Skip to Main Content

National Diet Library (NDL): ILCL

国立国会図書館

General Information

Facility:
International Library of Children's Literature
Address:
12-49 Ueno Park, Taito-ku, Tokyo 110-0007
Phone:
+81-3-3827-2053
Telephone guide (Pre-recorded):
+81-3-3827-2069
FAX:
+81-3-3827-2043
Email:
 
Hours:
9:30 -5:00
Closed:
Monday, public holidays (except Children's Day, May 5th), year end, New Years Holidays,
Third Wednesday. In addition, the researchers area is closed on Sundays.

 

About the Library:

The International Library of Children's Literature (ILCL) was opened in 2002 in the former Imperial Library building in Ueno Park, Tokyo.  The International Library of Children’s Literature (ILCL) is a national library dedicated to children’s books, which provides internationally linked library services for children’s literature published in Japan and abroad, collecting a wide range of Japanese and foreign children's books and related materials. The ILCL also holds special materials and collections.  Its collection is acquired from more than 120 nations and regions.

Related Link(s)

Resources & Facilities

Summary of Collection(s)

Collection Size:

  • Books: 315,000 volumes 
    • Foreign Languages: About 75,000 volumes
  • Periodicals: About 3,000 periodicals titles. 

Note: The Guide uses the ALA/LC standard romanization, however, it also reflects different romanization system used by an individual institution.

Databases

Online Collections

Access

Directions:

  • Location: 10 minutes’ walk from JR line Ueno Station (Park Exit)

How to Use the Facility

Using the Library

Get to know the ILCL Online: National Diet Library's International Library of Children's Literature is open to anyone and is especially intended for users under the age of 18 with a wealth of online information with rich content from many cultures in the world.  Use of the ILCL's Researcher's Rooms is limited to those over the age of 18, otherwise all areas are open to all.

For those unfamiliar with ILCL and its services please refer to "FAQs Page" on the "About Us" section

Upon Arrival:

The Children's Library:  This reading room, mainly for children’s use, contains picture books, storybooks, knowledge books, magazines, and other children’s literature published in Japan and abroad. Online catalog terminals for children allow them to find books for themselves. Small themed exhibitions are also held from time to time.

Researcher's Rooms: A User Card is required to use the Researchers' Reading Rooms 1&2 on the second floor and materials in the stacks. These two rooms are available to persons aged 18 or over.

Photocopy: 

The ILCL provides copying services within the limits of the "Copyright Law" and "The International Library of Children’s Literature, Branch of the National Diet Library Rules Concerning the Use of Library Materials" so as not to infringe the rights of the copyright holders. In principle, the following conditions must be satisfied for copying:

You can only have the materials held by the NDL copied for the purpose of study or research.

Only one copy of a portion of the material (in principle, up to half of the copyrighted work) by only one copying method.

Note: Even if a publication is out of print or out of supply, copying over half of the copyrighted material requires the written consent of the copyright holder as long as the copyright is valid. However, an article in a back number of a periodical can be copied in its entirety.

Interlibrary Loan Service: ILCL adheres to NDL's policies and loan materials to registered institutions abroad in accordance with their overall collection priorities.  Refer to the website for further information. 

Give Us Your Feedback

We are constantly improving the guide contents and we want your opinion.

For all comments and questions about the Guide, please e-mail us:

mlaguide@nccjapan.net

 

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
北米日本研究資料調整協議会
Copyright 2017
Contact the Webmaster