Skip to main content

2018 Digital Scholarship Workshop at Princeton

A two-day workshop held on November 15-16 at Princeton University

Workshop Presenters:

Kristina ("Kris") Troost is the Japanese Studies Librarian in the Duke Libraries' Department of International and Area Studies. Her work includes research consultations, library instruction, collection building, and web-based guides. She served as Director of Graduate Studies for Duke's M.A. program in East Asian Studies from 2008 to 2018. She has many professional interests, including pre-modern Japanese social and economic history, research methods, the history of the book in Japan, web archiving, scholarly communication and issues related to publishing.

Regan Murphy Kao is the Japanese Studies Librarian and Head of the Special Collections for the East Asia Library at Stanford University. She provides specialized research assistance using both print and computer-based bibliographic tools and manages the digital products and services that support the study of Japanese language materials. In addition to providing reference and bibliographic services to faculty and students, she selects Japanese language monographs and serials and works to expand university relations with antiquarian dealers.

Nick Budak is a web developer with experience in both Asian Studies and Digital Humanities, particularly working with modern JavaScript and data visualization in order to make projects more dynamic and interactive. Before coming to Princeton, Nick served as Digital Projects Developer for Lewis & Clark College's Watzek Library in his hometown of Portland, OR.

Joann Donatiello is the Population Research Librarian for the Donald E. Stokes Library at Princeton University. She has published journal articles, book reviews, and encyclopedia entries and serves on the Board of Directors of APLIC, the Association of Population Libraries and Information Centers. Her interests include demographic trends, immigration, immigrant populations, and health disparities.

Katherine Matsuura is the librarian for the Japan Digital Research Center of the Fung Library at Harvard University, where she plays a key role in working with the Reischauer Institute of Japanese Studies, Harvard University Library, and the Japanese Studies community to further develop support for digital scholarship and research.

Kiyonori Nagasaki is senior fellow in the International Institute for Digital Humanities (DHII) in Tokyo and is currently visiting Associate Professor at the International Research Center for Japanese Studies. He works on digital collaborative frameworks of Buddhist studies based on traditional methodology. He is also engaged in research on the implications of Digital Humanities and its dissemination in Japan.

Satoru Nakamura is an assistant professor at the Information Technology Center of the University of Tokyo. His main research interest is development and utilization of digital archives of academic resources. He is currently developing digital archives of various materials from the University of Tokyo Library, and he aims to contribute to research and development in Digital Humanities by utilizing international standards such as IIIF, TEI and LOD.

Koko Fujita Howell is the Digital Content Lead and for the Japan Disasters Archive at the Reischauer Institude of Japanese Studies at Harvard University. She has a background as a Molecular Biology Laboratory Technician and previously worked in the lab of Professor Austin Newton at Princeton University.

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
北米日本研究資料調整協議会
Copyright 2017
Contact the Webmaster