Skip to Main Content

Royal Ontario Museum: Royal Ontario Museum

Research access guide for the Royal Ontario Museum.

General Information

Facility: Royal Ontario Museum
Address:
100 Queen's Park
Toronto, ON M5S 2C6
Phone: (416) 586-8000
FAX: N/A
Email: info@rom.on.ca
Hours: Hours of operation

About the Museum:

Founded in 1912, the Royal Ontario Museum is Canada's largest research institution. Its museum collections focus on natural history and world cultures, including China, Japan, Korea, and South Asia.

For more information on the World Cultures collections, please contact the World Cultures Department at (416) 586-5691 or by email.

Summary of Collections

Collection size: as of June 2014

The Royal Ontario Museum holds over six million items split between its Natural History and World Cultures departments.

The World Cultures department includes the Ancient Near East, China, Japan, Korea, South Asia, and the Pacific as collection areas.

Databases

A database of images of material from the Royal Ontario Museum's collections.

How to Use the Facility

Hours and Admission

Image Services

Images available for viewing on ROM Images can be purchased by registered users in sizes ranging from 4" x 6" to 16" x 20". Images not available through ROM Images can be requested through the same service, either by using the photograph's accessioning information or by describing the appropriate photographs. A total of five photographs may be ordered through the special request process at one time. Prints and shipping vary in cost.

Access

Give Us Your Feedback

For all comments and questions about the Guide, please e-mail us:

mlaguide@nccjapan.net

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
北米日本研究資料調整協議会
Copyright 2017
Contact the Webmaster