Yale University: Yale Museums and Galleries

About the Museum:

Founded in 1832, the Yale Museum is comprised of four separate collections: the Yale University Art Gallery, Peabody Museum of National History, Center for British Art, and Collection of Musical Instruments.

For more information regarding the Japanese collection, please contact David Ake Sensabaugh by email.

Beinecke Library

East Asia Library

Yale Museums and Galleries

For all comments and questions about the Guide, please e-mail us:

mlaguide@nccjapan.net

Collection size: as of August 2014

The items in the Yale University Art Gallery's collection number approximately 200,000, which includes an Asian Art collection comprised of approximately 6,700 items, of which one third is Japanese. Collection highlights include Chinese ceramics and paintings, as well as Japanese paintings and prints.

The Yale Collection of Musical Instruments includes a small collection of non-Western instruments, including some Asian instruments.

Yale Museum URL: www.yale.edu/museums/index.html

Art Gallery URL: artgallery.yale.edu

Collection of Musical Instruments URL: www.yale.edu/musicalinstruments/

A database of approximately 138,000 items from the Gallery's collections. It is searchable by department, title, geography, classification, medium, accession number, artist/creator, culture, and availability.

Asian Art Collection

Online Resources Page

Non-Western Musical Instruments

Directions

Access to the Yale University Gallery is free and open to the public. They also offer access to their collections through a number of special study rooms and archives. For information on each of these, please visit their Resources page.