Skip to main content

University of Iowa: University Libraries

Research access guide for the University of Iowa.

General Information

Facility: University of Iowa Libraries
Address:
100 Main Library (LIB)
125 West Washington St.
Iowa City, IA 52242
Phone: (319) 335-5299
FAX: N/A
Email: lib-ref#uiowa.edu (Please replace # with @)
Schedule: Hours of operation

 

About the Libraries:

Founded in 1855 with the donation of 50 books to the University of Iowa, the University Libraries opened two years later. With a Main Library and six branch locations, the University Libraries hold a total of over 5 million volumes.

Databases

A database of over one million items digitized from the holdings of the University of Iowa Libraries, including mauscripts, maps, fine art, newspapers, scholarly works, and more.

A digital repository of research and scholarly output selected and deposited by faculty, researchers, and students of the University of Iowa.

Give Us Your Feedback

For all comments and questions about the Guide, please e-mail us:

MLAGuide@nccjapan.net

Summary of Collections

Collection size: as of March 2014 the libraries contain more than 6.2 million items of which 47,100 are in Japanese. The Japanese Collection at the University of Iowa Libraries is designed to support the Japanese Studies program at the University. It is also developing a Japanese film collection.

URL: http://www.lib.uiowa.edu/

Online catalog: http://smartsearch.uiowa.edu/

Online Resources

The website for the East Asian Collection at the University of Iowa Libraries, including the Chinese, Japanese, and Korean collections.

A list of all the subject guides concerning Japanese studies created at the University of Iowa Libraries.

An online guide to the Japanese writers who have come to the University of Iowa through their International Writers Program.

A list of all the blogs and RSS feeds created by the University of Iowa Libraries, as well as a list of recent blog posts.

How to Use the Facility

Borrowing Privileges

For information concerning circulation policies at the University of Iowa libraries, please visit the Circulation Policies and Services for Visitors webpages. Answers to frequently asked questions can be found here.

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
北米日本研究資料調整協議会
Copyright 2017
Contact the Webmaster