Skip to main content

University of Hawai'i Manoa: Hamilton Library

Research access guide for the University of Hawai'i at Manoa.

General Information

Facility: University of Hawai'i at Manoa Hamilton Library
Address:
2550 McCarthy Mall
Honolulu, Hawai'i 96822
Phone: (808) 956-7214
FAX: (808) 956-5968
Email: emailref@hawaii.edu
Hours: Hours of operation

About the library:

Founded in 1908 at the College of Hawai'i, the first library expressly designed and built for that purpose was opened in 1925 after the college became the University of Hawai'i. This building is the current location of Hamilton Library.

The Hamilton Library is part of the University of Hawai'i at Manoa library system, and contains the Japanese Collection. The Center for Japanese Studies also holds a small collection of dictionaries, reference works on Japanese art, and books on Okinawa.

For more information on the Japanese collection, please contact Tokiko Bazzell at (808) 956-2315 or by email.

Summary of Collections

Collection size: as of March 2014 the Hamilton collections contained over 3.4 million items over 151,000 of them are in Japanese.  The Hamilton Library's Japanese Collection includes a wide range of topics, including art history, history, language, law and business, literature, performing arts, and the social sciences.

Notable Collections:

  • Sakamaki-Hawley Collection: approximately 2,000 items from Ryukyu and Okinawa, dating from the 17th century through the 1960s.
  • Kajiyama Colection: approximately 7,000 items, which comprised the late novelist's source materials, including colonial Korea, Japanese migration, China and Manchuria, Hiroshima and the atomic bomb, and more.
  • Takazawa Collection: 225 linear feet (approximately 50,000 items) of archival material pertaining to the postwar social movements in Japan.
  • Oliver Statler Collection: 177.25 linear feet of archival material from Oliver H. Statler's personal items, which were used as the basis for his writings.
  • Japanese Language Schoolbook Collection: 800 school textbooks and readers used to educate Japanese immigrant children in Hawai'i from the late 19th into the late 20th century.
  • Hawai'i Karate Museum Collection: 250 rare and hard-to-obtain materials on martial arts in Okinawa, Japan, and Hawai'i.
  • Magic Lantern Slides Collection: 1,500 lantern slides dating from the Meiji era through the early Showa era.
  • Images of Okinawa after World War II: 248 slides of Okinawa taken 1945-1968.

URL: http://library.manoa.hawaii.edu/

Online catalog: http://uhmanoa.lib.hawaii.edu/

Databases

A digital database storing the intellectual works created by faculty and academic staff at the University of Hawai'i at Manoa, including several thousand works on Asia.

Online Resources

A collection of digital exhibitions from the University of Hawai'i at Manoa Archives.

A collection of subject guides compiled by librarians at the University of Hawai'i Manoa.

A list of past and current exhibits in the Hamilton Library, dating as far back as 2004.

How to Use the Facility

Borrowing

While the majority of the library's collections are freely accessible, audiovisual media may be available to those unaffiliated with the University of Hawai'i only for a fee. Borrowing is limited to students, faculty, staff, affiliated users, UH retirees, associate members, community borrowers, Hawai'i State, city, or federal agencies, and research organizations.

Scanning, Photocopying, and Printing

Scanners are available for public use on the first floor of the library in the CLIC Computer Labs. One additional scanner is available strictly for use scanning the Hawaiian and Pacific Collection on the fifth floor. Printing is available from all library computers, as well as wirelessly. Printouts must be paid for using one of the library's Copy/Print Cards. The cost for printing is 11 cents per page, and all documents must be 50 pages or less. Black-and-white photocopiers are available throughout the library, and can be paid for with either a Copy/Print Card or with coins.

Give Us Your Feedback

For all comments and questions about the Guide, please e-mail us:

MLAGuide@nccjapan.net

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
北米日本研究資料調整協議会
Copyright 2017
Contact the Webmaster