronto, March 13-14, 2017

Presenters

* Links to projects and/or tools used by the presenters and panelists are available on the Tools and Projects page.

 

Keynote Speaker: Hidenori Watanave

Hidenori Watanave is Professor of System Design at Tokyo Metropolitan University, and is the creator of digital archives on Hiroshima, the last moments of victims of the 2011 tsunami, and the 1964 Tokyo Olympics. His keynote address is entitled “Digital Archives as an Emerging Tool for Participation,” which will also be the subject of a Roundtable at AAS.

 

Presenters and Roundtable Panelists

Alexandra Bolintineanu is an Assistant Professor, Teaching Stream, in Medieval Digital Studies, at the University of Toronto. She is cross-appointed to the Centre for Medieval Studies and Woodsworth College. Her current project, Technologies of Unknowing, is a study of medieval wonders in digital environments. She holds a Ph.D. in Medieval Studies and a B.Sc. in Computer Science (University of Toronto). Her research interests include digital humanities, Old and Middle English narrative, marvels, monsters, and imaginary geographies.

Molly Des Jardin is a Japanese Studies Librarian at the University of Pennsylvania. After completing a degree in computer science, she obtained a library degree and PhD in Japanese literature. Molly specializes in digital text analysis.

Toshinori Egami is the Head of Library Services Unit at the International Research Center for Japanese Studies (Nichibunken).

Marcel Fortin is the Head of the Map and Data Library at the University of Toronto. He and his team support geospatial research and teaching across all three campuses. Marcel is the principal investigator on a two-year federal government research grant to develop a Canadian Historical GIS Network. One of the grant’s main goals is to develop HGIS and Spatial History standards to increase interoperability, discoverability, and use between the multitude of HGIS and GeoHumanities projects across numerous disciplines and institutions in Canada.

Kazuko Hioki is the Head of Preservation at the University of Hawaii, Manoa. She will moderate a panel on Conservation for Digitization.

Michaela Kelly is a Council on Library and Information Resources (CLIR) postdoctoral Fellow in Digital Humanities at Lafayette College. She is also part of Lafayette College’s East Asia Image Collection’s Andrew W. Mellon Foundation Digital Humanities project. She received her PhD in anthropology from Tokyo University.

Yasunao Kobayashi is the Assistant Director of Library Support Division of Kansai-kan of the National Diet Library.

Ryuta Komaki is a Japanese and Korean Studies Librarian at Washington University in St. Louis and holds a PhD in Communications Research (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign). He is the co-chair of NCC’s Digital Resources Committee and a member of the Committee on Japanese Materials of CEAL. His current research “Kracking Kafu” analyzes Nagai Kafu’s American Stories (1908) through the lens of GIS. 

Steve Marks is a Digital Preservation Librarian at the University of Toronto, where he is responsible for planning, policy, and workflows to ensure the longevity of the university’s digital assets. His research interests include digital forensics, digital preservation at scale, and the preservation of software and new media.

Kuniko Yamada McVey is the Librarian for the Japanese Collection at Harvard-Yenching Library. She has previously served as NCC Chair and Chair of the Committee on Japanese Materials of CEAL. She is currently envisioning the digital futures of the Manchukuo Collection. She is particularly interested in digital humanities and is also building a collection of video games and technology.

Ryo Morimoto is a post-doctoral fellow at the Reischauer Institute and manager of the Japan Digital Archive of the 2011 Disasters. An anthropologist, he recently completed his PhD at Brandeis University. He did research in Minami-sōma, Fukushima focused on local residents’ struggle to remember and forget aspects of the TEPCO nuclear disaster.

Haruko Nakamura is the Librarian of the Japanese Collection at Yale University. Haruko recently collaborated with colleagues at the Bienicke Library and Yale Art Museum in the conservation and digitization of a 1827 manuscript and 1883 woodblocks, purchased through NCC's Multi-Volume Set grant in 2016.

Setsuko Noguchi is a Japanese Studies Librarian at Princeton University and Chair of NCC. She is past Chair of the Committee on Japanese Materials of CEAL and active in the Subcommittee on Japanese Rare Books and the co-chair of the Librarian Professional Development Working Group. She will discuss the conservation, digitization, and use of the rare set from the 1620s, purchased by Princeton University in 2015 with an Muti-Volume Set grant.

Elizabeth Parke is a CLIR/JHI postdoctoral fellow in Digital Humanities at the Jackman Humanities Institute at the University of Toronto. She received her Ph.D. in East Asian Studies from the University of Toronto in 2016 and is currently revising her manuscript, Obsolescing Futures, that establishes urban planning’s influence on Chinese art by drawing parallels between artistic practices, representations of the capital’s infrastructure, and alternative ways of seeing the city created by artists and filmmakers based in Beijing. Her DH projects include an Augmented Reality mobile application for restaging early Chinese performance works from the 1990s using GIS locational data, archival photographs, and online exhibition software.

Fabiano Rocha is a Japanese & Luso-Brazilian Studies Librarian at the University of Toronto, and the co-chair of NCC’s Digital Resources Committee, the Image Use Protocol Working Group, and the Librarian Professional Development Working Group. He organized the Junior Japanese Studies Librarian Training Workshop in Toronto in 2012.

Harriet Sonne de Torrens is a trained art historian (Ph.D. from the University of Copenhagen, L.M.S. from the Pontifical Institute of Medieval Studies) and an academic librarian at the University of Toronto Mississauga Library and the Department of Visual Studies. She is a visual resource specialist, a specialist in medieval iconography and at UTM administrator of FADIS, the University of Toronto’s image repository for teaching and research. She is an instructor and researcher who teaches visual resource courses and instructional sessions on digital images, copyright, finding and using digital images.

Noriko Sugimori is a sociolinguist and Assistant Professor of Japanese at Kalamazoo College. She leads an oral history project that interviews Japanese and Koreans born before 1934 about their experiences during World War II.  Using a team of students, she has transcribed the interviews and they have become the first bilingual component of the Oral History Metadata Synchronizer (OHMS), an open source tool from the Nunn Center at the University of Kentucky.

Yukari Sugiyama is a Japanese Technical Services Librarian at Yale University where she is responsible for Japanese cataloging and creating and maintaining metadata for Japanese language materials in Yale's collections, optimizing access to those collections.

Nahoko Tsubouchi is a Staff of Library Resources Unit at the International Research Center for Japanese Studies (Nichibunken).

Kaoru Ueda is the Curator of the Japanese Diaspora Collection at the Hoover Institution Library & Archives at Stanford University.

Kazuaki Yamamoto is Professor and Assistant Director of the Center for Collaborative Research on Pre-modern Japanese Texts at the National Institutes of Japanese Literature (NIJL). He specializes in nineteenth-century Japanese literature, particularly the works of Santo Kyoden and Kanagaki Robun. He is furthermore responsible for the planning and promotion of NIJL-NW project.

Victoria Lyon Bestor has been the Executive Director of NCC since 1999 and will retire from her position in June 2017. Digital Scholarship is one of her central interests and her mission is to make DS/DH maximally accessible for teaching and research on Japan. She delivered a keynote speech at the 2017 Japanese Studies Association entitled “Doing it Digitally: Creating Curriculum and Course Project using Digital Tools.”

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
北米日本研究資料調整協議会
Copyright 2017
Contact the Webmaster