Skip to main content

University of California Los Angeles: Richard C. Rudolph East Asian Library

University of California Los Angeles

General Information

Facility: UCLA Richard C. Rudolph East Asian Library
Address: 21617 Research Library Building, Los Angeles, CA 90095
Phone: (310) 825-4836
FAX: N/A
Email: N/A
Hours: Hours of operation (including reference hours)

For holiday closings and up-to-date hours, please see the East Asian Library website.

About the library:

Established in 1948 by Richard C. Rudolph, then-chair of the Department of Oriental Languages (now known as the Department of Asian Languages and Cultures), the East Asian Library serves the UCLA community, and the University of California community at large, in Chinese, Japanese, and Korean studies.

For questions about use and access to the Japanese collections please contact Tomoko Bialock via email at tbialock@library.ucla.edu

Databases

The University of California Los Angeles offers access to hundreds of databases, six of which are listed under their Japanese Studies subject heading. These six databases can be found here. Most of the databases accessible from the UCLA website are subscription-based, and therefore require users to be either on-campus or to connect through the UCLA proxy server or VPN client.

Summary of Collections

Collection size: as of July 2011

  • Of their nearly 700,000 Monographs, Microforms, & A/V materials approximately 275,000 are inJapanese-language, with significant collections in Chinese and Korean
  • Serials holdings number more that 3,000 of which 8540 are Japanese.

The Richard C. Rudolph East Asian Library's Japanese collection focuses mostly on fine arts, religion (in particular Japanese Buddhism), history, literature, local histories, folklore, and pre-war or immediately postwar periodicals.

Notable Collections
  • Toganoo Collection: developed by Professor Shoun Toganoo, an internationally recognized scholar of Esoteric Buddhism, it is comprised mainly of publications and manuscripts, published before 1868, pertaining to Buddhism.
  • Japanese Textbook Collection: 278 textbooks and sub-textbooks written in Japanese on various subjects, primarily published before 1945 with some as late as 1973.

URL: http://www.library.ucla.edu/libraries/eastasian/east-asian-library-richard-c-rudolph

Online catalog: http://catalog.library.ucla.edu

Online Resources

These guides, searchable by keyword, are created by UCLA faculty, staff, and students to aid researchers and students in navigating their way through the libraries, collections, and research in general.

This webpage gives general information on how to conduct research at the University of California Los Angeles Libraries.

How to Use the Facility

A library card is necessary to access or borrow any items from the University of California Los Angeles Libraries. Library cards are given to four distinct categories of users: UCLA faculty and academic staff, UCLA graduate students, UCLA undergraduate students and staff, and external users. Some external users are given cards for free, while others are required to pay a $100 annual fee. For more information on external users, please see the External Users webpage.

Give Us Your Feedback

For all comments and questions about the Guide, please e-mail us:

MLAGuide@nccjapan.net

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
北米日本研究資料調整協議会
Copyright 2017
Contact the Webmaster