LibGuides: University of Chicago: Joseph Regenstein Library

General Information

Facility:	University of Chicago Joseph Regenstein Library
Address:	1100 East 57th Street Chicago, IL 60637
Phone:	(773) 702-8740
FAX:	(773) 702-6623
Email:	N/A

About the library:

The Joseph Regenstein Library was constructed between 1967 and 1970, and is built on the site of the original Stagg Field, which was the athletic field for the University of Chicago from 1892 until construction began on the library.

The Regenstein Library collections focus primarily on subjects in the humanities and social sciences, as well as business, divinity, and area studies.

For more information on the Japanese collection, please contact Ayako Yoshimura at (773) 702-8434 or by email.

Library Travel Grant
The Center for East Asian Studies now offers Japan Studies Library Travel Grants, designed to assist scholars in using the university's East Asian collections for research in Japan Studies.
Hours of Operation
Contact Form

Online Resources

CEAS Film Library
One of the largest East Asian DVD collections in the United States, comprising over 7,000 titles from China, Japan, and Korea. It includes historical films, documentaries, television series, and contemporary cinema.
Chinese Studies Research Guide
Japanese Studies Research Guide
Korean Studies Research Guide
The Treasure Room
The Rare Book Collection of the East Asian Library at University of Chicago is known as “the Treasure Room” or “T-Room” since the collection contains a number of rare items, some of which are the sole surviving copies today.
The Atomic Age
Blog focusing on global nuclear issues.

Summary of Collections

Collection size: as of April 2014 library contains over 4.2 million items of which over 251,000 are in Japanese. The University of Chicago's Japanese Collection is particularly strong in the humanities and social sciences, with recent focuses on expanding the collection in the fields of art history, cinema and media, intellectual history, and literature.

Databases

University of Chicago Photographic Archive
With over 20,000 photographs, the Photographic Archive documents the history of the University of Chicago and the development of its campus, programs, and community.
A Century of Progress: The 1933-34 World's Fair
Digitized selections from the university's collection on the 1933-34 World's Fair, with descriptions of the rest of the material.
Map Collection
Digitized maps from the University of Chicago's map collection, including selections of late nineteenth and early twentieth century maps of Asian cities.
Digital Collections
A list of all the collections currently available digitally from the University of Chicago. Please note that this will include many collections unrelated to Japan. Japanese-related collections include maps, medical history, and the Frederick Starr papers.

Give Us Your Feedback

For all comments and questions about the Guide, please e-mail us:

mlaguide@nccjapan.net

Access

View Larger Map

How to Use the Facility

Using the Collections

The University of Chicago libraries are freely accessible to faculty, academics, students, and staff, as well as alumni and members of the University Visiting Committees, Women's Board, and Library Society. Faculty, students, and staff from other academic institutions may be granted access and borrowing privileges after providing the library with an appropriate research need. Please see Visitor Guide and Borrowing Privileges for additional information.

Please note: some collections at the library are accessible by appointment only. Please refer to the library's website for more information.

Visitor Guide
Borrowing Privileges
Information about who can borrow and fees involved.
Location Guide for East Asian Collection
Most of the collection is located on the 5th floor of the Joseph Regenstein Library (JRL). Please see site for specifics.
Floor Maps
Fifth floor map is selected