Skip to main content

University of Colorado at Boulder: Norlin Library

The research access guide to the University of Colorado at Boulder's Japanese collections.

General Information

Facility: Norlin Library
Address: 1720 Pleasant Street
Boulder, CO 80309
Phone: (303) 492-8705
FAX: (303) 492-0935
Email: email
Hours: Hours of Operation

About the library:

The library first opened in January of 1940 is named for the president of the university from 1919 to 1939, George Norlin. It has served since its creation as the main library for the University of Colorado and has had additions to the structure in both 1964 and 1976.

For more information concerning the Japanese collections, please contact Adam Lisbon at (303) 492-8822 or by email.

Summary of Collections

Collection size: as of January 2015

The University of Colorado Library hold over 5 million volumes, with over 62,000 serials and approximately 8 million other items. The Asian collection includes approximately 70,000 volumes and nearly 200 serials. Of these, roughly 19,000 volumes and 50 journals are in Japanese. Other Japanese materials, including microfilm and A/V items, number approximately 2,000 items.

Homepage: ucblibraries.colorado.edu

Online catalog: libraries.colorado.edu

Databases

The Norlin Library Archives are the repository for the Boulder campus as well as the entire university's administration system. They also collect items of enduring historical value in accordance with their values, including several notable collections for Japanese studies. Of particular note is the collection of personal writings by Edward Seidensticker.

The Norlin Library houses the university's Special Collections, which collects artwork, rare books, and other primary source materials. While the department's collection focus is Western literature, it does include some material pertaining to Japanese studies.

The University of Colorado's Archives, located within the Norlin Library, include the records of the US Navy Japanese/Oriental Language School, which was housed at the university during the country's involvement in World War II. Finding aid is available at their webpage: http://www.colorado.edu/libraries/libraries/norlin-library/special-collections-archives/archives

How to Use the Facility

Borrowing Privileges

Norlin Library is open and accessible to the general public for free during regular operating hours. However, borrowing privileges are restricted primarily to University of Colorado faculty, students, and staff. Visiting scholars may apply for borrowing privileges, which requires a letter from a qualified UCB academic sponsor and a photo ID. For more information, please visit the library's Borrowing Privileges website.

Photocopying and Printing

The University of Colorado Boulder libraries have CopyScan stations, which allow for scanning, printing, and copying. While scanning is free, printing and photocopying have a cost per page, which can be paid using a Buff OneCard or Campus Cash Card. For more information, please visit the libraries' Imaging at the Libraries page.

Give Us Your Feedback

For all comments and questions about the Guide, please e-mail us:

MLAGuide@nccjapan.net

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
北米日本研究資料調整協議会
Copyright 2017
Contact the Webmaster