Skip to main content

Multi-Volume Sets Project (MVS): About the MVS Project

Please note: As of March 13, 2019, the Multi-Volume Sets Project will be discontinued and replaced with a new grant program (in progress). Click on the "New Project" tab below for more details!

What is MVS?

Library Resources Building Fund

   The NCC Multi-Volume Sets Grants Project (MVS) was created to further the cooperative development of Japanese language collections in the United States, and has been funded continuously since 1992 by the Japan-United States Friendship Commission building a national collection of unique and expensive Japanese research materials circulating throughout the United States. MVS also receives supplemental support from Japan Publications Trading Company, Ltd. (JPT).

   MVS makes grants for the purchase of expensive multi-volume sets of Japanese language materials (those costing more than 100,000 yen per set). To qualify materials must be in demand by users, and are not held and available through ILL, elsewhere in the US. The MVS committee considers each applicant institution's 1) areas of specialization, unique character, and collection development traditions; 2) research and teaching needs for requested sets; and 3) readiness to freely share the funded sets locally and nationally. See below for additional options. All titles funded by MVS are added to the MVS Database, each with a link to the OPAC record of the holding institution. 

  •  "Smaller Institutions": Since 2010 MVS has allocated 40% of each year’s funds to applications from institutions with annual Japanese language acquisitions budgets of less than $10,000 including monographs, serials, and digital resources. MVS encourages their library resources building efforts. (See for more details: Application criteria by budget size.)
  • "Faculty applicants": Faculty members at institutions without Japanese studies librarians may submit an application on behalf of their institution, meeting all criteria for MVS Application.
  • "Joint applications": Multiple institutions may submit a joint application for very expensive titles. Joint applications are especially encouraged for acquisition of sets costing 5,000,000 yen or more, and will, within the constraints of MVS funds, be given somewhat higher levels of support for meritorious applications.
  • "Thematic collections": A combination of Multi-Volume Sets, individually published titles, and related reference works on a theme that supports specific research and teaching purposes may be considered for funding. Institutions considering this option should discuss the suitability of their proposal in advance with the librarian co-chair of the MVS committee, who will confer with MVS faculty members, and possibly also relevant scholars in the field, as needed. The committee will determine the level of support (50% or 75% for standard and 80% for smaller institutions) based on the degree of uniqueness of the materials in the overall "collection proposal."  All materials in such proposed collections must comply with overall MVS guidelines for prompt cataloging and ILL circulation.

北米日本研究資料調整協議会・高額図書資料購入助成金プログラム

MVS助成金プログラムは、 日本語図書資料の購入援助として北米の大学図書館へ支給される助成金プログラムです。 当プログラムを通して、北米における日本研究を支援することを目的としています。

 

 

1992年日米友好基金により創設され、NCCがプログラムの選考・運営管理を行っています。 MVS 選考委員会は、NCCの任命を受けた日本司書三名・日本研究教授二名にNCC事務局長が加わり、計六名によって構成されます。 資料購入に際して、日本出版貿易株式会社委員会を援助しています。

 

 

 

申請の締め切り日は、十二月中旬から翌年一月上旬の間にあります。選考結果は、三月一日までに申請者と、NCCウェブサイトNCCフェースブック、Eastlib等のアジア研究・アジア図書館関係のリストサーブを通して発表されます。 助成金を受賞した大学図書館は、同年の六月末日までに選出された資料を購入し、目録を完了させなければなりません。また、MVSで購入した資料は、北米国内で図書館間・相互貸借資料として、利用に供することが義務付けられています。

 

MVS助成金プログラムの選考基準は、以下の通りです。

詳しくは原文をご参照ください。

 

  • 北米国内に同一の資料が存在しないこと

  • 高額な(十万円以上)資料であること

  • 利用者(日本研究の教授・学生)からの推薦があること

MVS Titles in the United States, 1993-2014


View Larger Map

Click on the pin to find the name of awarded institution, the number of funded titles, and the year of awards.You can aslo search by institution name from search box and zoom in or out to find the pin on the map.

MVS Titles/Formats & Types/Award Amounts, 1993-2013

MVS chart 1-titles & awards

The number of MVS titles awarded for the years from 1993 to 2013 and the award amounts in yen for the last ten years, 2002-2013.

MVS chart 2-titles & types

Format & type of the MVS titles awarded in each year from1993 to 2013.

MVS chart 3-format & types

The national MVS collection is comprised of 27% book (in blue), 24% reprint (in orange), 38% microform (microfilm in grey and microfiche in yellow), 1% map, 3% journal, 4% A/V, and 3%CD/DVD as of June 2013.

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
北米日本研究資料調整協議会
Copyright 2017
Contact the Webmaster