Yale University: East Asia Library

About the library:

Founded in 1907, the East Asia Library houses one of the oldest collections of East Asian materials in the United States. It is housed in the Sterling Memorial Library, whose architecture includes several references to the university's long-standing relationship with East Asian studies.

East Asia Library Guide

East Asia Special Collections Guide

Japanese Special Collections Guide

Beinecke Library

East Asia Library

Yale Museums and Galleries

For all comments and questions about the Guide, please e-mail us:

mlaguide@nccjapan.net

Collection size: as of July 2014

The East Asia Library includes approximately 815,000 volumes and approximately 80,000 other items. Of these, nearly 300,000 items are in Japanese.

The East Asia Library collections focus on all areas of the humanities and social sciences, including an extensive collection of materials published prior to 1868.

Notable Collections:

• Yale Association of Japan Collection: approximately 350 items illustrating the development of Japanese culture from the 8th to the 20th century.
• Japanese Manuscript Collection: a collection of approximately 1,200 volumes acquired by Asakawa Kan'ichi in 1906, dating from the 17th through the early 20th century.
• Japanese rare book collection: over 1,700 items, primarily woodblock-print books from the Edo period.

URL: web.library.yale.edu/international/east-asia-library

Online catalog: orbis.library.yale.edu

MADID includes digital reproductions of drawings, photographs, posters, text documents, and other images taken from the Yale University Library.

Campus map

Borrowing privileges are extended to Yale faculty, students, and academic staff, as well as alumni, visiting researchers, scholars, fellows, and spouses. Visiting researchers may purchase borrowing passes for up to one year, for varying costs. For more information, please visit Yale University's Borrowing Guide.

Self-service scanners and printers are available in the library. Printing costs $0.10 for the first side of a page and $0.02 for the second, using the PaperCut/Blueprint system. For more information, please see Yale University's Scanning, Printing & Copying page.