Skip to main content

Washington University in St. Louis: East Asian Library

Research access guide for Washington University in St. Louis.

General Information

Facility: East Asian Library
Address: January Hall, 2nd Floor
Washington University
One Brookings Drive
Campus Box 1061
St. Louis, MO 63130
Phone: (314) 935-5525
FAX: N/A
Email: ea#wumail.wustl.edu (Replace # with @)
Schedule: Hours of Operation

About the library:

Founded in 1972, the East Asian Library began when the East Asian Collection was moved to the second floor of January Hall, where the library continues to reside. The East Collection was created in 1963, when regular purchases of Chinese and Japanese materials began. It now has three levels of book stacks, a basement, and a reading room with over 100 seats.

For more information concerning the Japanese collections, please contact Ryuta Komaki at (314) 935-5155 or by email.

Give Us Your Feedback

For all comments and questions about the Guide, please e-mail us:

MLAGuide@nccjapan.net

Summary of Collections

Collection size: as of November 2014

The East Asian Library collections are exclusively in Chinese, Japanese, or Korean. Collections include approximately 56,300 monographs in Japanese. The collections focus primarily on languages, literature, history, philosophy, religion, and art history. The library also holds approximately 800 rare items in its special collections.

Books in Western languages about East Asia are held primarily in the Olin Library.

URL: library.wustl.edu/units/ea/index.html

Online catalog: catalog.wustl.edu

How to Use the Facility

Borrowing Privileges

The East Asian Library is open to the general public during some hours, and materials are free to use within the library. Borrowing privileges are restricted to those with a current Washington University ID, including faculty, staff, and students. Those affiliated with other universities within the MOBIUS consortium are also granted borrowing privileges, though it is suggested that those not within the St. Louis area may have materials delivered to their home libraries through the MOBIUS catalog.

For those unaffiliated with the university or MOBIUS, a courtesy borrowing card may be obtained by donating to the Century Club, membership in which costs $100 per year.

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
北米日本研究資料調整協議会
Copyright 2017
Contact the Webmaster