- Home
- About
- News
- Resources
-
Committees & Working Groups
- Full List & Descriptions
- WORKING GROUPS
- COMMITTEES & OTHER PROJECTS
- NCC Events
- Spotlights
- Contact
Interlibrary Loan and Document Delivery (ILLDD) Committee
When academic libraries cooperate to provide research materials for their patrons, it is generally called Interlibrary Loan (ILL) and/or Document Delivery (DD) service. NCC’s ILL/DD Committee assists patrons looking specifically for Japanese-language materials from libraries in Japan.
(Co-Chair) Setsuko Noguchi - Princeton University
(Co-Chair) Leila Smith - Harvard University
Margaret Ellington - Emory University
Lawrence Hamblin - Emory University
Tsuyoshi Harada - University of Iowa
Eiji Kuge - Harvard University
(Advisor) Peter Bae - Princeton University
(Advisor) Toshie Marra - University of California, Berkeley
NCC’s Digital Resources Committee (DRC) is a database and digital scholarship liaison and support group for North American libraries and their users. DRC works to facilitate better digital and electronic access to Japanese information and wider utilization of digital tools and electronic resources in traditional and digital scholarship on Japan.
(Co-Chair) Yukari Sugiyama - Yale University
(Co-Chair) Ayako Yoshimura - University of Chicago
Katherine Matsuura - Harvard University
Since 1995, the Japan Art Catalog Project (JAC) has facilitated access to Japanese art catalogs for art historians and the general public. The JAC Collection was established by ACE Japan (the Japan Association for Cultural Exchange) with the financial support of the Japan Foundation in collaboration with the NCC.
Paula Gabbard - Columbia University
Reiko Yoshimura - JAC Asian Collection Center
Eri Taniguchi - The National Art Center, Tokyo
Image Use Protocol (IUP) Working Group
The field of Japanese studies increasingly relies on visual images as tools for education in North America. The Image Use Protocol Working Group (IUPWG) endeavors to educate our community about the protocol for obtaining access to, and permission for using, visual images from Japan to strengthen Japanese studies in North America.
(Chair) Fabiano Rocha - University of Toronto
Ryo Akama - Ritsumeikan University
Tokiko Bazzell - University of Hawaii, Manoa
Jack Howard - Royal Ontario Museum
Keiko Suzuki - Ristumeikan University
(Advisor) Akio Yasue - Gakushuin University
(Advisor) Izumi Koide - Shibusawa Ei'ichi Memorial Foundation
(Advisor) Rachelle Browne - Smithsonian Institution
(Advisor) Patricia Crosby - University of Hawaii Press
NCC’s Outreach Working Group (OWG) supports faculty researchers and independent scholars of Japan, particularly those who are affiliated with small institutions or are otherwise without access to comprehensive Japanese library resources. OWG works to facilitate connections between these researchers and needed resources with partners in North America and Japan.
(Co-Chair) Kuniko Yamada McVey - Harvard University
(Co-Chair) Cheryl Crowley - Emory University
Toshinori Egami - International Research Center for Japanese Studies (Nichibunken), Kyoto
Tsuyoshi Harada - University of Iowa
Sachiko Iwabuchi - University of Hawaii at Manoa
Kana Jenkins - Gordon W. Prange Collection, University of Maryland
Ayako Yoshimura - University of Chicago
Librarian Professional Development Working Group
The Library Professional Development Working Group (LPDWG) coordinates continuing education and professional development activities for Japanese and East Asian studies librarians, who serve faculty, students, and other researchers in the field of Japanese Studies.
(Co-Chair) Setsuko Noguchi - Princeton University
(Co-Chair) Fabiano Rocha - University of Toronto
Shirin Eshghi - University of British Columbia
Adam Lisbon - University of Colorado, Boulder
Ying Zhang - University of California, Irvine
(Advisor) Sachie Noguchi - Columbia University
Cooperative Collections Development Working Group
NCC’s Cooperative Collections Development Working Group (CCDWG) endeavors to strengthen local and regional cooperative collection development, help maintain comprehensive North American holdings, and better enable institutions to refine their local collections.
(Chair) Keiko Yokota Carter - University of Michigan
Tokiko Bazzell - University of Hawaii at Manoa
Toshie Marra - University of California, Berkeley
Kuniko Yamada McVey - Harvard University
Hiromi Shimamoto - Library of Congress
Kevin McDowell - University of Oregon
Yukako Tatsumi - University of Maryland
Cameron Penwell - Library of Congress
(Advisor) Ann Marie L. Davis - The Ohio State University
Multimedia History Project Working Group
NCC has facilitated the growth of the Japan Studies field in North America for the past 25 years. The Multimedia History Project Working Group (MHPWG) is a Participatory Engagement Project, which involves the whole community in building a “multimedia” history of key people involved in NCC and the development of the Japan Studies field.
Tara M. McGowan - Executive Director, NCC
Victoria Lyon Bestor - Former Executive Director, NCC
Tokiko Bazzell - University of Hawaii at Manoa
Chiaki Sakai - University of Iowa
