Smithsonian Institution: Smithsonian Libraries

A system of 20 separate libraries, the Smithsonian Libraries operate under a unified collections support service.

For more information about Japanese collections at the Smithsonian Libraries, please contact the individual branches.

Digital Library Exhibitions

Art & Artists Files in the Smithsonian Libraries Collections

News and Events

Smithsonian Libraries Blog

Smithsonian Institution

Freer and Sackler Galleries of Art

Smithsonian Libraries

Collection size: as of July 2014

• 1.5 million monographs
• 400,000 other materials, including microfilm, photographs, and a/v material

Notable collections:

• Japan Art Catalog Project Collection: the Freer and Sackler Library serves as the U.S. depository for the Japan Art Catalog Project. Funded by the Japan Association for Cultural Exchange and Japan Foundation, the program allows the American public access to art exhibition catalogs from Japan.

URL: library.si.edu

Online catalog: siris-libraries.si.edu

A collection of online resources made available for use of the public by the Smithsonian Institution Libraries.

Digital collection of books online, primarily from the Smithsonian's collections on art and history.

Digital database of books concerning natural history and science, including material from the Smithsonian Libraries.

Database of images digitized from the Smithsonian Libraries' collections, with new collections regularly added.

Digitized selection from the trade literature collections of the Smithsonian.

Digital repository for the academic research of Smithsonian scholars, available to users worldwide.

For information on how to use the collections of the separate Smithsonian Institution Libraries, please visit the branches' individual websites, which can be selected from the list here.

For all comments and questions about the Guide, please e-mail us:

mlaguide@nccjapan.net