University of Pennsylvania: University of Pennsylvania Libraries

About the Libraries:

The University of Pennsylvania Libraries include 20 libraries across 3 campuses, as well as 5 additional associated libraries. For a complete list of libraries, please click here. The East Asian Collection is housed within the Van Pelt-Dietrich Library Center, the main library for the University of Pennsylvania.

For more information on the Japanese collection, please visit Penn's Japanese Collection site or contact Molly Des Jardin at (215) 898-3205 or by email.

East Asian Collections

Japanese Collection

Research Guides

Subject Collections

For all comments and questions about the Guide, please e-mail us:

mlaguide@nccjapan.net

Collection size: as of June 2014 the library contained over 5.5 million items of which over 55,000 are in Japanese.  The University of Pennsylvania Libraries collections support all academic pursuits at Penn, and vary greatly in subject. The Japanese collection is currently focusing on blending multiple thematic approaches to Japanese studies, breaking down chronological and topic distinctions for a more rounded understanding of subject matter.

A digital repository drawn from the Penn Libraries' collections and collaborations with the Penn community, as well as their relationships with cultural heritage institutions.

Special Collections for the Penn Libraries, including those collections at the university pertaining to Japan.

This collection includes works from the Meiji and Taisho periods.

An alphabetized list of many useful digital databases, many of which are freely available.

Campus map

Floor plans

While the libraries' collections are open for use of the public, borrowing privileges are restricted to University of Pennsylvania faculty, students, and staff. Those unaffiliated with Penn may apply for courtesy borrowing privileges for a fee. For more information, please click here.