Skip to main content

Guides to the Digital Archive of Japan's 2011 Disasters: Links Cross-Reference

A navigation and reference guide to the Japan Disaster Archive, a digital collection documenting the Great East Japan Earthquake of 2011

Subject Index

This page offers a small sample of items in the JDA, representing the variety of sources that can be accessed. The archive continues to grow daily, and this is certainly not an exhaustive list of what you may discover through your own search. For suggestions on how to refine your search, see the Navigational Guide or Search by Media.

To jump to your subject of interest, click on the links below:

 

 

To search by media category, type CTRL+F (Windows) or Apple+F (Mac), then search for a keyword from below:

Academic Research
Blog
Collections
Interview
Government Sources
Individual Projects
Mass Media
NPO Website
Personal Reflections
Professional Collaboration
Social Media

 

Anthropology

Academic Research

Academic journal and collaborations

                SOCIETY FOR EAST ASIAN ANTHROPOLOGY (portal site)
   
                CULTURAL ANTHROPOLOGY

An open call by a cultural anthropologist for the submission of first-hand accounts on conducting relief work in Japan 

                JAPAN RELIEF NARRATIVES

Personal Reflections

Blog maintained by an anthropologist/environmental activist

                BLOG OF PROF. OIWA KEIBO 

Personal reflections by a cultural anthropologist on issues of race and social class

                TESTIMONIAL

Architecture

Academic Research

Field surveys and research by members of Architectural Institute of Japan and Building Research Institute

               THE 2011 OFF THE PACIFIC COAST OF TOHOKU EARTHQUAKE - PUKIWIK 

               BUILDING RESEARCH INSTITUTE  

Professional Collaboration 

Website on collaboration between local design and construction professionals involved in short and long term reconstruction projects

               TOHOKU EARTHQUAKE AND TSUNAMI REBUILDING | ARCHITECTURE FOR HUMANITY 

NPO Website

Website of non-profit organization building fire-resistant, earthquake-proof wooden buildings as refugee housing

               TIMBERIZE (in Japanese) 

Visual Art

Individual Projects

Websites of art projects organized to raise awareness of the disaster, or to act as fundraising campaigns

               TSUNAMI EXHIBITION 

               RISE JAPAN 

Websites and news reports on children's art projects

                CHILDREN''S ART DEPICTS QUAKE | THE JAPAN TIMES ONLINE 

               ART AID SENT AS THERAPY FOR DISASTER-ZONE KIDS | THE JAPAN TIMES ONLINE 

Websites of art projects organized to provide encouragement and psychological support for disaster victims

               PROJECT YUME 

               復興WISHくん (in Japanese)

Mass Media

News article on artwork inspired by the disaster

               PHOTOS FOUND IN TSUNAMI AFTERMATH DISPLAYED | THE JAPAN TIMES ONLINE 

Culture and Heritage

Mass Media

Journalism on the “uniquely Japanese” responses to the disaster

               NATIONAL PUBLIC RADIO STORY ON JAPANESE CULTURE OF ''GAMAN'' 

News editorial written by a psychologist in reaction to cultural stereotyping

               JAPAN''S "CIVILIZED" RESPONSE TO THE EARTHQUAKE AND TSUNAMI HAS INSPIRED ALL THE WRONG QUESTIONS  

Collections

Collections on preservation of heritage in the Tohoku region

               Before and after photos  
               写真洗浄プロジェクト・Photo Rescue Project 

Fukushima Nuclear Crisis

Government Sources

Government portal on radioactivity level readings

                MEXT : READING OF ENVIRONMENTAL RADIOACTIVITY LEVEL(ENGLISH,CHINESE AND KOREAN VERSION)  

                NAIIC (THE NATIONAL DIET OF JAPAN FUKUSHIMA NUCLEAR ACCIDENT INDEPENDENT INVESTIGATION COMMISSION)  

Mass Media

News article on first nine workers to enter the Fukushima No.1 nuclear reactor building

                WORKERS ENTER NO. 1 REACTOR BUILDING FOR FIRST TIME SINCE EXPLOSION | THE JAPAN TIMES ONLINE  

News article on nuclear dependency

                IN JAPAN, A CULTURE THAT PROMOTES NUCLEAR DEPENDENCY - NYTIMES.COM 

News article based on interview with a volunteer in Fukushima Prefecture

                DISASTER VOLUNTEERS FIND PLENTY TO DO IN FUKUSHIMA | THE JAPAN TIMES ONLINE

News article on alternative energy sources

                NATURAL ENERGY SOURCES A GROWTH SECTOR EVERYWHERE BUT JAPAN

Academic Research

Academic analysis of the Fukushima Dai-ichi Accident

                FUKUSHIMA BURNING: ANATOMY OF A NUCLEAR DISASTER--ASIA-PACIFIC JOURNAL JAPAN FOCUS 

Academic article on the politics of energy policy

                THE EARTHQUAKE IN JAPANESE ENERGY POLICY--ASIA PACIFIC JOURNAL JAPAN FOCUS 

Academic article on satirical popular culture references to TEPCO

                SONGS FOR FUKUSHIMA--THE ASIA-PACIFIC JOURNAL JAPAN FOCUS 

University publication on the use of nuclear energy in historical context

                JAPAN, THE ATOMIC BOMB, AND THE “PEACEFUL USES OF NUCLEAR POWER”--ASIA PACIFIC JOURNAL JAPAN FOCUS

                ORIGINS | "THE ENERGY OF A BRIGHT TOMORROW'': THE RISE OF NUCLEAR POWER IN JAPAN

Articles by a think tank on renewable energy

                AJISS - BUILDING A SOLAR ENERGY ECONOMIC ZONE ALONG THE TOHOKU COAST

Personal Reflections

Blog post on information transparency

                BLOG ENTRY ON RADIATION POST DISASTER FROM CULTURAL, SCIENTIFIC, POLITICAL LENS

Testimonial on a visit to the tsunami zone

                TESTIMONIAL

Geophysics/Seismology

Academic Research

Portal website of Multidisciplinary Center for Earthquake Engineering Research with information on structural engineering, aerial imagery, GIS, disaster management, and disaster education

               THE GREAT TOHOKU, JAPAN EARTHQUAKE & TSUNAMI 2011: NEWS, PHOTOS, ENGINEERING & MAPS 

A LibGuide made by a UMass Amherst librarian. The "Science" tab provides information related to seismic risk and engineering efforts.

               LIBGUIDE | INFO ON EARTHQUAKE IN JAPAN 

Interview

An article introducing an interview with a geophysicist on lessons from the 2011 disaster

               THE PAST MATTERS: LESSONS FROM HISTORY AND FROM JAPAN’S MARCH 11 EARTHQUAKE AND TSUNAMI

Health

Interview

Interview by the National Bureau of Asian Research with an expert on the measurement and the effects of radiation exposure 

               NAVIGATING FUKUSHIMA: LESSONS FROM CHERNOBYL, POTENTIAL RADIATION EFFECTS, AND OTHER HEALTH IMPACTS

NPO Website

Activity reports in staff blog of an non-profit organization focused on delivering medical support

               NGO STAFF BLOG-2011 JAPAN DISASTER P2 :ENGLISH|SHARE 

Collections

Collections made by JDA users

               Children's mental health/子どものメンタルヘルス

               薬剤師・Pharmacists' activities 

               動物愛護・Animal Welfare 

               透析・Dialysis 

               徳洲会緊急災害医療支援・

               Tokushukai Medical Association Team (TMAT) 

               女性支援・Support for Women  

History

Government Sources

A web exhibition of primary sources related to historical disasters in Japan, curated by the Japan National Archive

               震災と復興 明治・大正・昭和の公文書から (in Japanese)

Academic Research

Academic article comparing 3.11 and 9.11 in historical significance, and suggesting a framework of questions for understanding  the disaster from political, economic, and cultural perspectives

               3/11 AND JAPAN: A HINGE OF HISTORY?--ASIA-PACIFIC JOURNAL JAPAN FOCUS 

A blog post on the disaster from a historian’s perspective

                “OUR SEVEREST CRISIS SINCE WORLD WAR II”: THE EARTHQUAKE AND TSUNAMI OF 2011  

Mass Media

News article comparing “east and west” culture

               A TALE OF TWO CULTURES - NEWSWEEK 

A collection of magazine articles comparing 3.11 to historical disasters, reflecting on reliance on nuclear energy, recounting first-hand experiences in the Tohoku region

               "THE NUCLEAR RISK" , "HISTORY REPEATS", AND OTHERS-THE NEW YORKER 

Interview

An article introducing an interview with a geophysicist on lessons from the 2011 disaster

               THE PAST MATTERS: LESSONS FROM HISTORY AND FROM JAPAN’S MARCH 11 EARTHQUAKE AND TSUNAMI

Humor and Satire

Academic Research

Academic article on folk and pop music satires on TEPCO's response to the Fukushima nuclear crisis

               SONGS FOR FUKUSHIMA--THE ASIA-PACIFIC JOURNAL JAPAN FOCUS 

Satirical Newspaper

Parody news articles                 

               THE ONION | DEATHS OF 20,000 JAPANESE AFFORD PLANET SOLID 15 MINUTES IN WHICH EVERYONE ACTS LIKE A HUMAN BEING 

               TWEET of a video by The Onion News ” Japanese Nuclear Reactor Totally Safe Says Two-Headed Official”  

Social Media

Tweets on humor and laughter as an act of resiliency

               "That's right!..." 

               "A sufferer said..."

Tweets finding humor in panic after disaster

               "Something about this Tweet..."

               "Mom gets crazy when..."

Tweet circulating a popular video explaining the nuclear disaster to children, "A Nuclear Reactor Explained by Poop and Farts"

               "A funny cartoon..." 

Tweet circulating an image of a hack on TEPCO Wikipedia site

               "#TEPCO wiki site hacked..."

Music

Academic Research

Academic article on satirical songs made in criticism of TEPCO

               SONGS FOR FUKUSHIMA--THE ASIA-PACIFIC JOURNAL JAPAN FOCUS 

Individual Projects

Websites of concerts and music festivals organized to raise awareness of the disaster, or to act as fundraising campaigns

               SXSW4JAPAN | SXSW JAPAN TSUNAMI & EARTHQUAKE RELIEF 

               DOMMUNE GOES OUTSIDE FOR SUMMER | THE JAPAN TIMES ONLINE 

University news reporting on a benefit concert organized by students

               LESLEY UNIVERSITY BUILDING COMMUNITY IN THE WAKE OF TRAGEDY 

Social Media

YouTube videos of musicians who composed music in support of Japan

               FLO KITCHEN | SONG FOR JAPAN 

Nonprofit (NPO) and Voluntary Organizations

Academic Research

Relief support, academic discussions, and community-building events in academic institutions

               LESLEY UNIVERSITY BUILDING COMMUNITY IN THE WAKE OF TRAGEDY 

               JAPAN RESPONSE | BROWN UNIVERSITY

               SANRIKU PROJECT: A HARVARD FOR JAPAN PROJECT 

Research article from a not-for-profit think tank

               POST-EARTHQUAKE POLITICS: A NEW PARADIGM?- THE TOKYO FOUNDATION 

Personal Reflections

Personal accounts of volunteers involved in relief efforts

               VOLUNTEER PERSPECTIVE: RESPECTING WISHES AND SALVAGING VALUABLES IN OFUNATO, JAPAN  

Poetry

Academic Research

A collection of Tweets by a Japanese poet that were sent out during the disaster

               PEBBLES OF POETRY: THE TOHOKU EARTHQUAKE AND TSUNAMI :: JAPANFOCUS  

Individual Projects

Website of an exhibition of poetry, portraits and photographs in the U.S.

               VOICES FROM JAPAN-ENGLISH 

Politics/Government

Academic Research

Academic article suggesting analytic framework for understanding  the disaster from political, economic, and cultural perspectives.

               3/11 AND JAPAN: A HINGE OF HISTORY?--ASIA-PACIFIC JOURNAL JAPAN FOCUS 

Academic article on U.S.-Japan relations

               JAPAN'S BLACK SWAN - FOREIGN POLICY 

Japanese political leadership and partisan politics

               HOT SPOTS: 3.11 POLITICS IN DISASTER JAPAN | CULTURAL ANTHROPOLOGY 

Think tank article on economic diplomacy after the disaster

               ASSOCIATION OF JAPAN'S INSTITUTE OF STRATEGIC STUDIES - JAPAN'S INTERNATIONAL RESPONSIBILITY AFTER THE EARTHQUAKE 

Think tank article on Japanese political leadership and partisan politics

               POST-EARTHQUAKE POLITICS: A NEW PARADIGM?- THE TOKYO FOUNDATION 

Seminar organized to discuss crisis management under the Naoto Kan administration

               U.S.-JAPAN RESEARCH INSTITUTE SEMINAR - DISASTER AND POLITICS: JAPAN AFTER MARCH 11

Summary article of a panel discussion on energy policy, economy, and politics

               A PANEL OF EXPERTS FOR A DISCUSSION ABOUT THE POSSIBLE FUTURE - APARC - STANFORD UNIVERSITY  

Mass Media 

News articles and interviews on Japanese political leadership and partisan politics

               AFTER THE QUAKE: IMPLICATIONS FOR JAPAN’S POLITICAL FUTURE - AN INTERVIEW WITH DAN SNEIDER 

               TRANSCRIPT OF INTERVIEW WITH ICHIRO OZAWA - WSJ.COM 

               JAPAN’S BLACK SWAN - FOREIGN POLICY             

News article on the impact of the disaster on Japan-China relations

               JAPAN-CHINA RELATIONS WARMING UP IN CRISIS | THE JAPAN TIMES ONLINE  

Blog

Blog post reflecting on the effects of public diplomacy through the JET program

               THE JET PROGRAM''S FINEST HOUR | BLOG BY CHIN MUSIC PRESS 

Blog entry of independent think tank on elections after the disaster

               WARNING: POLITICAL BICKERING DANGEROUS TO JAPAN’S HEALTH - BLOG - COUNCIL ON FOREIGN RELATIONS 

Popular Culture and Entertainment

Individual Projects

Website on relief efforts by the video game industry

               PLAY FOR JAPAN

Religion

Mass Media

News on politician interpreting disaster as divine punishment

               TOKYO GOVERNOR SAYS TSUNAMI IS DIVINE PUNISHMENT—RELIGIOUS GROUPS IGNORE HIM

NPO Website

Volunteer activity reports by Christian NPO

               ADRA JAPAN EMERGENCY RESPONSE IN JAPAN 

Individual Projects

Map of religious organizations affected by the disaster, and sites that acted as evacuation centers and offered relief support.               

               宗教者災害救援マップ (in Japanese)

Personal Reflections

Testimonial on volunteer experiences Grace City Relief, a Christian operation

               TESTIMONIAL  

Collections

               The Buddhist Tzu Chi Foundation 
               宗教:カトリックの支援
               宗教:仏教 
               宗教:仏教タイムス 
               宗教:日蓮宗 
               宗教:日本正教会 
               宗教:バプテスト教会 
               宗教:キリスト教 
               宗教:曹洞宗 光明山 徳本寺 

Urban/Regional Planning

North American Coordinating Council on Japanese Library Resources
北米日本研究資料調整協議会
Copyright 2017
Contact the Webmaster