Skip to main content

University of Oxford: The Bodleian Japanese Library

Global Guide to Japanese Collections held at the University of Oxford

General Information

Title:
Bodelian Japanese Library (BJL)
Address:
27 Winchester Road
St Antony's College
Oxford, OX2 6NA
Phone:
+44 (0) 1865 284506
FAX:
+44 (0) 1854 284500
Email:

japanese@bodleian.ox.ac.uk

Hours:
Term Hours (find term dates):
Mon-Fri: 09:00-19:00
Sat: 11:00-17:00
Sun: Closed
 
Vacation Hours:
Mon-Fri: 09:00 - 17:00
Sat: Closed
 
More information here

 

About the Library:

The Bodelian Japanese Library was opened in 1993, when the new bulding of the Nissan Institute was constructed within the precincts of St Antony's College, and it houses the major Japanese research collections for Japanese Studies at Oxford. It is an open-stack library, with seating space for thirty-two users at any one time. It consists of the Main Reading Room and offices on the ground floor, the Bookstack, the New Media Room, and the Rare Books Room in the basement. The main collection is in the Bookstack, while the reference works are arranged by subject on the perimeter shelves in the Main Reading Room.

For more information about the Japanese Collection, please contact the BJL staff:

Librarian:   Izumi Tytler
tel: +44 (0) 1865 284502
 
Assistant Librarian:   Yuki Kissick
tel: +44 (0) 1865 284504

Summary of Collection(s)

The Japanese collection provides comprehensive coverage of history, language and literature, philosophy, religion, fine arts, and information for the study of the modern and contemporary social sciences, with primary focuses in history, literature. Detailed guidelines about the library and its resources can be found here.

The BJL also houses a small collection of antiquarian materials (ca. 1000 printed book, 100 manuscripts, and 10 maps), which includes some unique treasures, for example the 3 sagabon presented to the Library in 1629 by Robert Viney or Tokugawa Ieyasu's vermillion-seal document (shuinjo)The manuscript collection includes over 20 Nara ehon, while the Nipponica collection comprises a miscellaneous group of printed books of the Edo period and some woodblock print albums. For an overview of the BJL Nara ehon collection, follow the link here.

URL: http://www.bodleian.ox.ac.uk/bjl

Online catalog: SOLO (Bodleian catalog), Cinii books

How to Use the Facility

Using the Library

The Bodleian Japanese Library (BJL), a dependent library of the Bodleian, is open to all students and academic staff of the University and Academic Visitors holding a Bodleian/University Card. As this library is intended primarily for those working on Japan and related subjects, other readers may have restricted access to some facilities. Inductions for the users are available; click here for more information.

All readers must obtain a Bodleian Library Reader's Card (How to: Getting a Library Card) and carry it at all times when using the Library and produce it on entry or at any other time if asked to do so. Readers should sign the register at the counter on their first visit.

Bodleian Library Regulations and Rules of Conduct for Readers apply at all times.

Wheelchair access to the building is via the ramp at the College entrance. Library staff can assist with fetching books from the stack.

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
北米日本研究資料調整協議会
Copyright 2017
Contact the Webmaster