Curated Archives: 2002 Junior Librarian Training Seminar

The North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources' Junior Japanese Studies Librarians Professional Training Seminar will take place at Harvard University August 18th to 23rd, 2002. Part of the NCC's new series of training initiatives, the seminar is supported by generous funding from the Japan Foundation, the Northeast Asian Council of the AAS, and Harvard's Reischauer Institute of Japanese Studies. Travel grants and other funding opportunities for trainees are outlined in Applying for Financial Support. The seminar is also co-sponsored by the Harvard-Yenching Library, where many of the sessions will take place.

The NCC's Junior Japanese Studies Librarians Professional Training Seminar will provide intensive training in all aspects of Japanese Studies Librarianship, including:

• Collection development -- using selection tools such as catalogs and databases, selecting and contracting with vendors, and making the most of collection budgets;
• Faculty and student user services -- strategies for keeping abreast of research trends among faculty, training in specialized reference materials to aid faculty research in various disciplines, and providing bibliographic instruction to faculty, undergraduates, and graduate students;
• Electr onic resources -- hands-on training in new electronic resources including commercial databases, newspaper information, issues related to contracting with vendors of electronic materials, and the consortial licensing of such materials;
• Computing and technology-related issues, and international resource sharing;
• Cataloging of Japanese language monographs, serials, and multi-volume sets;
• Site-visits to various collections of the Harvard-Yenching Library, the Documentation Center on Contemporary Japan, the Pusey Map Library, and the Library of Harvard Law School;
• Roundtables focused on professional development strategies and fund raising strategies for collection development. Roundtables will provide trainees ample opportunity for detailed follow-up questions.

Schedule and Agenda

To insure optimal interaction among trainees and lecturers and to develop the relationships upon which good mentoring ties can grow, enrollment is limited to 15.

Completed applications (an original and four copies) with all supporting documents must be received by May 31, 2002, at the NCC's offices at 217 Varick Road, Newton, MA 02468. Notification will be made to successful candidates by June 20, 2002. For information please contact NCC Executive Director Victoria Bestor at vbestor@fas.harvard.edu, or one of the NCC's Junior Japanese Studies Librarians Training Committee Co-Chairs: NCC Chair Sachie Noguchi noguchi@pitt.edu or Kuniko Yamada McVey kmcvey@fas.harvard.edu. Application Guidelines for The North American Coordinating Council On Japanese Library Resources' Junior Japanese Studies Librarians Professional Training Seminar

Applicant Qualifications

The NCC's Junior Japanese Studies Librarians Professional Training Seminar is open to all qualified junior librarians currently working in a Japan-related position within an academic institution or research library located outside Japan. Applicants should possess a masters of library or information science degree (MLS-MIS) or its equivalent and/or an advanced degree in Japanese Studies. Most instructional sessions will be taught in English with some hands-on training taught in Japanese, therefore applicants must have a high degree of fluency in both languages. Candidates are expected to continue their career in the field of Japanese Studies librarianship for at least five years after completing the program. Preference will be given to more junior librarians and years of service may vary depending on the types and levels of position(s) held. Those working all or part of their time in support staff or non-professional positions are particularly encouraged to apply to better develop the full range of skills and and knowledge required of a Japanese Studies librarian. Otherwise qualified individuals not currently employed in Japan-related positions, and those now completing an MLS/MIS degree who are otherwise fully qualified, may apply providing they can demonstrate a commitment to pursuing a career in the field, and will be admitted only on a space available basis.

Application Materials

• Applicants must complete the applicant's questionnaire.
• A statement in English outlining professional goals within the field of Japanese Studies Librarianship, discussing ongoing research interests in the library and information field, and outlining areas in which further training would better equip the applicant to serve the professional and research needs of faculty and student patrons at his/her home institution is required. That statement should be no longer than 1,000 words, or a maximum of three 1.5 spaced pages in a 12 point font.
• Supporting letters: at least one letter must come from a supervisor in the applicant's library. If possible, applicants are encouraged to submit the second letter from a Japanese Studies faculty colleague or another library patron familiar with Japanese Studies resource needs. Letters should be forwarded to the NCC by applicants as part of the application packet.
• All application materials must be submitted in English.

Completed applications (an original and four copies) with all supporting documents must be received by May 31, 2002, at the NCC's offices at 217 Varick Road, Newton, MA 02468. Notification will be made to successful candidates by June 20, 2002. Successful candidates must accept enrollment by June 30th, 2002 and a non-refundable registration fee of $25 must accompany acceptance. Questions should be sent to Executive Director Victoria Bestor at vbestor@fas.harvard.edu, or one of the NCC's Junior Japanese Studies Librarians Training Committee Co-Chairs: NCC Chair Sachie Noguchi noguchi@pitt.edu or Kuniko Yamada McVey kmcvey@fas.harvard.edu.

Title Page

Foreword

Table of Contents To the Electronic Edition of the Workbook of the Junior Japanese Studies Librarians Professional Training Seminar

Collection Development

Principles of Collection Development
   Acquisitions of Library Materials on Japanese Studies
          Sachie Noguchi, University of Pittsburgh

Collection Development Publisher Catalogs
          Kristina Troost, Duke University

Model Collection Development Statement from Princeton University
          Yasuko Makino, Princeton University

 Sample Budget Analysis Report from Duke University
          Kristina Troost, Duke University

 Sample Annual Budget Request from Duke University
          Kristina Troost, Duke University

Ordering and Acquisition of Materials from Japan:
   Overview: Materials in Various Formats, and Issues and Problems with DVDs
          Sachie Noguchi, University of Pittsburgh

Japanese Company Histories
          Katsuko Murahashi (reproduced with permission of the
          author) 

 

Fund Raising for Collection Development:

A Basic Guide to Successful Grant-writing for Japanese Studies Librarians
          Victoria Lyon Bestor, NCC

What is a Proposal?
          Eric Gangloff, Executive Director, JUSFC (reproduced with
          permission of the author)

Useful Web Sites of Funders of Japanese Studies and/or Library and Information Technology
          Victoria Lyon Bestor, NCC

 

Cataloging of Japanese Materials

The Basics of Cataloging Japanese Materials
    Selected Basic Reference Sources for Catalogers
          Hideyuki Morimoto, New York University

Cataloging Monographs and Material in Different Formats
   Selected Cataloging Documents/Manuals
   Session Syllabus with Exercises
          Hideyuki Morimoto, New York University

Cataloging Serials and Multi-volume Sets
   Principles of Serials Cataloging
          Eddy Harrison, University of Washington

Cataloging Examples, Serial Issues and Catalog Records
          Eddy Harrison, University of Washington

Subject Cataloging
          Kio Kanda, Library of Congress

 

Reference Resources and Services for Japanese Studies

General References for Japanese Studies
          Yasuko Makino, Princeton University 

Reference Resources for Literature
          Kuniko Yamada McVey, Harvard University

Historical Reference Materials
          Kristina Troost, Duke University

Reference Materials for Art and Art History
          Yasuko Makino, Princeton University

Social Science References Resources
          Ellen Hammond, Yale University

Providing Reference Services for Religious Studies
          Mihoko Miki, Columbia University

Using Grey Literature
          Kazuko Sakaguchi, Documentation Center on Contemporary Japan, Harvard University

Accessing Japanese Government Documents
          (reprinted with permission of the author) by
          Tokiko Yamamoto Bazzell, American University Library

 

Electronic Resources and Computing Technology

Key web sites for Japanese Studies
          Keiko Higuchi, International House of Japan

New services from the National Diet Library
          Noriko Nakamura and Miho Shinohara, National Diet Library

Facilitating Access to Newspaper Information 
         Ayuko Yokota, Nikkei America, New York
         Sharon Domier, University of Massachusetts, Amherst       

Accessing commercial databases; MagazinePlus and other databases
          Yoko Hirose, Nichigai Associates

Computing and Technology Issues
          Eddy Harrison, University of Washington and Kristina Troost, Duke University 

 

Materials for Bibliographic Instruction

Course Syllabus and Schedule for Introduction to Japanese Reference and Bibliography
          Stephen Forrest, University of Massachusetts

Recommended Readings for Bibliographic Instruction
          Sharon Domier, University of Massachusetts

Princeton University Materials for Bibliographic Instruction
    Basic Reference Works for Japanese Studies: Princeton
    University compiled by Martin J. Heijdra, Princeton University

Japanese Graduate Guide
          Yasuko Makino, Princeton University

Thoughts on Teaching Japanese Bibliography/Research Methods Courses
          Ellen Hammond, Yale University

Selected Libraries in Japan
          Keiko Higuchi, International House of Japan

 

Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery

ILL Venues for Japanese Studies in North America
          Sachie Noguchi, University of Pennsylvania

 

Unless otherwise noted all materials contained in this workbook were produced for The Junior Japanese Studies Librarians Professional Training Seminar Organized by the NCC and offered in August 2002 at Harvard University Major funding for the Seminar was provided by the Japan Foundation, the Northeast Asia Council of the AAS, and the Reischauer Institute of Japanese at Harvard University which co-sponsored the Seminar in conjunction with the Harvard-Yenching Library.