Skip to main content

National Art Center, Tokyo: Art Library (アートライブラリー)

国立新美術館

General Information

Facility:
Art Library
Address:
7-22-2 Roppongi, Minato-ku, Tokyo 106-8858
Hours:
11:00-18:00 (last entry: 17:00)
Closed:
Tuesdays (Wednesday if Tuesday is a national holiday), New Year's Eve, New Year's Day

 

About the Library:

The National Art Center, Tokyo Art Library mainly collects and provides information related to art.  It includes a Post-World War II Japanese art exhibition catalogue collection. Currently, the Library holds about 32,075 books, 77,811 exhibition catalogs and 2,420 periodical titles.

Related Link(s)

Summary of Collection(s)

Collection Size: (as of March 2019)

  • Books: 46,268 volumes
    • Japanese: 35,370 volumes
    • Foreign Language: 10,898 volumes
  • Periodicals: 3,153 periodical titles
    • Japanese: 2,740 titles
    • Foreign Language: 413 titles
  • Exhibition Catalogs: 108,609 items
    • Japanese: 94,989 items
    • Foreign Languages: 13,620 items

Notable Collection(s):

  • Post-World War II Japanese exhibition catalogs (40,000 items)

  • Anzai Photo Archives: various contemporary art images taken by Anzai Shigeo ( 安齊重男 ), art documentary specialist.  

Note: The Guide uses the ALA/LC standard romanization, however, it also reflects a different romanization system used by an individual institution or collection.

Search Tools

How to Use the Facility

Using the Library

Open to the Public

Prior to the Visit:

  • Please verify the desired material is available by using NACT Online Catalog.

This online catalog also searches collections from:

  • The National Museum of Modern Art, Tokyo in Takebashi
  • Craft Gallery of The National Museum of Modern Art, Tokyo in Kitanomaru Park
  • National Film Center of The National Museum of Modern Art, Tokyo in Kyobashi

Photocopy:

  • Photocopy services are provided in accordance with Japanese copyright laws.
  • Service Hours: 11:00-17:15 
  • Please fill out a copy request form (複写申請書 Fukusha mōshikomisho) by using a pencil.
  • Please insert bookmarks (available at the library) at the first page and the last page and hand to library material  to the staff along with the copy request form.
  • You will be asked to copy on your own in the coin-operated copy machine. The staff may copy the material for you depending on its condition.
  • Please submit the copy request form after you are done.
  • Copy Fee:
    • Black: 30 yen
    • Color: 100 yen

Using the Reading Room

There are two reading rooms: The Art Library and the Art Library Annex. The Art Library is located at the main building (3F). The Art Library Annex is located at the annex building (1F), which is on the left of the main building when viewed from the main gate.

Service Hours: 11:00-18:00

Art Library

Closed: Tuesdays (except holidays), Year-end and New Year's holidays, Facilities maintenance days, and other occasions when the Center is closed. 

Upon Arrival:

Open to the public. No lockers available.

Art Library Floor Map

Art Library Annex

Closed: Tuesdays, Saturdays, Sundays, and national holidays. Year-end and New Year's holidays, Facility maintenance days, other occasions when the Center is closed.

Upon Arrival:

  • Please fill out the entry form
  • Please leave your luggage in a locker, except for writing instruments and valuable items
  • A plastic bag for valuable items will be provided at the counter upon request

Art Library Annex Floor Map

Accessing Reserved Materials

The reserved materials reading section (予約閲覧席 Yoyaku etsuranseki) is located in the annex building reading room.

Service Hours: Wednesday and Thursday 13:00-18:00

Prior to the Visit:

  • Up to 5 items for books and catalogs and up to 5 periodical titles (15 items) for periodicals may be accessed.
  • Yoyaku etsuran (予約閲覧) on the "Note" section of the NACT Online Catalog indicates that the material is reserved.
  • Please fill out Yoyaku etsuran riyō mōshikomisho (予約閲覧利用申込書 ).
  • Please submit the form at the annex reading room counter 7 days before the appointment day.

Photocopy: 

In addition to the standard procedure stated above:

  • Service Hours: 13:00-16:30
  • The use of papers for copying is limited to 50 sheets per copy order and a total of 100 sheets a day.

Accessing Special Materials

Accessing special materials such as ANZAIフォトアーカイブ (Anzai Photo Archives) requires the following procedure:

  • Please fill out Riyō mōshikomisho (利用申込書 [Excel] / [PDF]).
  • Please send the form at least 2 weeks prior to the visit to the following address:

〒106-8558
東京都港区六本木7-22-2
国立新美術館
学芸課情報資料室 特別資料閲覧担当

  • Please list 2 desired appointment dates.
  • Up to 20 items may be accessed.  Please include 管理番号 (control number) on the form.

Note: Information of other special materials will be provided regularly on their website.

Give Us Your Feedback

We are constantly improving the guide contents and we want your opinion.

For all comments and questions about the Guide, please e-mail us:

MLAGuide@nccjapan.net

 

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
北米日本研究資料調整協議会
Copyright 2017
Contact the Webmaster