Skip to main content

Peabody Essex Museum: Peabody Essex Museum

Research Access Guide for the Peabody Essex Museum.

General Information

Facility: Peabody Essex Museum
Address: East India Square
161 Essex St
Salem, MA 01970
Phone: (978) 745-9500
FAX: N/A
Email: information@pem.org
Hours: Hours of operation

About the Museum:

Founded in 1799, the Peabody Essex Museum is considered one of the oldest continuously operating museums in the United States. The museum was moved from the founding society's location into a separate building in 1852, which was later enlarged by Moshe Safdie in 2003. Since its founding, the Peabody Essex Museum has collected artifacts from Asia, including China and Japan.

For more information on the Japanese collection, please contact the museum at (978) 745-9500 or via email.

Research Collections

Summary of Collections

Collection size: as of June 2014

The Peabody Essex Museum's collections are comprised of approximately 1.8 million items.

URL: http://pem.org/

Databases

A collection of images from the Peabody Essex Museum's collections. Focuses primarily on items from the Native American collections, but draws from others as well, including the Japanese collection.

Nearly 100 videos exploring the various collections at PEM, including the Japanese collection.

How to Use the Facility

The museum is open to all visitors. Admissions rates vary according to eligibility for specific discounts. For more information on admission rates, please visit PEM's Hours & Info page.

Give Us Your Feedback

For all comments and questions about the Guide, please e-mail us:

MLAGuide@nccjapan.net

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
北米日本研究資料調整協議会
Copyright 2017
Contact the Webmaster