Skip to main content

Japanese Digital Resources: Databases from Japan (Chart)

This guide is a directory of digital resources vendors and agents in Japan prepared by the Digital Resources Committee of the North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources, the NCC.

Subscription-based Databases at a Glance (Chart)

The chart is current as of April 16, 2020. It covers only major subscription-based databases available from Japan. For a more comprehensive list of online Japanese databases, see http://www.jinbun-db.com/database. Contact DRC co-chairs with further questions.

Database Name

Type

Subscription Options

Note

Institutional (Regular)

Institutional (Consortial)

Institutional (Short-term)

Individual

 

Kikuzo II Visual by Asahi Shinbun

聞蔵II (朝日新聞)

Newspaper

 

 

 

 

 

 

Maisaku by Maichini Shinbun

毎索 (毎日新聞)

Newspaper

 

 

 

 

 

Yomidasu Rekishikan by Yomiuri Shinbun 

ヨミダス歴史館 (読売新聞)

Newspaper

 

 

 

(Info in Japanese only)

 

Japan Times Archives by Japan Times Archives

Newspaper

 

 

 

 

 

 

Nikkei Telecom 21 by Nikkei Telecom

Newspaper

 

 

 

 

(Info in English)

 

JapanKnowledge by Net Advance

Dictionaries, encyclopedias, archival magazines, etc.

 

 

 

(Info in Japanese only)

Includes selected titles from JK Books 日本近代文学館

Web services by Nichigai Associates

 

BookPlus

 

Bibliography

 

 

 

 

 

(Info in Japanese only)

Subscription available separately or as set  

MagazinePlus

Article citation index

 

 

 

 

WhoPlus

Who’s who

 

 

Zasshi Kiji Sakuin Shusei Database (Zassaku Plus) by Koseisha

皓星社雑誌記事索引集成データベース

Article citation index

 

 

Information in Japanese only. Contact DRC for vendor information.

Web Oya-Bunko by Oya Soichi Library

Web版大宅文庫

Article citation index

 

 

Database from Oya Soichi Library. Information in Japanese only. Contact DRC for vendor information.

20th Century Media Information Database by Institute of Intelligence Studies, Japan

20世紀メディア情報データベース

Article citation index

 

 

Database for the Gordon W. Prange Collection. Information in Japanese only. Contact DRC for vendor information.

KinoDen by Kinokuniya

E-book portal

 

 

 

 

Maruzen eBook Library (MeL) by Maruzen Yushodo

E-book portal

 

 

 

Detailed information on MeL in Japanese.

EBSCO eBooks by EBSCO Japan

E-book portal

 

 

 

Information in Japanese only.

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
北米日本研究資料調整協議会
Copyright 2017
Contact the Webmaster