Cooperative Collection Development Working Group: Notable Japanese Collections in North America Dashboard

The "Notable Japanese Collections in North America" dashboard was developed and maintained by the Notable Japanese Collections Working Group to help identify and promote notable Japanese Studies collections held in North American libraries and other cultural institutions. Drawing on data originally compiled by NCC’s Cooperative Collection Development Working Group (CCDWG), this website takes steps towards building a comprehensive database that charts all print and digital materials including unprocessed or partially processed collections.

We define “notable collections” broadly as any distinctive or rare, archival or special collection (e.g. a very small set of archival papers, manuscripts, or ephemera; or even one rare or distinctive item that very few other institutions hold).  In addition, “notable collection” can include any large-scale, named or unnamed, collection of books, serials, music, art, and even special datasets and institutional digital exhibits. Finally, we also define the descriptor “Japanese Studies” broadly – as collections about Japan, made in Japan, or written/or recorded in the Japanese vernacular.  We include early missionary papers connected to Japan, as well as the Japanese diaspora in North America. We invite colleagues to help us identify and submit information about any of these types of materials in order to maximize the discoverability of unique Japanese sources across North America.

To nominate similar collections that do not yet appear on the dashboard, or to edit information of existing collections, click here.