|Facility:||Japanese American National Museum|
100 North Central Avenue
Los Angeles, CA 90012
|Hours:||Hours of operation|
Housed in the Hongwanji Temple in the heart of L.A.'s Little Tokyo, the Japanese American National Museum was founded in 1985 and opened to the public in 1992.
The museum is the first museum in America dedicated to preserving and sharing the experience of Japanese Americans as an integral part of United States history, with over 60,000 items within its permanent collection.
A list of links to the collections currently digitized and available for viewing from the Japanese American National Museum.
An online collection of the Japanese American National Museum's home-movie footage, including over 330 film clips about the daily lives of Japanese Americans from the 1920s into the 1960s.
The Hirasaki National Resource Center provides access to the Japanese American National Museum's collections for over 8,000 researchers per year. This website allows researchers to gather information about the process of performing research at the Center, as well as to submit requests to access specific collections.
A list of online resources provided by the Hirasaki National Resource Center, including a mass incarceration fact sheet, a list of related websites, a Japanese American military experience database, and more.
A list of current, past, and upcoming exhibits at the Japanese American National Museum.
A calendar of events, both open to the public or closed to members, occurring at the Japanese American National Museum.
The Japanese American National Museum holds over 60,000 unique items relating to the experiences of Japanese Americans in their permanent collection. An increasing number of these collections are being digitized and include rich collections of art and photography created by Japanese-American Internees during World War II, as well as a growing collection of home movies. Please see the databases and online resources sections for further details.
The Japanese American National Museum is open Tuesday through Sunday, and closed Mondays and major holidays (Fourth of July, Thanksgiving Day, Christmas Day, and New Year's Day). Visitors may enter up to 30 minutes before closing.
For admission costs, hours, and other information, please visit the museum's Visit the Museum page.
Research within the permanent collections at the Japanese American National Museum is handled through the Hirasaki National Resource Center. Requests to access the museum's permanent collection can be made to the Collections Management & Access Unit at (213) 830-5620 or by email.
The Japanese American National Museum accepts personal collections pertaining to the experiences of Japanese Americans. Parties interested in donating such a collection or interested in a family collection currently held by the museum can contact the Collections Management and Access Unit at (213) 830-5620 or by email.
For more information, please visit the museum's Artifact Donation webpage.