Skip to main content

Team-Building Workshops: 2013 Team-Building Workshop

The Team-Building Workshops were created to deepen undergraduate education on Japan by supporting teams of faculty and librarians who work together to develop projects for use in their institutions.

Agenda 2013 Team-Building Workshop

NCC Team-Building Workshop II

August 12-14, 2013

Harvard University Center for Government and International Studies (CGIS)
(most sessions will be in CGIS South, Japan Friends of Harvard Concourse Level) 

August 11           Teams Arrive and Check in at Club Quarters Boston (evening free)

August 12           Day One:  The Information Roadmap: Charting the Way 

8:30-9:00               Registration, Continental Breakfast

9:00-9:15               Welcoming Remarks, introduction of mentor librarians: Kuniko Y. McVey, NCC Chair

9:15-9:30               Participants self-introduction

9:30-10:15            Workshop Logistics and Overview of NCC Services: Vickey Bestor

10:15-10:30          Break

10:30-11:15          Japanese Research and Bibliographic Methods for Undergraduates
                             Susanna Fessler, SUNY, Albany 

11:15-12:00          Bilingual Citation Strategies (RefWorks, Endnote, and Zotero)

                              Discussion facilitated by Susanna Fessler, SUNY, Albany and Adam Lisbon, University of Colorado, Boulder 

12:00-1:00            Lunch and Networking

1:00-1:45               Brief Walking Tour to Widener Library to get Guest IDs (privilege office)

1:45-3:15               Discovery and Access beyond your library (Alternating Sessions half group each, 45 minutes each)                            

                              A. Global ILL Framework and other ILL options
                                    Chiaki Sakai, University of Iowa

                               B. From Discovery tools to contents, mostly on your own and free
                                    Sharon Domier, University of Massachusetts, Amherst                       

3:15-3:30               Break

3:30-4:30               Finding and Using Visual resources from Japan with introduction to sources of free images
                              Fabiano Rocha, University of Toronto and Anna Wada, NCC

4:30-5:30               Roundtable on Using Non-Print Media in the Classroom,
                              Alexander Zahlten, Ted Bestor, Nick Kapur, Moderated by Kuniko Y. McVey, Harvard University 

5:30-7:00               Welcome Reception (inviting local faculty)

 

August 13           Day Two: Hands On in the Digital Classroom: Finding It, Mastering It, and Teaching It

8:45-9:15               Introduction to Japanese Subscription Databases:  Haruko Nakamura, Yale University

9:15-10:15            Concurrent Sessions, half group, alternating locations (Setsuko Noguchi, Chief Coordinator)

                              A. Hands on Session One,  with dedicated librarian mentors for face-to-face training: 
                              Koseisha Zassaku, JapanKnowledge, Asahi Kikuzo, Yomiuri Reskishikan, Nikkei Telecom, Mainichi Maisaku

           B. Technology Update: Tips for teaching: Adam Lisbon, University  of Colorado, Boulder
               Japanese language apps for your smart phone & tablet: Mariko Honshuku, Harvard Law library 

10:15-10:30          Break

10:30-11:30          Concurrent Sessions, half group, alternating locations (* Two groups switch sessions from A to B)

11:30-12:15          Lunch and Networking      

12:15-1:30            Concurrent Sessions, half group, alternating locations (Setsuko Noguchi, Princeton University Chief Coordinator)

                              A. Full-Text Japanese Resources for Teaching: Using Aozora Bunko and Japan Pen Club Digital Library, 
                              Professor Ken Ito’s Webinar 
with faculty roundtable featuring Susanna Fessler, University of Albany and
                              Sarah Frederick, Boston University

                               B. Hands on Session Two: More deeply exploring options for your database needs with dedicated  librarian mentors                                          

1:30-2:45               * Two groups switch sessions from A to B                                            

2:45-3:00               Break 

3:00-3:45               Expanding Discovery Tools to include Japanese Content, a discussion with Sam Brooks, Executive Vice President,  EBSCO

3:45-5:00               Parallel Sessions for Librarians and Faculty
                               Librarians: Digital Licensing Options, Database Subscription Consortia,
                               Outreach using Social Networking Services and LibGuide Tools

                               Faculty: Options to explore online resources, or Tours of Harvard Japan Collections 

        

August 14           Day Three: Exploring the Digital Humanities

9:00-10:15            Multi-Media Approaches to Japanese Studies, Alexander Zahlten, Harvard University     

10:15-10:30          Break

10:30-11:45          Introduction to GIS and Using Digital Japanese Maps
                             Lex Berman, Harvard Center for Geographical Information               

11:45-1:00            Lunch and Networking

1:00-2:30               Overview of the Japan Digital Archive of the 2011 Disasters (Nick Kapur)
                              Creating Class Assignments using the free resources of the JDArchives            

2:30-2:45               Break

2:45-4:45               Team Project Presentations, Critiques and Discussion
                              (Each team will present their plans for 10 minutes, with 5-minute feedback)

4:45-5:00               Project Timelines and Completion Logistics (Vickey Bestor)

 

The Team-Building Workshops were created to deepen undergraduate education on Japan by supporting teams of faculty and librarians who work together to develop projects for use in their institutions.  All Team-Building products will be shared through publication on NCC’s Website in Open Source Format http://guides.nccjapan.org/homepage

2013 Team Project Profiles

Bernard M. Baruch College (CUNY)
We will create a course, tentatively called “Japanese Visual Culture and Society,” which explores representations of social and historical issues in the forms of fine art, film, comics and photography, etc. This in part comes from Professor Suzuki’s current research interests in Japanese comics (manga) and other forms of visual art that address serious and humanitarian issues. Also, we would like to devote some class time both on this project as well as in the existing courses to discuss Japan’s triple disasters (earthquake, tsunami, and nuclear disaster) and the aftermath. Additionally, for the advanced level language courses, we intend to incorporate Japanese language materials. We believe the workshop is very useful and beneficial to generate the classroom modules for the courses mentioned. 


Boston University

Our immediate projects are quite general, but we think within the scope of the workshops:

  • Analyze our current database subscriptions such as Koseisha and Bibliography of Asian Studies in connection with additional paid opportunities and free databases to consider whether additional materials such as Japanese Knowledge should be added. We have some resources to pay for these additional materials, but seek expert advice on what materials would be most worthwhile.
  • Develop a comprehensive resource page specific to Japanese studies for the use of both faculty and students on campus. This is largely for the undergraduate population, many of whom reach advanced proficiency in Japanese language. We will tap individual faculty for resources they use regularly, but would like to attend the NCC Workshop to learn of other materials out there.
  • Collect ideas for using the available resources such as Aozora, visual materials from the National Diet Library, Waseda, and elsewhere in the undergraduate classroom, and gain additional knowledge of such sites.

There are two other specific on-campus projects that we expect to use immediately the more general resources

  • A proposal in the language program for extensive on-line practice and language exchange modules. This will be hosted outside the library, but should be well-integrated with library resources. Dictionary and streaming journalism sites in particular are resources that are important for our library page and this project.
  • A proposal through our Hariri Institute for Computational Sciences for Digital Humanities mapping of literature in select Asian cities, with a strong component created by students. We plan for Kyoto as our pilot project but will look at other cities. Here too, a thorough knowledge of and access to available Japanese studies resources on line is key to success of the project.  Sarah Frederick is a principle investigator for this project.

Updates 8/2/13: Our campus has granted money for the mapping Kyoto project of Alice Tseng (art historian, who cannot attend) and Sarah Frederick, but the project will begin in the fall. Diane has been working on a Japanese web resources page.


Emmanuel College

We hope to improve the educational experience of the students at Emmanuel College through the use of the Japanese digital resources of the NCC. We hope to bring what we learn at the NCC Team-Building Workshop back to the students beginning this fall in order to allow them to engage more fully with Japanese and East Asian Studies, especially history.

In the upcoming academic year, Chad will be teaching two undergraduate courses on Japanese history: "History of Japan since 1600" (Fall 2013) and "Being Modern in Japan: History, Modernity, Experience" (Spring 2014). Most—if not all—of the students who will be taking the course have probably never had any exposure to the history of Japan, and we would like to exhaust every avenue available to help them understand the subject matter and the themes of the courses. We hope that the students will engage with Japanese digital resources throughout the course, but especially for their final research papers, where they will be required to produce an original piece of scholarship on the Japanese historical experience using primary sources in English.

We also hope to use what we learn at the workshop to strengthen the digital and technological literacy of Emmanuel's students, making them more competitive on the job market and more valuable in the workplace, no matter what career path they choose. Additionally, we hope that the workshop will prepare us to use the digital resources to aid scholars of Japan Studies, such as Chad, in their research.


Furman University

For our workshop project, we would like to propose creating a LibGuide that functions as the center of Japanese Studies at Furman, where both faculty and students can find resources for teaching, learning, and researching.  The following is the list of items we hope to incorporate into the website:

  • Links to freely available databases useful for faculty and students of Japanese Studies
  • A depository for Japanese texts (prose fiction, poetry, news, essays, philosophical works, academic journals, etc.) with (favorably side-by-side) English translations.  We intend to make this section “Furman password required”
  • Multimedia databases that include high-resolution photographs and audiovisual materials such as traditional theater, music, contemporary fashion, youth culture, religious ceremonies, and recorded lectures by scholars and researchers with, if possible, English subtitles/commentaries.

Kennesaw State University

Kennesaw State University (KSU) is located just northwest of Atlanta near the historic Kennesaw Mountain, and is the third-largest university in Georgia with more than 25,000 undergraduate and graduate students representing 132 countries.

Our institution currently offers a minor in Asian Studies.  We are also in process of developing a major in Asian Studies.  Yet, resources available to students and faculty are limited.  Our current Asian collection is limited to some 8600 catalogued items, comprised of 56% Chinese, 32% Japanese, and 12% Korean-related materials.  Japanese materials consist of some 2740 items, most of which are in English (only about 33 items are in Japanese) and of printed materials (i.e. lacking in journals and databases.)  The library subscribes to only one Asian Studies database: the China Academic Journals.  We subscribe to no database devoted to Japanese Studies.  Clearly, our Asian Studies program is at an early stage of development and our collection is rather weak at this point.  Our goal is to find ways to strengthen our Japanese collection by increasing holdings and by adding databases.  We would like to explore open access Japanese digital resources and provide them to faculty and students through use of LibGuides. 


New York Public Library / St. John’s University

  • In this collaborative project, we will design a “library guide” which will contain information on accessing digital and print resources of Japanese history in the context of world history. The site will be operated within St. John’s University’s library page but will be maintained by Elaine and Raymond, and Kathy Shaunnessy, a librarian from St. John’s University. The page will be made available for adjuncts and full-time professors teaching world history (HIS1000 and HIS1010) undergraduate courses. The library guide will contain resources, research strategies and tools, bibliographies relating to Japan’s role in world history. 
  • Raymond Pun’s “Japanology 101” (NYPL research workshop) will contain research strategies and resources from this training and will be delivered to the public on September 17th and in spring 2014.  
  • One long-term collaborative project will be designing an undergraduate course in NYPL/SJU partnership focusing on world history: special topics concerning global issues in Japan or Japan in global history; we would also incorporate studies of the Japanese Diaspora in world history particularly in the Americas to emphasize transnational and comparative studies.

University of Minnesota

The goal of the project, “Engineered Environments and Cultural Production,” is to create a multi-media site that provides a useful and compelling gateway for understanding environmental issues and cultural production that addresses them.  The project will be inclusive of science, social science, cultural criticism, literature and moving images that address environment. While the focus of the site will be on the modern engineered landscapes of rural, industrial, and urban Japan, it will also provide a range of materials on the environments and species of the various microclimates and regions in Japan from a biological and climatological perspective. One important goal for the project is to bring together science and humanities texts and resources. We believe that the environmental humanities suffer from a lack of attention to the biotic world from a scientific perspective. Conversely, environmental sites such as the University of Minnesota’s Institute on the Environment show little interest in cultural production and how the environment is addressed in the cultural sphere. Our site will bring together science and humanities research on the environment. For the project, we will bring together sources in English, Japanese and Chinese with an early focus on English-language sources so that the site can be used widely.


Wesleyan University

In light of the present requirements that students conduct research in the language they are studying, it will be helpful to broaden our resources in Japanese.  Some of the ways we propose to expand these resources include:

  • Updating subject resource guides to include major resources that faculty and students should consult before submitting ILL requests.
  • Creating webinars or YouTube videos on how to use the resources.
  • Creating course-based LibGuides applying all the new and relevant resources for that course in addition to the assistance currently offered via personal research sessions (reference by appointment) for students.
  • Begin acquiring a small number of reference tools and bridging materials to support student use of East Asian languages/ Asian Languages and Literatures.
  • Refining our collection development policy for East Asian language materials with the faculty (to what extent will the library collect in East Asian languages? To support faculty research? Teaching and classroom use?)
  • Better awareness and use of vendors that are accustomed to dealing with liberal arts colleges without specialist East Asian Studies librarians.
  • Having access to a broader spectrum of Japanese language materials via the GIF Project (Wesleyan recently registered with the GIF Project).

 

Funding and Co-Sponsorship

Principal funding for the Team-Building Workshop II was provided by a grant from the Japan Foundation Center for Global Partnership (CGP). 

 

 

Supplementary funding has been provided by the Japan-US Friendship Commission (JUSFC) and Toshiba International Foundation (TIFO). 

This Workshop was co-hosted by NCC and the Reischauer Institute of Japanese Studies at Harvard University.

Resources

2013 Team Members

Bernard M. Baruch College (CUNY):
Shige (CJ) SuzukiAssistant Professor of Modern Languages and Comparative Literature ; Sheau-Yueh (Janey) Chao, Professor and Librarian, Head of Cataloging in the William and Anita Newman Library.

Boston University:
Sarah Frederick, Associate Professor of Japanese, Chair Modern Languages and Comparative Literatures ; Diane D'Almeida, librarian and foreign literature bibliographer ; Donald Altschiller, librarian and the history and religion (interim) bibliographer.

Emmanuel College:
Chad Diehl, Assistant Professor of History ; Anne Hancock, Collection Development Librarian at Cardinal Cushing Library.

Furman University:
Libby Young, Reference and Outreach Librarian ; Sachi Schmidt-Hori, Assistant Professor of Japanese of the MLL and Asian Studies Departments ; Eiho Baba (Rong-Fong Chang), Assistant Professor in the Department of Philosophy and the Department of Asian Studies. 

Kennesaw State University:
Masako Racel, Assistant Professor of History ; Hyun Chu Kim, Cataloger/Asian Studies Librarian and Assistant Professor.

New York Public Library/St. John's University:
Raymond Pun,
Research/Reference Librarian ; Elaine Carey, Associate Professor and Chair of the Department of History. 

University of Minnesota:
Yao Chen, Librarian at the East Asian Library ; Christine Marran, Associate Professor in Japanese Literature and Cultural Studies.

Wesleyan University:
William Johnston, Professor of History, East Asian Studies, and Science in Society ; EunJoo Lee, Head of Access Services at Wesleyan University Library. 

2013 Instructors

Merrick Lex Berman, Web Service Manager & GIS Specialist at Harvard’s Center for Geographic Analysis

Theodore C. Bestor, Director of the Reischauer Institute of Japanese Studies and Reischauer Professor of Social Anthropology at Harvard University 

Victoria Lyon Bestor, Executive Director of the North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources 

Sam Brooks, Executive Vice President of EBSCO

Susanna Fessler, Professor of Japanese in the East Asian Studies department at the University at Albany

Marie Hanabusa, Manager of Product Localization at EBSCO

Nick Kapur, Postdoctoral Fellow in Digital Humanities with the Reischauer Institute of Japanese Studies, the Fairbank Center for Chinese Studies at Harvard University, and Manager of the Digital Archive of Japan’s 2011 Disasters

Adam Lisbon, Japanese Studies Librarian at the University of Colorado Boulder

Kuniko Yamada McVey, Librarian for the Japanese Collection at the Harvard-Yenching Library 

Haruko Nakamura, Librarian for Japanese Studies at the East Asia Library, Yale University

Setsuko Noguchi, Japanese Studies Librarian at Princeton University

Fabiano Takashi Rocha, Japan Studies Librarian at the University of Toronto Libraries.  

Chiaki Sakai, Japanese Studies Librarian at the University of Iowa Libraries 

Anna Wada, Bilingual Program Associate at NCC and Digital Content Developer at the Digital Archive of Japan’s 2011 Disasters

Alexander Zahlten, Assistant Professor in the Department of East Asian Languages and Civilizations at Harvard University

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
北米日本研究資料調整協議会
Copyright 2017
Contact the Webmaster