Since 1995 the Japan Art Catalog Project (JAC) has facilitated access to Japanese art catalogs for art historians and the general public. The JAC Collection was established by ACE Japan (the Japan Association for Cultural Exchange) with the financial support of the Japan Foundation in collaboration with the NCC in the US. Since that time, the NCC has assisted by establishing, and when necessary relocating, US-based JAC collections. There are three components to the Japan Art Catalog Project, they are:
The JAC Asian Art Collection at the Freer Gallery of Art is curated by Reiko Yoshimura (firstname.lastname@example.org) Director of the Library of the Freer and Sackler Library of the Smithsonian Institution. The JAC Asian Collection includes approximately 5,000 volumes of Japanese and Asian art exhibitions from Japan received since 1996. While the collection continues to grow steadily and to be an important source of ILL for scholarly research, one may not realize its full wealth without a visit to the Freer. A recent scholarly visitor to the Freer commented on the collection as follows:
"Thanks to your helpful staff, I located all of the Japanese catalogues (actually, I discovered the existence of several on that trip) . . . I also located a few obscure catalogues from the Palace Museum's exhibitions in Europe. I could not possibly have written this article without the Freer Library."
For those who are unable to visit the Freer Gallery to browse the JAC Collection firsthand, its materials are also available through Interlibrary Loan. While the JAC collection contains catalogs of works from all periods it greatest strengths are for exhibitions of modern (post-Kinsei) art. To date, 75% of the loaned titles were for exhibitions of modern art, followed by requests for catalogs on Chinese and Korean Art exhibitions held in Japan. JAC materials can be found on the Freer Gallery's web site https://asia.si.edu/research/library/.
The smaller JAC-Western Art Catalog Collection recently relocated to Columbia University's Avery Architectural and Fine Art Library. The JAC Western Collection is curated by Paula Gabbard Senior Bibliographer at the Avery Library (Gabbard@columbia.edu) with the assistance of Sachie Noguchi and Hideyuki Morimoto from Columbia's C.V. Starr East Asian Library. The JAC-Western Collection now contains approximately 700 volumes that are in the process of being cataloged. Previously cataloged volumes in the collection can be found by searching CLIO, Columbia University's OPAC (http://clio.cul.columbia.edu) by inputting "JACWP" as the keyword.
The Tokyo-based JAC collection is now part of the National Art Center, Tokyo (NACT). The enormous new National Art Center, Tokyo recently opened in Roppongi, Minato-ku. A center in planning since the mid-1970s NACT was designed by award-winning architect Kisho Kurokawa and is Japan's largest exhibition space with over 14,000 square meters capable of a number of major simultaneous exhibitions. In addition NACT has a broad educational mission with its Art Library serving as a cornerstone in those endeavors. The facility also includes large spaces for lectures and symposia as well as a restaurant, three cafes, and a museum shop.
The Art Library, coordinated by Eri Taniguchi email@example.com, is the home of the Japan Art Catalog (JAC) Project collection of US published catalogs of Japanese art exhibitions. The art catalog collection in Tokyo is current comprised of over 20,000 catalogs from art exhibitions held at museums, art galleries, and department stores in Japan. The NCC is now working to solicit and collect catalogs from US exhibitions of Japanese art to be sent to NACT for inclusion in the Japan Art Catalog Collection at NACT.
The Art Library of NACT is open to researchers and the general public daily, except Tuesdays and during the year-end and New Years holidays (December 29th-January 3rd). It will be open on National Holidays that may fall on a Tuesday. The National Art Center Tokyo is a fully wheelchair accessible facility with underground access leading directly to the Nogizaki subway station. The National Art Center, Tokyo is located at 7-22-2 Roppongi, Minato-ku Tokyo, URL http://www.nact.jp. Please also visit the Art Library's Webpage at URL (available only in Japanese): http://www.nact.jp/art-library/index.html.
The NCC greatly appreciates catalog donations from exhibitions on any aspect of Japanese art that have taken place in the North America since 1997. The NCC seeks donations of catalogs or suggestions of exhibitions that should be included. To recommend catalogs the NCC should seek to include in the JAC exchange, please contact NCC or the curators of the individual collections listed above.